Samsara Blues Experiment
End of Forever


4.0
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
December 16th, 2020 | 21 replies


Release Date: 12/07/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One last journey…

It was a woeful day when Samsara Blues Experiment announced they call it a day. The trio have been one of the most successful bands from the German psychedelic/stoner scene, second only to Colour Haze. 2010's Long Distance Trip was seen as a milestone for the current generation of the genre, especially coming from a debuting act. It also became a curse for them as many casual fans did not search past the respective LP, although their output remained consistent in quality. Choosing to further develop their sound rather than stagnating in a comfortable zone, the group honed their chemistry and vocals while introducing progressive rock leanings, Eastern music elements and synthesizers. 2017’s One with the Universe displayed this evolution in a more relaxed, natural way than its predecessors did.

This latest and final record, End of Forever continues down the same path with a similar vibe. We receive a bit of everything they have tried so far, however, the riffs are often accompanied by multiple embellishing synth leads. ‘Second Birth’ is the best example, creating a mix of Indian and kraut vibes around the opening jam part. Once the band kicks into gear, things become pretty epic and fun. They always knew how to twist and turn their solos not to become exhaustive or boring. Meanwhile, the swinging groove of ‘Massive Passive’ displays a more familiar approach pushing the fuzz up front. The vocals are at their best so far, while the straightforward rhythm packs considerable punch. During the middle stretch of the album, ‘Southern Sunset’ and ‘Lovage Leaves’ each develop in different directions. The former switches between Santana-esque, percussion heavy beats and breezy melodies. The alternating Mellotron and guitar solos add further flavor to this already sweet blend of styles. ‘Lovage Leaves’ is an instrumental ditty that lets the synth pads create a pastoral atmosphere, playing over smooth bass and drum interplay. After these, the title track boasts a darker vibe and more prophetic vocals, closer to earlier material. The heavy riffs abound for one last time before closing epic, ‘Orchid Annie’ ends things in a lighter, bluesy fashion. Even though it’s unfortunate they decided to halt their activity after only 13 years, I respect their decision to do it while still in their prime.

Overall, End of Forever is a step forward in Samsara Blues Experiment’s career. I admire them for not relying solely on tested formulas, building on top of previous laid foundations instead until this last moment. They have crafted a niche of their own and were always reliable to deliver a strong effort. I hope this is only a hiatus and the group will reconvene sooner than later to pick up where they left off.




Recent reviews by this author
Front Line Assembly Mechanical SoulViagra Boys Welfare Jazz
Shores of Null Beyond the Shores (On Death and Dying)William Basinski Lamentations
Causa Sui SzabodelicoThe Flower Kings Islands
user ratings (26)
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2020


5314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A bit sad to see them disband since they still release strong material. My band opened for them a few times and had some nice chats with them, they are nice people.



Stream here - http://samsarabluesexperiment.bandcamp.com/album/end-of-forever

Digging: Sleaford Mods - Spare Ribs

farmerobama
December 16th 2020


283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Uhh it's already on youtube, didn't expect it that early since the official release is in January. Will check immediately.

Nice review!

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2020


5314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks! Yeah, I thought the same, but it was uploaded once the pre-orders started I think.

SharkTooth
December 17th 2020


14179 Comments


they're breaking up?

noooooooooooooooooo ;_;

MrSirLordGentleman
December 17th 2020


13694 Comments


Cool review and cool band

I'm one of those that never checked anything besides their debut so I might check this one out

Sad to see they're disbanding

budgie
December 17th 2020


23198 Comments


ooi

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2020


5314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, unfortunately. Well, this one is a good album to see what they've been up to in the past 5 years or so.

rockandmetaljunkie
December 17th 2020


9472 Comments


So long.

Great band they were.

Deathconscious
December 17th 2020


25815 Comments


The single was promising.

JefCostello
December 17th 2020


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds like what I might enjoy. Should give it a listen. It's funny I just found them and apparently they're disbanding.



ChaoticVortex
December 19th 2020


1091 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sad to hear they split up. Only heard a couple of songs from them but they were all great.

MotokoKusanagi
December 19th 2020


3668 Comments


damn i haven't jammed these dudes in ages. will grab this

Mad.
December 22nd 2020


4844 Comments


Holy shit man the keys and the bass on that first song...

They were the MVPs of the last one, and they're sounding even better here.

So sad to see them go

Pho3nix
December 23rd 2020


1018 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thank you for the review. Had no idea they were still releasing one last LP

farmerobama
December 23rd 2020


283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still really sad that they're gone now. Flawless discography.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2020


5314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're welcome. They haven't made much publicity around this release, which is a pity.

CosmicPie
January 3rd 2021


2811 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Diggin' it right away. Glad I saw this. Nice one.

CosmicPie
January 3rd 2021


2811 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's glorious.

farmerobama
January 6th 2021


283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope these guys will tour for a last time after Covid, I really want to see them live for at least one concert again

Pho3nix
January 15th 2021


1018 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The title track is cool, but I expected more somehow...



Their debut will always be special to me though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy