The Snogs
Boyfriend's Dead


4.5
superb

Review

by User Review By USER (59 Reviews)
November 22nd, 2020 | 21 replies


Release Date: 11/20/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The new new teenage generation.

If I could say anything about Californian indie pop outfit The Snogs, it would be that they play the part of a 1980s indie group well. Almost too damn well, actually. So much so, that I’m tempted to break one of my reviewing golden rules: referencing similar bands in a review. No, you don’t have to dig through my reviews to find out if I’ve done it before, let me answer for you: yes, of course I’ve done it in the past. Probably as recent as this year. But I’ve been making the concerted effort to limit the amount of times I reference other bands in my reviews. I’d like to say that this was for some noble reason, but that would be a lie. I just didn’t like how it looked in writing, so I tried to stop myself from doing it.

And then you get a band like The Snogs, who not only acknowledge that they sound like a certain band, but revel in it. It’s almost like the band is daring me to make the comparison. A bit self-centered maybe, but that’s what it feels like. Which begs the question: can I even write a review for this band without mentioning the (very obvious) comparison? “That band” has such a unique sound and was one of the defining acts of the 80s lo-fi scene, not to mention one of my favorite bands of all time. Comparing The Snogs to that particular band in this review would be like drawing a gigantic checkmark right atop the album’s black-and-white cover in Wite-Out. I decided that for your sake and mine, I would try my hardest to refrain from obvious comparisons in my review for their newest album (and first for Paisley Shirt Records), Boyfriend’s Dead. No matter how difficult it would be or how little I would have to say that wasn’t some form of torrential, rapturous praise.

So! The Snogs play a downright infectious brand of punk-y indie pop with production straight out of the 1980s; proper “found buried deep within an unlabeled cardboard box in your friend’s basement” lo-fi. The vocals alternate between monotone baritone male vox and endearingly rough female vox. It’s short for an album at only 16 minutes, but you know when the only complaint you have for an album is that it’s too short, you’ve got something special going. The songwriting, while simple, is perfect for the lovestruck, sarcastic teenager that’s still brooding somewhere inside all of our hearts. This is music for driving down the street with the windows down, beach parties with some particularly cool friends, or even just dancing in your room by yourself with a cheapo set of speakers you got on discount.

The Snogs are my new favorite band and I’ve run out of stuff to say.



Recent reviews by this author
The Ronettes ...Presenting the Fabulous Ronettes Featuring VeronicaBeat Happening Black Candy
Dry Cleaning New Long LegtUnE-yArDs sketchy.
Fawning Illusions of ControlCrywank Fist Me 'til Your Hand comes Out My Mouth
user ratings (6)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
SandwichBubble
November 22nd 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stream: https://paisleyshirtrecords.bandcamp.com/album/boyfriends-dead



Sandwich "One Draft" Bubble posting poor reviews for unknown indie pop bands at 4AM again, ensuring nobody will ever see them.

sixdegrees
November 22nd 2020


11162 Comments


its almost exactly 50-50 as to whether ill like this or not

I like those odds

SandwichBubble
November 22nd 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice, nice. Hope it's everything you were looking for.

I wanna see 2 ratings on this album one day, it's been my dream since I heard this 5 hours ago.

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2020


13675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sandwichreview oh yaeah!



will listen

Digging: Julia Kwamya - Feel Good About Feeling Bad

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2020


13675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its cool that they got the guy from beat happening to do vox on this

SandwichBubble
November 22nd 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I went the entire review without comparing it to beat happening and here comes this fool crashing through.

Well, as long as the seal's broken, yes this is basically a 2020 beat happening album. Take out Didi's Diary and this would be a 5.0 for me.

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2020


13675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i dart between loving a couple tracks on this, to liking a few, to actively disliking a few



for a 15 minute album, it's making me feel in a bit too many directions. for a sunday too, eek

SandwichBubble
November 22nd 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wait for national indie pop day and recheck it.

National indie pop day is tomorrow btw, don't google it.

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2020


13675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's fine, ive learned to take everything you say as complete 100% objective fact



ill get the national indie pop day cake in!

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2020


13675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

please when i give this a 3 can you forgive me - especially given the fact that i love hay ride A LOT

SandwichBubble
November 22nd 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Go ahead, I'll silently judge you through the computer screen though.

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2020


13675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh, the sput avg for this is 3.8



must not be that good i wont check this

SandwichBubble
November 22nd 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey.

A 3.8 is a perfectly respectable average, I'll have you know.

Some of my favorite albums are 3.8s.

My dad's a 3.8.



I was thinking about making Hay ride a 5/5 track, but then I'd have to bump the whole album to a 5.0. Would it be in bad taste to give this a 5.0 immediately after someone gave it a 3.0?

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2020


13675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the fact that you didn't have hay ride, the heads and shoulders best on the album, as a 5 is about as bad taste as you can get it



5 it, and give your dad a 4.5 from me - bump that man up x

SandwichBubble
November 22nd 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Too many good songs on this, someone had to be on the chopping block. I'll think about it.

But yeah, my dad's a good guy, I'll give him a rating bump.

SandwichBubble
November 23rd 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Doth my eyes deceive me?

3 ratings?

My cup runneth over.

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2020


13675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ay sand, your cup might run further over now it's at the top !

SandwichBubble
November 24th 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Must be a slow day on mount olympus.

Thanks to whomever, though.

Divaman
November 24th 2020


9749 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'll give them a listen. Sounds like something I might like.

Digging: Grouplove - This Is This

SandwichBubble
November 25th 2020


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No refunds I mean enjoy.

This band's whole discography is going in my thanksgiving cooking playlist, love it to death.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy