Deftones
Ohms


4.5
superb

Review

by parkercr00k USER (2 Reviews)
October 21st, 2020 | 20 replies


Release Date: 09/25/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Deftones paint a beautifully abrasive canvas of sound that fits perfectly into their consistent catalogue.

Most Deftones fans will give a similar explanation for their fondness of the group: their seamless blend of serenity, eeriness and full-fledged chaos in their music. At least, that's the reason I love this band so much. Over thirty years and nine albums into their career, Deftones’ catalogue has remained ever so consistent, expanding on their own trademark sound in plenty of fresh, creative ways. Earlier works such as Adrenaline and (my personal favorite album of theirs) Around The Fur give the listener a little more bite, while albums like Saturday Night Wrist and the more recent Gore focus on creating dense yet gorgeous atmosphere. Either way, Deftones have proved they know how to do their sound, and do it well. So how does this year’s Ohms compare to other albums?

I believe it’s one of their best yet.

Every song on Ohms has its own personality, the album never feels repetitive and not a single song feels drawn out. Songs like Genesis and the The Link is Dead boast some of Chino’s most visceral screams and put all the accusations that Deftones had “gone soft” after Gore to the grave. Furthermore, The Spell of Mathematics has one of the densest, most hypnotizing atmospheres the band has ever created. Chino’s lyrics on this track apply to me personally as the listener. His vocals do indeed feel like they are placing a spell on me. Radiant City is another favorite of mine on the album, with a super fun riff and a catchy, yet haunting chorus. Speaking of haunting, this album is very haunting, and even abrasive at times, which adds to its appeal for me. Now let’s talk about the song Urantia. Holy ***. This might be one of Deftones’ best songs. Period. The way the atmosphere blends with the heaviness on this track sends chills down my spine every time I listen to it. If you’re looking for a song to give the album a preview, this one is perfect.

Ohms kind of sounds like a mix between Diamond Eyes, Around the Fur, and White Pony, which should tell you a lot considering White Pony and Diamond Eyes are considered to be high points in the band’s catalogue. The album, however, is not perfect. Some songs don’t have that wow factor that the rest of the tracklist gives me. For example, Pompeji and The Link is Dead I could honestly take or leave (not that they’re bad, they just pale in comparison to Ura- I mean the rest of the album). But overall, this may be a top three Deftones album and if not, definitely a top five album. Bringing Terry Date back to produce this album also did wonders for it’s sound. It’s dense, abrasive, haunting, and a Deftones album done damn well. I can’t wait to hear what’s next. If you like Deftones, you’ll love this album. If you like metal in general but have never checked this band out, start at White Pony, but definitely come back to give Ohms a spin.

9/10

Highlights:
Urantia
Radiant City
The Spell of Mathematics
Genesis


user ratings (1018)
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
SowingSeason STAFF (5)
The best Deftones album yet...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
October 21st 2020


30795 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Great review, also loved the "Ura-the rest of the album" line. Album is awesome indeed m/

bloodshy
October 21st 2020


2618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ohma give you a pos.



This is really good, especially for your second review.

Digging: The Wytches - Three Mile Ditch

BlitzPhoenix98
October 21st 2020


91 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Much better than the previous review. Yes from me.

BlitzPhoenix98
October 21st 2020


91 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I wouldn't pick The Spell of Mathematics as one of the album's highlights as that is the weakest one for me. Should've switched it with Error.

LeddSledd
October 21st 2020


1922 Comments


Almost as good as Jeff's review.

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 21st 2020


36209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Review is pretty good if a bit too conversational/casual. I definitely mirror your enthusiasm for this release as well, but calling out Pompeji and TLID as two of the weakest songs here baffled me.

Digging: Seahaven - Halo of Hurt

Flashmobba
October 21st 2020


1541 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

agreed that it's a bit conversational, though the rating is justified well. this has got to be at least a 4.2, let's bump that average boys

Colton
October 21st 2020


5163 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like the conversational approach to reviewing personally. But I do think your writing would be a bit more powerful without the references to yourself when describing the songs. Like instead of saying "The way the atmosphere blends with the heaviness on this track sends chills down my spine" maybe say "The way the atmosphere blends with the heaviness on this track is nothing short of chilling" or something like that.



good review though pos'd

twlichty
October 21st 2020


4496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, just don't quite understand the praise for this album

Flashmobba
October 21st 2020


1541 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This Link Is Dead is honestly one of the best songs they've made in a while, a lot more convincing than most of their angry bangers

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2020


20564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

surprised this is only the third review for this album, sput is slacking with their hype ig

normaloctagon
October 22nd 2020


1695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"So how does this year’s Ohms compare to other albums?





.......







..........











I believe it’s one of their best yet."



sorry but the line break made me looooool. I definitely prefer last year's Ohms to this year's Ohms......... I'll give you a pos 'cause you seem sweet. keep writing bud!

Digging: Ulcerate - Of Fracture and Failure

Morningrise767
October 22nd 2020


2843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You consider Urantia a highlight?



Posd!

StormChaser
October 23rd 2020


678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rev is cool, funny though that my favorites are Pompeji and This Link is Dead (along with Ohms), and they're the lowlights to you. Guess that shows how good the record is tho

Digging: Dark Tranquillity - Moment

FadedSun
October 23rd 2020


2371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pompeji and Link Is Dead were also the album highlights for me.

bloodshy
October 24th 2020


2618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wait until you listen to the album 587 times before you make rash, dangerous assertions like saying which songs are strongest.



Irresponsible.

bananatossing
October 24th 2020


1557 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really liked this review. I'm having a hard time deciding if this is a 3.5 or a 4 for me (3.7 is where I am at rn). One of my least favorite Deftones after binging their discog for the 100th time.

bloodshy
October 24th 2020


2618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

100 times is pretty good

bananatossing
October 24th 2020


1557 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll catch up to 588 times pretty soon :D

SurfacinGG
October 26th 2020


46 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Oh my...anyway, nice review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy