Full Blooded
Memorial Day


4.5
superb

Review

by Drifter USER (8 Reviews)
November 13th, 2020 | 35 replies


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A misunderstood gangsta rap classic from New Orleans.

Full Blooded (up to this point known as Da Hound) was a rapper from No Limit Records and de facto leader of the Hounds from Gert Town. Despite first making an appearance on No Limit as early as 1995 on the classic “Down South Hustlers: Bouncin' and Swangin'” compilation, Hound didn’t drop his No Limit debut until December of 1998. The album followed a similar path as the plethora of other No Limit albums did being advertised in the booklets of the labels other artists’ albums, even boasting the position of being first in a display of upcoming albums on the inlay behind the CD of two of the label’s biggest successes in Master P’s MP Da Last Don and Snoop Dogg’s Da Game Is To Be Sold, Not To Be Told. Despite this seemingly high profile and promising promotion, the album only sold 5,000 copies its first week and only 7,000 more by 2002. These weak sales resulted in him being released from the label the next year.

Those in the know, however, understand how disappointing it is that he was gone.

For the hardcore No Limit fans this is a highlight in the 80+ releases from the label between 1991-2005. It’s the darkest and most raw they had ever gotten for a whole record with Hound’s gruff tone and sloppy delivery mixed with Beats By The Pound’s sinister beats creating an eerie vibe that envelopes you for an hour with little let up. Memorial Day is as grim as they come with most tracks revolving around stories of murder, robbery, and the dangers of the streets overtop instrumentals centered around ghostly piano chords, pounding drum patterns, and foreboding bass lines with the occasional squeaky synth line, menacing guitar riff, and haunting string section coloring the background.

It’s easy on first glance of the album cover and skimming of the music to deem this just another hardcore southern hip hop record but doing so would be robbing yourself of a real gem in the genre.

Hound’s amateurish performance might be a hurdle in enjoying him as it can be hard to understand what he says at times but if you listen closely he reveals himself to be quite profound in some of his statements on the record.

Songs like “Sleep No More” prove this with the hook’s lamentation of:
The man is on his way; I’m starin’ out the window, I can’t sleep no more. I’d change my life if it would change you, through all the years and tears I learned it’s something that I just can’t do.

Or the painful pleas of “My Day Gone Come” with:
I know my day gone come. When they gone say this nigga’s gone? And at my wake don’t sing that song. To all my hounds be strong. One day the man gone take us home.

It’s moments like these where his earnestness triumphs everything. For most of the record he’s telling you tales of how many different ways he has shot someone and how his friends have died in the streets of New Orleans but every now and then he throws these bars in and shows the real depth in his character.

Full Blooded may not have had the impressive lyrical skills of the Mac’s Fiend’s or C-Murder’s of No Limit, or the tight flow control of the Mystikal’s, Big Ed’s or Master P’s, or especially the charming charisma of the Silkk The Shocker’s, Snoop Dogg’s or Magic’s of No Limit, but like his cousin Soulja Slim, he had the heart of all of them which more than made up for his technical shortcomings.



Recent reviews by this author
Mr. Criminal Stay On The StreetsBig Moe City of Syrup
Big Syke Be Yo' SelfDaz Dillinger Retaliation, Revenge and Get Back
Nosferatu D2 Older, Wiser, SadderR. Kelly Happy People/U Saved Me
user ratings (2)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drifter
November 13th 2020


17006 Comments


Here’s a YouTube playlist to listen to the album on: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLE5fC5WPVNIJi5Ca769qc4-B907i3FJtN

Highlights include:
Dog Shit - https://youtu.be/HPa2diqMh4Q
Foes Bleed Bullets - https://youtu.be/16PasA-B-Nk
My Day Gone Come - https://youtu.be/4lOEUYNW2Xk

Criticism welcome

Fort23
November 14th 2020


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Solid review man this album sounds sick. I know full blooded from his guest verses I never checked this out but now I am

Digging: MC Money & Gangsta Gold - Da Hard Ov Frayser

Drifter
November 14th 2020


17006 Comments


Thanks bro. I love it and other hardcore no limit fans love it but it’s probably not for everyone.

Fort23
November 14th 2020


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The beats on this are crazy “foes beat bullets” Goddamn I love beats by the pound they’re such a vibe kids these days don’t realize how sick they were so much live instrumentation too bass and guitar. What’s your favorite no limit album?

Drifter
November 14th 2020


17006 Comments


Hell yeah beat to foes bleed bullets is crazy

My favorite No Limit album is Ghetto D. Probably my most listened to rap album at this point too. Need to review that one the ones on here are a disgrace

Drifter
November 14th 2020


17006 Comments


Damn I got a mystery neg rip

Fort23
November 14th 2020


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I fully support a new review for ghetto d the one there is Doo doo matter fact I support a no limit overview I’ll help you bro my favorite is fiends there’s one in every family and Soulja slim give it to em raw

normaloctagon
November 14th 2020


3672 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice rev man. don't know this stuff, will check. pos'd

Digging: Madvillain - Madvillainy

Drifter
November 14th 2020


17006 Comments


Still gotta get the cd to there’s one in every family before I jam it but I bought Street Life last year for $40 before I heard it and it was worth every penny. Street Life’s my #2 such an amazing album.

Drifter
November 14th 2020


17006 Comments


Thanks octagon album is really dope at least from a beats perspective

Fort23
November 14th 2020


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah street life is a slap fest another great album of beats

Supercoolguy64
November 14th 2020


9996 Comments


lol this has such a shit average on rym. it looks and sounds epic tho

Digging: Hum - Electra 2000

Drifter
November 14th 2020


17006 Comments


I guarantee 90% of those ratings were people who looked at the cover and gave it 2 seconds before rating. Album slaps

Supercoolguy64
November 14th 2020


9996 Comments


idk why pen and pixel album covers are like a stamp of quality

Fort23
November 14th 2020


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah exactly they need a bunch of low ratings so their objectivity is down or whatever so their undercover racism comes out basically. Dumb fucks

HalfManHalfAmazing
November 14th 2020


2712 Comments


Pos.

Is that how objectivity is scored? By how your individual scores compare to album averages?

Fort23
November 14th 2020


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No we’ll idk but I think it’s just how many low ratings Vera how many high ratings you have I don’t really know, I just remember 12 years ago I really really really cared about that because I was retarded and now I wish I had 0% objectivity. Idek what albums I have rated that low probably some shit I never heard

Fort23
November 14th 2020


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also in like 2009 all my ratings were deleted because me and this dude rated animal collective fall be kind like a week before it came out I think it might’ve leaked but yeah all my ratings were deleted I had to start over I remember being real pissed

Drifter
November 14th 2020


17006 Comments


I think objectivity works like they want you to be more rounded out with your ratings. If I got a lot more 2.5 and below my score would raise because then I’m not just giving everything a good score. It’s dumb. I’ve always floated around 69-71

normaloctagon
November 14th 2020


3672 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

these beats is tight. and ya I think ratings are just a composite average, the more you skew above 3.0 in your ratings the less "objective" you are, I'm not sure sput is smart enough to compare user ratings to average album ratings but I've been wrong before



also drift do u collect CDs? that's lit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy