Runa
The Tide of Winter


3.5
great

Review

by Divaman USER (164 Reviews)
December 6th, 2020 | 13 replies


Release Date: 11/25/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This LP is like a warm balm to soothe the hurts and scrapes of a particularly tough 2020.

I really didn't intend to buy any new holiday music this year. 2020, bah humbug, and all that. But I broke down and reversed myself on that notion a week ago, when I heard that Blackmore's Night had a new Christmas EP out. And I fell off the anti-Christmas wagon entirely a day or so after that when I got an email from bandcamp, telling me that Runa had released a new holiday-themed LP.

Most of you guys aren't familiar with Runa. (I know this because I created their Sputnik Music page myself, and so far I'm the only one who has rated any of their albums.) But here's why so you should be:

Runa is a 5-piece Celtic pop band. Their bandcamp page says they're from Philadelphia, but their Wikipedia entry also says that some of the members are based in places like Nashville and Chicago, and that the members originally hail from Ireland, the USA and Canada. It doesn't matter much where they're from, though, because in normal times, they're one of these indie bands who make their living by being on the road almost non-stop, playing Celtic music festivals and other shows pretty much wherever they can get themselves booked.

As you might guess, artists like this are having a particularly hard time making a living right now, which is one of the reasons I decided to review them. (I haven't exactly been prolific lately.) Sting and Rihanna might have to sell a plane or something to make it through the pandemic, and I'm sure they're all sad about having to hole up in their mansions. But for these little touring bands, if they can't play in front of live audiences, their ability to put food on the table is pretty severely compromised.

So anyway, on to this album. I happen to like holiday music, and I've listened to a lot of it over the years. So most new Christmas LPs kind of go right by me with not much reaction. This one has stuck, however, and for two different reasons.

The first is the song selection. Yeah, there are a few of the usual familiar chestnuts on here, like "Silent Night," and "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen," and that's all well and good. And they also include some tracks you might expect a band that has some familiarity with traditional folk music to choose, such as "Here We Come A-Wassailing" (as part of a medley with "Sussex Carol") and "Soul Cake."

What I like, though, is there are a lot of songs included that are rarely heard on most holiday albums, like "Christ Child's Lullabye," "Gaudete" and an a capella version of "Please to See the King." And even the most familiar songs are given unusual presentations. For example, just listen to the way they've funked up a well-known hymn like "O Come, O Come, Emanuel."

The second reason this album made an impression is simply that I've always loved this band's sound. Shannon Lambert-Ryan is one of those sweet-voiced Irish vocalists whose voice can melt butter. Add in some nice harmonies and a laid-back and tasteful musical backing from the rest of the band, and you've got a gentle and ingratiating holiday treat.

If you're one of those people who hate holiday music, I get it. And this isn't going to be the album for you. But for the rest of us, The Tide of Winter is like a warm balm to sooth the hurts and scrapes of a particularly tough year. I'm grateful that Runa took the time to record it, and I hope that enough people buy it that it helps them to make ends meet until they can do what they're meant to do - get back out on the road in front of a live audience again.



Recent reviews by this author
Future Bible Heroes Eternal YouthThe Smiths ...Best
The Smiths Best...The Go-Go's Vacation
Joni Mitchell Don Juan's Reckless DaughterJoni Mitchell Song to a Seagull
user ratings (3)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Divaman
December 6th 2020


7659 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Happy Holidays, Sputnik!

Digging: The Flaming Lips - The Terror

normaloctagon
December 6th 2020


3672 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

first, pos'd, great read, slapping this bad boy on the speakers rn

Digging: Madvillain - Madvillainy

Divaman
December 6th 2020


7659 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks octagon. Hope you enjoy.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2020


2168 Comments


nice wholesome review diva!
my one bit of feedback would be to consider condensing some of the shorter paras into one meatier paragraph for a more organic read (and i believe it's 'rihanna' and not 'rhianna' haha), but good stuff nonetheless :]

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

normaloctagon
December 6th 2020


3672 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so far yeah, guitar work is pretty slick honestly. I'm not usually one for xmas type holiday music except for charlie brown's christmas and some select choral stuff, but have always enjoyed celtic harp music so maybe I'm primed for this kind of thing

Divaman
December 6th 2020


7659 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Jesper. Gonna leave the short paragraphs - I do that deliberately, because I feel they're easier to read. But thanks for pointing out the error on Rihanna's name. (I have a mental black with her, and that's actually the second time I edited her name - when I first posted the review, I accidentally called her Rhiannon like the Fleetwood Mac song, heh heh.)

normaloctagon
December 7th 2020


3672 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

link to the album on bandcamp



https://runamusic.bandcamp.com/album/the-tide-of-winter



description in there is rly nice

Lord(e)Po)))ts
December 7th 2020


64726 Comments


a warm balm to soothe the hurts and scrapes of a particularly tough 2020.


https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/91OYQ79wYWL._AC_SY606_.jpg

BenThatsMyJamin
December 7th 2020


3760 Comments


Thanks for this Diva, the review + that kvlt album cover make me want to check this out

Pheromone
December 7th 2020


10601 Comments


will listen if not for the covid related para ;_;

Digging: Fushitsusha - Live I

Jethro42
December 7th 2020


16200 Comments


Good so far. Might listen to this for Christmas time. It would make a change with the classics. Congrats on the feature, Diva. Gonna read soon.

Sunnyvale
December 7th 2020


1898 Comments


"that kvlt album cover"

Haha, indeed. It's beautiful and very much makes it appear that this is gonna be some sweet nature-themed black metal

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2020


22829 Comments


I could use some Christmas songs, more even coming from a celtic band. Great read Diva, thanks.

I also expected black metal haha [2]

Digging: Pom Poko - Cheater



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy