Crack Cloud
Pain Olympics


4.5
superb

Review

by Faraudo USER (2 Reviews)
October 23rd, 2020 | 12 replies


Release Date: 07/24/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With Pain Olympics, Crack Cloud created an eccentric, strange, and expansive art-rock/post-punk extravaganza unlike nothing else this year. We've truly got something special here.

We've all heard records that make us think "how about that" for one or several moments through its entirety, this happened to me several times with Pain Olympics; It even made me feel compelled to write a review after almost 7 years. It's been a while, so hang in there with me.
Crack Cloud is a collective of musicians and artists from Vancouver that aim towards self-betterment. The common denominator amongst many of its contributors is drug addiction and a willingness to get out of bad habits and destructive tendencies by creating art. For me, that seems like a very cool, respectable premise that could definitely justify such a project.

Hopefully, that's working out perfectly for them because the music itself is excellent; it's a unique combination of punk, alternative rock, art-rock, and post-punk with an extra flair. It consistently reflects the overall themes they want to approach. There is a sense of unease, realism, and urgency that permeates this record through and through; making it feel like the perfect companion piece for a year as complicated as 2020. Its conceptual cohesiveness, flow, and very short duration (29 minutes) made this project feel like a potent, concise piece; every second count, and every song is a banger or has something interesting going on.

The album kicks in with the dynamic, purposeful, and beautiful song Post Truth (which is a highlight) and it instantly paints a clear picture to the listener of what the band/collective wants to achieve with this ambitious undertaking, all while being extremely unpredictable in general. Orchestral arrangements appear out of nowhere to expand and embellish each song, electronic sounds (Favour Your Fortune) compliment them, showing a general curiosity to experiment with various sounds, danceable/frantic punk sensibilities abound (songs like Ouster Stew and Tunnel Vision are perfect examples of this) and an incredible array of vocal deliveries (It seems like a lot of people are singing here) present themselves to make this record even more diverse.

In the end, this album represents a realistic yet hopeful (at times even joyful) take on isolation, addiction, and several other adverse situations/circumstances and turns them into a heartfelt, loving product made by artists who ultimately just want to get by and survive.


user ratings (11)
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Faraudo
October 23rd 2020


3855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Holy shit, I just dropped my second review ever on this site after 7 years of lurking around quite a lot. Come over peeps, listen to the album and join in.

Digging: Nothing - The Great Dismal

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 23rd 2020


22201 Comments


Despite minor grammar issues this is a solid review dude, keep at it!

Album sounds interesting, will give it a shot!

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - May Our Chambers Be Full

Faraudo
October 23rd 2020


3855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thank you, my man! Definitely give it a go, lots to like and unpack.



Btw, where can I edit my review lmao? Been a consistent user for the past 7 years and I don't know how to do that.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 23rd 2020


22201 Comments


You have the option in your profile, top left menu!

Colton
October 23rd 2020


5224 Comments


nice review, been meaning to check this

Faraudo
October 23rd 2020


3855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"You have the option in your profile, top left menu!"



Got it! I wrote this while being extremely drunk lmao, so I gotta give it a full sweep.



"nice review, been meaning to check this"



Thank ye dude, I just discovered it a couple of days ago and I'm fucking glad I did.









SlothcoreSam
October 23rd 2020


2749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad this got a review, been spruking this one for months.

Digging: STIFF RICHARDS - State Of Mind

Faraudo
October 24th 2020


3855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, the fact that almost everyone around here slept on it seemed kinda odd for me

SlothcoreSam
October 24th 2020


2749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The band has a great story, but I wonder how they would perform a live show?



I'm going to make a point of catching them as soon as Covid lifts. Vancouver is the closest city to where I live.

schoonda
October 25th 2020


1775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Glad to see this reviewed! Hopefully sput stops sleeping on these guys

Faraudo
October 25th 2020


3855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"The band has a great story, but I wonder how they would perform a live show?







I'm going to make a point of catching them as soon as Covid lifts. Vancouver is the closest city to where I live."



It should be rather interesting! Lots of different artists lending their various talents. I wanna know how that goes out.



Faraudo
October 25th 2020


3855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Glad to see this reviewed! Hopefully sput stops sleeping on these guys"



Yeah, I felt that this needed at least a bit of attention around these parts.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy