Cousin Silas
Variations On A Theme Of Winter


4.0
excellent

Review

by MiguelAngel USER (9 Reviews)
November 21st, 2020 | 15 replies


Release Date: 11/16/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Don’t go expecting world wide domination, it ain’t gonna happen".- Cousin Silas.

David Hughes, born 7 May 1959, is an English musician and electronic music producer most notable for his ambient and drone music.
One of the most beautiful ambient releases I've had the pleasure of listening this year. The album title complements the music within perfectly: cold, sparse and delicate. I now just need my log fire.

There are many things that 'inspire' the music of Cousin Silas, but perhaps one of the most endearing is Winter. With this album, Silas reflects his deepest feelings and desires. Apart from the usual clichés of transformation, Silas takes the opportunity to show the memory from childhood with its association with Christmas.
If we look in the past for the exposition of the present date, we cannot settle for memorizing and repeating a holiday.

I feel that, with this album, i can really feel intimacy and rejoice at the same time. Specially with the track "The Slow Movement Of Winter Stars", which presents a beautiful organ without loosing that "dronie" vibe.
"Frozen Landscapes" allows the healing of all the wounds that this year inflicted upon us, and in case these wounds can't heal, "Village Church" comes in with some powerful hymns and choirs that will encourage a desolate heart to wrap it in a hug of warmth and tranquility.

Silas once said on an interview: "I often get an image, a place, or a location, usually remote or out of the way, and I try and convey that in the music. These images can be from memory, at work as I pass some place, a photo, or something on the tv or even in a book". And i am glad that he decided to give Christmas a chance.

Overall, i believe this is the best project of Cousin Silas.



Recent reviews by this author
Ecovillage Clouds And WavesMiktek Hereafter
Ian Hawgood Peace FragmentsIan Hawgood Echoes from the Edges of Time
Hiemal Arctic GatesCousin Silas Amidst Silence (Deluxe Edition)
user ratings (2)
3.5
great
related reviews

Amidst Silence (Deluxe Ed


Comments:Add a Comment 
Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2020


6182 Comments


Ugh we finally get another user who's into ambient and it's this dweeb

Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2020


6182 Comments


Also one review a day buddy

sixdegrees
November 21st 2020


11689 Comments


finally a user who's into ambient

Ryus
November 21st 2020


24658 Comments



The criteria for music that a Christian can hear is as follows: -It must reflect the character of the Christian -It must be spiritual -It must inspire what is true, honest, just... -It must transmit purity and calm -It must be heard to praise and glorify God. All these criteria are supported by these verses: Philippians 4:8, Col. 3:16, Eph. 5:19, Corinthians 10:5.

MiguelAngel
November 21st 2020


82 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I´ll do as many as i want, but thanks for your opinion

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2020


24804 Comments


That's the spirit.

Also I would make a local copy of your other reviews and brace for impact.

Digging: Midwife (USA) - Luminol

Ryus
November 21st 2020


24658 Comments


what have you done

sixdegrees
November 21st 2020


11689 Comments


@Get Low ask for your account to be wiped in the meds thread while youre at it

Sinternet
November 21st 2020


24220 Comments


is this where i go to get my faith changed

widowslaugh123
November 23rd 2020


2895 Comments


Wtf? I’m Muslim now

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 24th 2020


67003 Comments


What was get low crying about this time

sixdegrees
November 24th 2020


11689 Comments


he got my boy miguel's other reviews from that day taken down

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 24th 2020


67003 Comments


Review snitch AND a single snitch wow ok narc-dog what's next, list patrol?

sixdegrees
November 24th 2020


11689 Comments


someones gotta take over as the resident bootlicker now that toondude's seemingly hung it up

MiguelAngel
December 23rd 2020


82 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup. He got me banned for one month and, he and his friends review bombed my reviews. Funny how someone downvoted his review and his friends ask for that guy to be banned...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy