Sea Oleena
Weaving A Basket


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (49 Reviews)
November 11th, 2020 | 51 replies


Release Date: 10/31/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Unadulterated, peaceful monotony

Miraculously, Weaving a Basket manages to feel as light as a feather and heavier than a ton of bricks at the same time. Sea Oleena’s sophomore album focuses on its gorgeous, minimalist ambience, while gently but confidently nudging its limited palette to the edges of this aesthetic, one song at a time. Every second is undeniably beautiful if somewhat harmless in its own right, yet, the record truly shows its astonishing impact when experienced in full. Each expansive moment is wonderfully glued together by Charlotte Oleena’s gorgeous voice, as the amount of care taken to construct the atmosphere is fully tangible.

Throughout Weaving a Basket, calming sounds of nature provide pristine frameworks for the relatively simplistic songs. ‘Carrying’ primarily relies on gentle acoustic strums and Oleena’s soft hums, while a mild breeze transforms into a steady draft, gradually getting more prevalent. Combined with the gorgeous, washed-out synths that guide the song’s middle section, every low-key element collaborates in perfect harmony with one another to construct the perfect atmospheric experience. This calm wind returns in the ten-minute epic ‘Gardens’, where the crystal clear acoustic ambience of the track’s first half slowly disintegrates into a carefully woven array of sound, demonstrating the sheer potential beauty to be found in unadulterated, peaceful monotony.

As showcased by this contrast, Oleena appears impressively aware of when to use words, and when merely her voice suffices. On ‘Will I Know’, she obscures the lyrics while expertly evoking the exact feelings and connotations through the song’s ambient textures: ‘Late at night, walking home / Moon is bright, I’m alone’. Similarly simplistically effective lyricism cuts its way through the atmosphere more clearly on ‘Lost Song’, where Oleena seems to abstractly sum up the precise nature of Weaving a Basket: ‘Shadows climbed the walls that you had painted white / I urged you not to close your eyes’.

Every aspect of Weaving a Basket appears to be tailor-made for closing one’s eyes, yet, the many small details weigh surprisingly heavy, truly revealing the emotional impact of the album. Embracing the soundscapes is more than worth it: allow yourself a moment of serenity navigated by Sea Oleena’s unparalleled grasp on weaving sonic patterns of sheer beauty.



Recent reviews by this author
The Dirty Nil Fuck ArtVicious Blossom You Breathe Inside Of Me
The Dangerous Summer All That Is Left of the Blue SkyPalm Reader Sleepless
Soft Kill Dead Kids R.I.P. CityWoodes Crystal Ball
user ratings (20)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

suuch a pretty record, check it: https://seaoleena.bandcamp.com/album/weaving-a-basket (also on spotify)

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

Trifolium
November 11th 2020


20949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yipppeeeeee a review for this! And a Jesper-one no less 💗



Loved this too.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

< 3

so so pretty, works both as background music and as super calming nice evening music!

budgie
November 11th 2020


22987 Comments


weaving a basket


made of little children bits! that's what trif did he said so himself. vile beast

Pangea
November 11th 2020


5451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like that the album art is just a random picture of birds they probably took in a park or something



this sounds nice

Digging: Akhlys - Melinoe

budgie
November 11th 2020


22987 Comments


you know what else is a random picture of birds?

your face

Pangea
November 11th 2020


5451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's true

MiguelAngel
November 11th 2020


82 Comments


This seems good... will check in the future

Digging: Danny Clay - Ocean Park

Trifolium
November 11th 2020


20949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eeeeeeew budgie don't remind me of that slip-up!!!!!!



I also kind of sort of actually remember it wasn't me that first said this, but it was YOU~!!!

budgie
November 11th 2020


22987 Comments


yes but someone like me furnishing tools out of pieces of children isn't exactly scandalous

Trifolium
November 11th 2020


20949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I.......

...

.







...











......



...guess that's true?

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2020


22850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude Jesp, nice.

Digging: Beautify Junkyards - Cosmorama

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't.. dismember kids guys plz

and ty! hope some more ppl can find something to enjoy in this :]

Bedex
November 11th 2020


2518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

she needed a review badly, jesper you're a godsend

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

luv u, have you heard this one yet? just jammed the debut and i think i slightly prefer this one

Trifolium
November 11th 2020


20949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The other way around for me, but I love both of them a lot.

Bedex
November 11th 2020


2518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

have not heard this one yet no but it's high on my list jesper

OSEL
November 11th 2020


247 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Huh, will have to check this. I enjoyed her first release but it's been a minute

Bedex
November 11th 2020


2518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

jamming it rn and it is stupidly gorgeous

Trifolium
November 11th 2020


20949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes it is it's so beautiful.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy