Plini
Impulse Voices


5.0
classic

Review

by smaugman USER (19 Reviews)
December 1st, 2020 | 109 replies


Release Date: 11/27/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Plini continues to deviate down a very interesting prog path

The rating isn't as biased as you'd think. Sure, I adore the music, but I don't rate something 5 without second thoughts. Impulse Voices brings 39 new minutes of music, which brings Plini's repertoire to a total of roughly 2,5 hours of listening joy (what numbers!!). While his signature Strandberg sound is unmistakably his own, Plini is constantly experimenting with new sound directions, especially in terms of unusual signatures. By doing so, I never found myself bored while listening, and certain songs gripped me right from the start.

A thing I noticed on Impulse Voices is how weirdly diverse it is. The music sounds the same in many ways, the drums still have the same punchy sound and the bass is always present, rarely following the guitar leads. While the music can be heavy at times (see the end of Papelillo), it can have an entirely different atmosphere a couple of minutes apart (see the start of Papelillo). The intro melody, as strange as this will sound, I have never heard anything similar. It's incredibly flowing and trippy. The last minute of Perfume is also unheard personally, with synths and a beat reminiscent of a party song accompanyed with solo guitar. Keyboard solos รก la Snarky puppy. A harp solo on The Glass Bead Game perhaps? Yeah, *** it.

The intricacy, technicality and brilliant execution of it all stuns me. His playing style is incredibly melodic most of the time, but knows exactly when to push it to up to eleven. The details to be found all around the record are blown in your face en masse, while never finding it excessive or out of place, or tiresome. Plini, remembering all the parts and its details, must straight up not have a good time. The details aren't restricted to Plini's guitar most of the time. The drummer often lays down very complicated and solid grooves, and keeps the rhythm going (or not when he wants to like on Papelillo's midsection). Simon Groves (a-ha-ha, Simon Groovy!) keeps the bass fat as tradition.

Though Plini is unproductive, the wait is worth it. This record was immediately appreciated by me, and I keep it spinning once a day to fully grasp all the elements found within, and there is still more to be discovered. Don't be a loser, go win the Glass Bead Game.



Recent reviews by this author
ABC The Lexicon of LoveErasure The Innocents
Plini/Sithu Aye IPlini Other Things
Rusted Root Cruel SunJapan Gentlemen Take Polaroids
user ratings (161)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
smaugman
December 1st 2020


5184 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

First review in ages, don't kill me

SteakByrnes
December 1st 2020


22006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Incredibly solid album, Papelillo is one of the best songs he's written

kalkwiese
December 1st 2020


6503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Needs to sink in a little more, but it's fantastic, that's what I can say atm.

Some find it too wanky, that's interesting. I don't think he went too far in that regard at all, but opinions I guess

JakeStallion
December 1st 2020


592 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album is pretty much perfect to me. Only reason I have it at a 4.5 is because I have a weird apprehension for rating albums a 5 so soon after they came out. Good review though. I got this early for preordering the vinyl and have listened to it easily a dozen or more times by now. It's only grown on me more with each listen and has cemented itself pretty handily as my AOTY.

bloc
December 1st 2020


64367 Comments


Wow this is the best set of songs I've ever heard from him

Digging: EVERGLOW - -77.82X-78.29

TundraL5Z
December 1st 2020


5565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good

JayEnder
December 1st 2020


8925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

jazzy n snazzy

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - Program Music I

TundraL5Z
December 1st 2020


5565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bead Game never feels like 9 minutes, I thought the harp solo was a keyboard solo the first couple listens

smaugman
December 1st 2020


5184 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yea same, i was playing rocket league and thought to myself what the hell is this instrument?

bloc
December 1st 2020


64367 Comments


The sax in Pan is killer

Get Low
December 1st 2020


8969 Comments


give no fucks about this brand of instrumental prog anymore, but I might still check out of sheer curiosity. Plini was always one of the better ones

Ecnalzen
December 2nd 2020


10126 Comments


ooooo, more Plini? Will have to check

zaruyache
December 2nd 2020


23344 Comments


i specifically tried to remember this was coming out and forgot about it anyway :/

Rowhaus
December 2nd 2020


3955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is awesome although I didn't dig it quite as much as HC. Will definitely spin it a few more times tho.

Digging: Krater - Urere

wildinferno2010
December 2nd 2020


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The drummer often lays down very complicated and solid grooves"



Chris Allison. Absolute beast.



I wanna give this a couple more spins before I rate it, but it's hovering around a 4. Plini is so good

OmairSh
December 2nd 2020


17367 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Drummer is great agreed. Groove for days

Digging: Estas Tonne - Internal Flight

e210013
December 2nd 2020


3154 Comments


Nice to see you again around here, smaug.

smaugman
December 2nd 2020


5184 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks E, less time and interest to review makes my appearance around here rarer. But I felt this needed a review and i liked it a lot so here ya go

nash1311
December 2nd 2020


2003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I loved 4 tracks and thought 4 were just good. Really wanted more from this as a whole I felt there was a significant quality drop after Papelillo. still a great album

El Olam
December 2nd 2020


52 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Liking this way more than any of their other material but I haven't listened to them in a good while

Digging: Look What I Did - Atlas Drugged



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy