Deafheaven
10 Years Gone


4.5
superb

Review

by Grumpy CONTRIBUTOR (36 Reviews)
December 15th, 2020 | 11 replies


Release Date: 12/04/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Decade of dreamflow.

“Earlier this year we intended on celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Deafheaven demo released through Bandcamp on June 1, 2010 with a tour of North America. ... Unfortunately, we couldn’t fulfill that tour because of fallout from the Covid-19 pandemic. To rebound from the financial and morale hit, we put together an album of the set we intended to perform.”
-George Clarke on the album

It was a kind and very welcomed surprise when the band first hinted they were about to hit the studio. And due to the global events along with the cancelled tour, it was more or less expectable they shall release a "live" album this year. I used the quotation marks on the live word for a good reason, because 10 Years Gone is a bit different or more than an average live album - I mean, for a celebration release like this, doing some studio work was quite necessary (just throwing songs together for a compilation must be avoided). And for them, going for this kind of "live session recording" was a rather succesful approach.

“...we were able to give songs like Daedalus, the first we wrote, and other favorites like Vertigo and Kettle new power after so many years of playing them.”

I couldn't agree more with George. For sure, it must have been an interesting job to bring their earlier works into the studio again, but on the listener's side it was even more exciting, I daresay. This "new power" was indeed impactful on many songs, perhaps most impactful on "Glint" from Ordinary Corrupt Human Love, and the legendary Sunbather songs. Like in the case of "Glint", (which I previously thought as one of their least memorable songs) this "live session treatment" did wonders: the result feels so much more alive, immersive, uplifting and wondrous. Not to mention, hearing songs like "Dream House" through a much cleaner production is a cathartic experience, the least.

The studio work is pure excellence - everything is where it should be, nice and clean. It was interesting to notice, especially at the Sunbather songs, the more audible and present bass melodies which may present a whole new depth of certain songs. Also, the drumsound nerds should be pleased with Daniel Tracy's tight drumming and the much more "sharp" drum sound. There is one thing I could not understand though: where did the piano sections go? Personally I greatly missed them, because they often meant an extra "emotional boost" for some songs, so perhaps others may notice the lack of them as well.

10 Years Gone brought arguably the best Deafheaven songs together, and small differences aside, each one of them feels somewhat newer and bears a new "trait" thanks to the live session along with studiowork.



Recent reviews by this author
Red Fang ArrowsImpaled Nazarene Eight Headed Serpent
Candlemass Green ValleyKeygen Church ░█░█░░█░█░█░
Kekht Arakh Pale SwordsmanTaake / Helheim Henholdsvis
user ratings (71)
4.2
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2020


6093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Available on every streaming services.



Just a quick write-up, don't mind me.

Digging: Nordgeist - Frostwinter

unclereich
December 15th 2020


9712 Comments


i love these guys. i cannot believe its been 10 years lol. i remember sneaking out and seeing one of their first gigs like it was yesterday. thanks for the review

Thalassic
December 15th 2020


5285 Comments


I really like these guys as well
Have a pos

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2020


8042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

YESSSSSSSSSS GARAS

zaruyache
December 16th 2020


24090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

still hate baby blue, but otherwise this is a very solid live recording.

JayEnder
December 17th 2020


10110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yes garas! This needed a review, a great one at that ;]



Being completely serious, this is the greatest live album I've ever listened to besides Colors and Jane Doe. Such colorful renditions of some of their best songs, including DAEDALUS!?

garas
Contributing Reviewer
December 17th 2020


6093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Jay!! ;]

And I can agree, this is among the greatest live albums for me as well.

Daedalus is such a beauty!

JS19
December 22nd 2020


7734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Almost every single on of these tracks is given new context and acrtrually has a reason to be listened to over the studio version here, pretty much exactly what a live-style album should be

JS19
December 22nd 2020


7734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I did sort of NEED Violet here though

garas
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2021


6093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Bumpe.

~ positive vibes ~

kevbogz
May 8th 2021


3132 Comments


production here is very tight.

for a 10 year anni album of their demo, tho, there sure is a whole lotta their newer stuff on here. kind of a bummer



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy