Quicksand
Interiors


4.0
excellent

Review

by Ricky Medina USER (2 Reviews)
December 30th, 2020 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Just lay back and get lost inside.

After failing to conjure up a third album in the late 90’s due internal and musical differences, Quicksand reunite with their first release in over 20 years. Despite the reunion’s absence of second guitarist Tom Capone, the remaining band members manage to give this record a massive sound. Quicksand, after a two decade absence, seek to push their band’s sound forward in a different direction. The direction taken here may not be completely new to the band, a classic track like “Delusional” can serve as an example of the direction the band has opted to revisit and delve deeper into. Walter’s guitar playing either interplays with the riffs laid down by Sergio and tight drum beats by Alan or Walter adds ambience and melody as he lets the tight rhythm section take over. The tempo changes that switch from heavy to soft may even draw comparisons to the same type of bands that Quicksand influenced, namely Deftones. Opener, “Illuminator”, sets the tone for what listeners have in-store on Interiors. Songs such as “Cosmonauts” or the title track fully display the bands reimagined sound and also show themselves to have an almost psychedelic quality to them. The final song, “Normal Love”, also proves to be a highlight as it makes good use of a more stripped back sound of bass and drums during the verses before exploding into a mesmerizing chorus.

With the manic episodes of aggression from their classic albums absent here, Interiors instead focuses on infectious grooves, driving riffs and melodic passages to entrance its audience. However, the riffs and rhythms throughout the album are as infectious as they are repetitive. Although this flaw is shown throughout to different extents, “Sick Mind” may be the best example of this shortcoming. As Walter and Co. play some tight rhythms on this track, the listeners expect a build up to something much bigger but instead we get a slow burn of a track with repetitive riffs whose tension built from the start only boils underneath the surface and proves to give us an underwhelming listen. These type of moments can be further amplified by Schreifel’s, at times, monotonous delivery as he goes for a more subdued and laid back vocal delivery on this record when compared his hardcore delivery of their records of the past.

Despite the flaws, Interiors is as massive a record as it sounds. Unlike other comeback albums, Quicksand mark their return by making the album they want to make rather than trying to recreate some old magic or trying to fit the sound of what nostalgic fans want Quicksand to sound like. This reincarnation engraves itself into your mind with rhythm and melody. Just lay back and get lost inside.


user ratings (136)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ieatbabies795
December 30th 2020


448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My first review, I have a hard time organizing my thoughts so let me know how it turned out

Digging: Charli XCX - How I'm Feeling Now

ieatbabies795
December 30th 2020


448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Btw this was a long time coming for me, I’ve had so many albums I thought of reviewing in the past and never bothered giving enough effort to write a full review

gschwen
December 30th 2020


493 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You’re nicer to this album than I was. It feels like the Sparta to Slip’s At the Drive-In. But you wrote a nice review even though I disagree with it.

ieatbabies795
December 30th 2020


448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was still new to this band when the album first came out, I can see people not liking it because it doesn’t resemble most of their past material.

I do return to this album quite a lot tho

CugnoBrasso
December 30th 2020


1109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cosmonaut was my jam back in the day. The album is not as bad as some people make it out to be.

Ecnalzen
December 30th 2020


10136 Comments


Reminder for self to read review and listen to album

MiguelAngel
December 30th 2020


82 Comments


Good review

Digging: Danny Clay - Ocean Park

ieatbabies795
December 30th 2020


448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, I’m already thinking about what record I should review next

ieatbabies795
December 30th 2020


448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like and subscribe for more

Ecnalzen
December 31st 2020


10136 Comments


Very nice review. Done much writing before this?

Checking out the album now. First song was pretty good

parksungjoon
December 31st 2020


25412 Comments


wow an ieatbabies review

Digging: Government - Shitshitshit [japanese death poem]

ieatbabies795
December 31st 2020


448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“Very nice review. Done much writing before this?“

No not really, aside from a few essays in college.

Ive noticed the advice people give reviewers here: use varied vocab, don’t repeat yourself, be descriptive.. stuff like that, i guess I’ve picked stuff up from just reading reviews on this site haha

parksungjoon
December 31st 2020


25412 Comments


based

keep doing it bro you're good and we need more

as long as you dont review jane doe or iron maiden for the 50th time

Ecnalzen
December 31st 2020


10136 Comments


Heck yeah, I agree. Hope you keep on with it. What are the possibilities for review 2?

Will have to give this another go thru soon. Was enjoyable but nothing really stuck out on first listen

ieatbabies795
December 31st 2020


448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys, a 2nd review is highly likely. I saw Palm Reader’s second album has no review yet but I’d also want to review something from a different genre and see how that would turn out

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
December 31st 2020


31452 Comments


Eyyy nice read, firm pos! Snappy and easy to follow, only thing I'd fix would be

"However, the over reliance on those same infectious grooves to carry the songs is where the album’s faults lie."

(feels a little repetitious and convoluted)

Never jammed this band outside of their debut, but that album slaps so imma clear them up soonish

Digging: Fushitsusha - Live I

Scoot
December 31st 2020


20364 Comments


nice review my guy

ieatbabies795
January 1st 2021


448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks again for the feedback guys, makes me want to write more



When it comes to this album, the riffs are catchy but can also be... repetitive. “Sick Mind” was def the worst offender.

ConcubinaryCode
January 2nd 2021


5501 Comments


A little surprised this didn't have a review. I thought this album was big news when it dropped.

Supercoolguy64
January 2nd 2021


9996 Comments


never listened to this but i remember the hype for it when it was first announced. could've sworn someone written a rev for this already but might be wrong

Digging: Hum - Electra 2000



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy