The Dangerous Summer
All That Is Left of the Blue Sky


3.5
great

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (49 Reviews)
December 6th, 2020 | 21 replies


Release Date: 12/04/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Back from being dead

Listening to All That Is Left of the Blue Sky feels good. While it’s not exactly The Dangerous Summer’s best, most complete body of work, the new EP feels like a brilliant celebration of endings and new beginnings. After having dealt with some serious issues - a criminal guitarist, frequent line-up changes, and, worst of all, being signed to Hopeless records - the band present a bundle of six new songs as they venture further into the world of alternative music, fully independent and free from creative restraints.

In a sense, these new tracks are brilliantly packaged and sequenced. The anthemic opener ‘F*ck Them All’, sounding a whole lot like what you would expect a Dangerous Summer song to sound like, provides the ultimate final middle finger to record labels and guides the band into new, uncharted territory. This space is instantly explored by the subsequent two tracks, as frontman AJ Perdomo, guitarist Matt Kennedy and drummer Aaron Gillespie (yes, that Aaron Gillespie) try their hand at some new sounds. While the piano ballad (‘Come Down’) is more successful than the acoustic-campfire-wait-is-this-Jumper-by-Third-Eye-Blind?-song, neither are particularly interesting and primarily showcase how AJ’s weathered voice works perfectly against any sonic canvas. Besides this, ‘Come Down’ displays more of the uncompromisingly clear, honest lyricism the vocalist has perfected in the past few years: ’I lost you in the dawn of my haze / I was dying on my own”.

Thankfully, the EP’s back half finds the band continuing where they left off on 2019’s magnificent Mother Nature. ‘LA in a Cop Car’ is the kind of song that could only sound as good as it does when performed by The Dangerous Summer. While the upbeat track is undoubtedly catchy, the true magic can be found in AJ’s voice bouncing against the bright riff as the song finishes on a minute-long, uniquely understated climax. ‘Lie to Me’ fully nails a slightly darker feeling, incorporating keys and violins to craft the tense, driving nature of the song before All That Is Left of the Blue Sky’s most emotionally intense moment presents itself in the song’s finale, as AJ’s strained yells slice right through the atmosphere. Closing out this delightful three-song run as well as the entire EP, ‘Come Along’ boasts an irresistibly vivid chorus. On top of this, Aaron Gillespie’s vocal feature in the bridge adds a nice, airy touch before the track disintegrates, marking the end of The Dangerous Summer’s first independent 19 minutes.

As rewardingly paced as it may be, the fact that All That Is Left of the Blue Sky includes two of the band’s weakest songs to date hurts the overall experience a fair bit. However, besides the back half showcasing The Dangerous Summer on top of their game, the EP ultimately feels like a celebration of freedom. As the final lyrics exude, newfound independence comes with its inherent uncertainties, but, admirably, the band manage to juxtapose such insecurities with the realisation that ”I’ve come a long, come a long, come a long way”. It feels good.



Recent reviews by this author
The Dirty Nil Fuck ArtVicious Blossom You Breathe Inside Of Me
Palm Reader SleeplessSoft Kill Dead Kids R.I.P. City
Woodes Crystal BallSea Oleena Weaving A Basket
user ratings (32)
3.2
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

here u go joshie, enjoy this tbt lol

listen on spotify or wherever else probably and consider supporting bc they be independent: https://tdsmerch.com/

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

Crawl
December 6th 2020


2762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

What a huge step-down from Mother Nature. Fuck Them All is the only thing here I remotely like, Come Down and I'm Alive are just horrendous.

onionbubs
December 6th 2020


12783 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

all about the last two for me. also man does aaron sound good on that closing track

Digging: Architects - Ruin

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i have mother nature 5'd lol, really hoping they'll team up with sam pura again in the future

aaron feature is sweet agreed, he should just join the band full time lol

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 7th 2020


44500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"After having dealt with some serious issues - a criminal guitarist, frequent line-up changes, and, worst of all, being signed to Hopeless records"



lmaooo nice. good review, Lie To Me is one of the best songs they've ever released

Digging: Black Country, New Road - For the first time

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks haha, hopeless suucks. lie to me is great, it would've worked really well (and been a highlight) on mother nature too i think

Crawl
December 7th 2020


2762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Seriously, Come Down sounds like one of those awful contemporary superstars who write exclusively slow and oh-so-heartfelt ballads. Lewis Capaldi comes to mind.

joshieboy
December 8th 2020


7852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thank you good sir. Agree with pretty much everything you said. Fuck Them All is so perfect for when I'm in a pissed off mood. I'm Alive is simple but l kinda like it. Controversial l guess

Project
December 8th 2020


4566 Comments


I can't wait to hear a Dangerous Summer song with Aaron dropping some Lost in the Sound-era Underoath beats

bowlermicah
December 8th 2020


98 Comments


These seems very half-baked compared to Mother Nature.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fuck them all is honestly pretty dope for how strangely chill it is lol

yeah that'd be sick project, could make for a climax that can rival mother nature's (the song)

SowingSeason
Moderator
December 8th 2020


36501 Comments


"and, worst of all, being signed to Hopeless records"

I laughed too hard at this. Great review.

Digging: Slaughter Beach, Dog - At The Moonbase

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2020


26162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

loving this EP

Digging: Teenage Bottlerocket - Warning Device

Hopelust
December 8th 2020


3536 Comments


So what's the deal here? Hopeless was a shit record label and they're now independent? Anyone got clarity on the matter?

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha thanks sowing!

yeah hope, they left hopeless and formed their own independent label of sorts: https://mollywatermusic.com/

aj said they're planning on putting out one release (ep/album) per year from now on and just kinda do everything by themselves, p cool

Pikazilla
December 8th 2020


14196 Comments


is this better than nature poop

Crawl
December 8th 2020


2762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's a lot worse.

joshieboy
December 9th 2020


7852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Come Along is top tier. Sounds like something that just missed the cut on Mother Nature but was too good not to put out

ToastSandwich1
December 9th 2020


69 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Yes come along is very good. Loving the guitar in the chorus.



Overall this was pretty disappointing though. It's just an EP though so I'm not worried. I know they will release another great LP.

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
December 9th 2020


1499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still maintain that their first EP from 2007 is their best work. I found it about a year after it came out and that made these guys one of my favorite bands. If you haven’t listened, please do!

I like the direction they’re taking with this, although nothing really excites me outside of the last track. I honestly wouldn’t be angry if Aaron became a dual vocalist



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy