Fates Warning
Long Day Good Night


3.5
great

Review

by Trey STAFF
November 6th, 2020 | 262 replies


Release Date: 11/06/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thirty-Six years into their career, and they can still throw their fans a curveball.

The band Ray Alder joined in 1988 doesn’t exist anymore. We lost the shreddier guitar solos when Frank Aresti left, the jazzier drumming when Mark Zonder departed, and the creative bass playing when Joe DiBiase left. As these flashier players left, Jim Matheos slowly dropped the classier elements of his sound in favor of more riffs, occasional electronics, and a darker moodiness. I’m not complaining, though. It was through this ever-evolving cast of musicians and styles, that we arrived at their previous release, Theories of Flight – an instant classic, if I do say so myself. Long Day Good Night continues the band’s multi-decade evolution and ends up at a place where Fates Warning almost sounds like an entirely different band. Shedding a majority of their more traditional influences, Long Day Good Night comes across as a modern alternative prog metal album that only features a hint of their more traditional past.

Opening track “The Destination Onward” wouldn’t sound out of place on either of the band’s previous two releases – although, it would be one of the more metallic songs on either release. The only other similar song is “The Longest Shadow of the Day’ – which is easily the most traditional prog song on the album. Having said that, even those songs feature simpler choruses, chuggier riffs, and less nuance than one might expect. Additionally, drummer Bobby Jarzombek has dropped most of the overtly prog percussion in favor of a simpler, albeit busy, delivery. In interviews, Ray Alder talked about the diversity found on the album, and that is certainly true. There are straight forward rockers such as “Scars” and “Shuttered World”, there are moody alternative tracks such as “Under the Sun” and “Now Comes the Rain”, and there are even a few acoustic tracks. What there’s not is the classy nuance, and moody emotional experiences that previous releases were always able to deliver.

Ray Alder also mentioned that the styles of music on “Long Day Good Night” help distinguish it from the band’s back catalog, and he was definitely right. Of course, the songs are recognizable as Fates Warning due to Ray Alder’s vocals, but without the Fates Warning name attached, you’d be forgiven for thinking he was singing for a different band. Having laid out all the ways Fates Warning have deviated from what fans possibly expected, it should be made clear that the songs are still really good. Despite the streamlined nature of individual tracks, and the lack of an overarching theme or feel, Fates Warning have still delivered an enjoyable album. Songs such as the electronics-dominated “When Snow Falls” and the Porcupine Tree groove of “Under the Sun” deliver new sides of the band thirty-six years after they first formed.

To be honest, Long Day Good Night sounds like what I assumed Ray’s solo album was going to be – a vocal-driven album that contained hints of Fates Warning, but that was otherwise more metal, modern, and streamlined. Despite the streamlined feel of the songs, and the lack of a unified direction, Fates Warning have still delivered an enjoyable album… and possibly even threw their fans a curveball due to the abundance of musical diversity. Just about every Fates Warning album has had a way to differentiate itself from the rest of the catalog, Long Day Good Night will be known as the modern, sleek, Fates Warning album that dropped most the tangents, did away with all the moodiness, and just rocked.



Recent reviews by this author
Mitochondrial Sun Sju PulsarerDark Tranquillity Moment
Testament Titans of CreationThe Birthday Massacre Diamonds
My Dying Bride The Ghost of OrionMitochondrial Sun Mitochondrial Sun
user ratings (75)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
November 6th 2020


18869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I would have had this out earlier, but I thought the release date was next Friday.

Digging: Violet Cold - Noir Kid

OmairSh
November 6th 2020


17241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Woot wooot, going to jam the hell out of it tomorrow probably. Great review Willie



I'm actually looking forward to the straight forward approach they took on this. Probably will fit in within the context of the Fates catalogue

Digging: My Sleeping Karma - Soma

Ecnalzen
November 6th 2020


9724 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice, will have to check this tomorrow. Always down for some more Fates

OmairSh
November 6th 2020


17241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

They've released the entire album on Youtube already. Diiiviiing iiiiinnn





OmairSh
November 6th 2020


17241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I normally need 4-5 listens to start digesting an album, but upon first listen I'm thinking that 3.5 is a bit harsh Willie no?



Jim is such a rhythmic beast, but I'm SO glad to hear more of his solos and their variety of tones & styles

Willie
Moderator
November 6th 2020


18869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't know. I've had it about a month, and it just never grabbed me. It's enjoyable when it's on, but it doesn't grab me like previous releases.

OmairSh
November 6th 2020


17241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Gotcha. I'll be taking my time over this, it's got some twists and unexpected turns that I'm liking atm.



Just hoping the rating doesn't deter people from checking this out. I think a decent chunk of people would enjoy a lot of the songs off of this

Willie
Moderator
November 6th 2020


18869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3.5 is a 'great release'. Just saying.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2020


8937 Comments


--[...] throw their fans a curveball

Please elaborate, as some of your European audience only knows soccer (as in real football played with both feet most of the time *imao*) and basketball *haha just kidding*

Great review as always, can't wait to listen to the album, especially since Absentia is my favorite Porcupine Tree album.

Digging: Terrorpy - Stuffing Puke Into The Sockets

kalkwiese
November 6th 2020


6362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wait. "Throwing a curveball" is NOT a Pokémon GO metaphor?!

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2020


15313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice to see you back to writing. I'll take a peek at the album in the next couple of days.

Digging: Sodom - Genesis XIX

Titan
November 6th 2020


21538 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

playing the album for the very first time and reading this review as I listen



lets go boys!!!!!!

teamster
November 6th 2020


5242 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And here it is. You sound disappointed. But let’s be honest, anything after Theories was going to be a let down. The first thing that intrigued me was bringing on Tool and Isis producer Joe Barresi. Right there I knew this album would sound different.

ChaoticVortex
November 6th 2020


1072 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, the album itself sounds like a serious grower like most Fates. Can't wait to get around it.

OmairSh
November 6th 2020


17241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

How Shuttered World isn't a single boggles my mind. That, Alone We Walk, or Liar should have been the first instead of Scars, so good. I think Scars is the weakest here so far



Yeah setting this up with expectations from Theories is unfair since this sounds like a totally different album. Feels more raw and jam oriented





TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2020


15313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Begin Again (OFFICIAL VIDEO):

http://youtu.be/H1aAkjEDpBc

OmairSh
November 6th 2020


17241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

metalblade album stream if anyone's interested. The band are in the comments section live!



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=08VIJE7A0C0

Titan
November 6th 2020


21538 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shuttered World sounds like a strong single with plenty of catch.....agreed Omair



After one listen, it had many interesting and promising moments.

Titan
November 6th 2020


21538 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And fuck it, I'm slappin a 4 on this bitch just to get on the board....will adjust as I go

teamster
November 6th 2020


5242 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is just jam after jam. Incredible riffage, Bobby’s best FW performance and Ray Alder is not of this earth. Unexplainable. Also, I like the min use of electronics.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy