Wake
Confluence


4.0
excellent

Review

by Scoot USER (40 Reviews)
October 25th, 2020 | 25 replies


Release Date: 10/20/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Building on bedlam.

2020 has been chaotic. I don't think a single person would disagree with that statement. We have seen countless earth-shattering events that one might expect to worm themselves into the course of a decade take place inside ten months of one calendar year. Many bands have used the isolation and disorder that have plagued our lives as inspiration to push their creative boundaries, and a perfect example is Calgary-based extreme metal quintet Wake. Having already released one of the year's most impressive LPs in Devouring Ruin (if you haven't heard it yet, you are missing out), the band has expanded on their unique blend of blackened death metal and hardcore music to deliver an additional twenty-three minutes of mayhem.

Confluence feels like a natural progression from Devouring Ruin. The riffs are as delicious as ever, the song structures are ambitious and flow beautifully together, and the production is absolutely stellar. The grindcore elements that were the essence of the band's earliest materials are woven into an intricate tapestry of howling shrieks and growls, rapid-fire drum patterns and melodic leads. Many groups in this vein tend to use abrasive audio techniques to construct a more violent and raw listening experience, but Wake have decided to go in the opposite direction and really push the boundaries of what metal production can sound like. Every instrument is completely massive without drowning out the rest of the pieces, and the result is an absolute pleasure to take in through a quality pair of headphones.

Though it's clear that there is still room to expand their sound and further distance themselves from the rest of the pack, Confluence is evidence that Devouring Ruin was no fluke. Wake are rapidly ascending to the upper echelon of today's exciting metal bands. Their sound is by no means revolutionary, and they wear their influences on their sleeves - but they still manage to carve out a niche for themselves nonetheless. With any luck, their next LP will further cement their place in the scene, setting the stage for other bands to draw influence and take note of everything the group is doing to turn themselves from an underground success into titans of metal.



Recent reviews by this author
Scarypoolparty Doom HologramCloudkicker Solitude
For Squirrels ExampleGrandview Everything Between Paint and a Wall
Anonymuz There Is No Threatnothing,nowhere. Reaper
user ratings (39)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Evok
October 25th 2020


8285 Comments


Hell yeah Wake slaps!!! Pos'd

Digging: Ninze and Okaxy - Blurry Mind

DDDeftoneDDD
October 25th 2020


14434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wake slaps yes

Digging: Ultimate Spinach - Ultimate Spinach

DDDeftoneDDD
October 25th 2020


14434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Quick and awesome rev Scoot. I dig how you respect the current metal scene, as exiting. It really is imo.

Scoot
October 25th 2020


20260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers dudes

Digging: Scarypoolparty - Doom Hologram

bigguytoo9
October 25th 2020


879 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

banger band

Digging: Jesu - Terminus

Tyler.
October 25th 2020


18183 Comments


sick


trilo
October 25th 2020


3543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

devouring ruin was sweet. gonna jam dis sometimes this week. m///

Digging: Torrential Downpour - TwentyTwentyTwenty

MO
October 26th 2020


23066 Comments


damn this sounds enticing. good shit mr. kras m/

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2020


15271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Killer stuff, I dig every track. These guys are one of the most interesting extreme metal bands at the moment.



Pos'd

Digging: Akhlys - MelinoŽ

Donchivo
October 26th 2020


1085 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Upon first listen this is really good. Less thought out and paced and rhythmed through than devouring ruin, but very, very strong too!! Love this band!

Digging: Black Land - Extreme Heavy Psych

Sunnyvale
October 26th 2020


1845 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm loving this, I think I prefer the direction here to Devouring Ruin

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2020


22188 Comments


I still gotta check these guys. Good shit Scoot.

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - May Our Chambers Be Full

JayEnder
October 27th 2020


8693 Comments


Hell yes Scoot, can't wait to give this a listen. Devouring Ruin was sweet [2]

Nice feature too btw :]

DarkNoctus
October 27th 2020


11316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fuck this sounds good

Digging: pg.lost - Oscillate

garas
October 27th 2020


5226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Holy cow, this is is awesome...!

Also pos'd, great review! \m/

Digging: Deafheaven - 10 Years Gone

Scoot
October 27th 2020


20260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks fellers

DarkNoctus
October 27th 2020


11316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

first track really steals the show on this one - banger

DDDeftoneDDD
October 29th 2020


14434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It seems this one has an emotional touch

trilo
October 29th 2020


3543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great stuff. like this a bit more than devouring ruin

DDDeftoneDDD
October 30th 2020


14434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't but still an impressive and beautiful output.. No This Abyssal Plain or Torchbearer here though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy