Neander
Eremit


4.0
excellent

Review

by farmerobama USER (1 Reviews)
November 16th, 2020 | 7 replies


Release Date: 10/09/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sludgy Post-Metal Landscapes

Founded 2017 in Berlin, neander is a four-piece instrumental post/doom/sludge Metal outfit consisting of members from bands like Ånd, Patsy O’Hara, Earth Ship and Casper (liveband). After releasing their s/t last year, this year it's time for their sophomore album 'Eremit', this time featuring a better production and mastering from Magnus Lindberg (Cult of Luna).

The album opens with 'Purpur', which starts with a smooth, ambient prelude flowing into a heavy riff to set the tone for neander's melancholic atmosphere that will chill you out on one part and get you headbanging just shortly after. Having three guitarist and no bassist might sound weird at first glance, but it creates a unique dynamic flow that sets them apart from other bands of the genre. It also shines light on the drummer of the band, who really excels throughout the album, especially on the title track's finale, where the drum patterns and the groove to it really go wild. He also likes to sprinkle in just the right amount of black metal with some sweet sounding blast beats, most notably on 'Purpur'.

On the closing track 'Atlas', the band showcases their doomier side as the song hooks you with a really catchy, but crushing riff and takes you to a wild ride of loud and quiet as the song calms down in ambient-like parts to crush your soul once again. The accompaniying music video to this song also does a great job at capturing that vibe and is maybe the track you might want to check out first.
The track 'Ora' turns up the melancholic sound even further that you eventually get lost in it making it probably the most forgettable song on the album, but due to the album's relatively short running time of 40 minutes – at least in this genre - it doesn't drag a bit.

Overall neander successfully established and expanded their distinct post-metal sound with a sludgy twist on 'Eremit' making it worth to check out for every kind of metal fan and even for fans of ambient music.


user ratings (17)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
farmerobama
November 16th 2020


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wrote my first review, so here it is. Any criticism is welcome and corrections as well, as I'm not a native speaker.

Digging: King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard - K.G.

MiguelAngel
November 18th 2020


63 Comments


"Any criticism is welcome", you mean the non-constructive criticism that you gave me on my review of Hiemal?

Digging: Desolate Horizons - Loops for Ascension

farmerobama
November 18th 2020


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude it was a joke about big discographies. And maybe it occured to you, that if you 1 like the whole discography of Miles Davis, Bowie and others for not being christian you should expect some jokes.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2020


1860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

enjoying this quite a bit, not a bad first review farmer! here's a few pointers:

- 'consisting of' (delete out)

- 'und' should probably be 'and' unless it's part of the band name & '(liveband)' is not necessary

- 'title track's finale' (add apostrophe)

- 'to sparkle in' i think you meant 'sprinkle in'

- 'hooks you with' (delete 'up')

- 'accompanied' = 'accompanying'

- ' to the album's relatively' (add apostrophe)

- also: remember to capitalise the N in Neander



overall there's some awkward phrasing here and there (especially in the second to last paragraph(s?)), but you definitely get your points across! keep on writing :]

Digging: An Pierle and White Velvet - An Pierle and White Velvet

farmerobama
November 20th 2020


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you Jesper! I will correct it as soon as I get home!

The band actually writes out their name non-capitalised everywhere, so I thought I keep it that way.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2020


1860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah okay, got it! love me some all-lowercase stylisation haha

also atlas is huuge!

farmerobama
November 20th 2020


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah absolute banger!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy