Night Flowers
Wild Notion


4.5
superb

Review

by America's Favorite Hemophobe! ♦ USER (5 Reviews)
October 13th, 2020 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Through futility and fragility there is hope.

True strength isn't shown through an optimistic outlook on life. Strength can shine brightly by means of perseverance through bleak and difficult moments in life. Examining the transience and the heartache of failing relationships, Wild Notion takes a hard look at the moments that replay in our memories, good and bad, and places value in every moment.

“Sandcastles,” begins the dream-pop journey, painting an analogy of time going to waste: “Sandcastles built on nothing.” It opens the album with a persistent, but low mood. The soft guitar and light vocals might seem straight out of a sad song from a sad album, but the continued strumming of guitar through the break in drums shows conviction. “...the way we feel couldn't be wrong.” It brings meaning to the moments that disappear.

Some moments in life pass by faster than we are ready to admit. In “Losing The Light,” there's an effort to hold on to a relationship. “I'll take heartache, losing the fight.” But moments can only be relived in our heads for so long before introspection must take place. “Darling, I see you falling, and I do nothing...”

“Head On,” takes a break from the fearless rhythm of the first half of the album and seeks resolution in a cathartic, safe place. Its slow pace shows a comforting patience like a gentle hand reaching out. “Talk to me head on.” It plays through the dreadful sweating palms before a breakup. I know what you're going to say. “Words heavy as concrete, poured into the street.” It's okay to feel this way. It's okay to cry.

Night Flowers have been amassing a musical fortitude since their self-titled debut five years prior. Wild Notion takes these strengths and incorporates the concept of courage into a single focused package. The chilling 'gazey aspects of the guitar and vocals contrast with consistently confident melodies. It's an advancement in their sound reflecting the maturity in their psychologically progressive lyrics. “Insecurity comes naturally, and your misery loves company.”

While the climactic feel of, “Head On,” may not be the highlight on the album for some listeners, it's only because the album has solid tracks from start to end. The album's most upbeat song, “Night Alive,” shows us a taste of male vocals, which is a great choice, as it really amplifies the happier tone. Wild Notion displays its versatility of mood in full force, though. Album closer, “Cruel Wind,” is arguably the strongest single, despite being expansive and droning in nature. It showcases the band's heavier post-rock side in a dark culmination of events, a sharp sting of overheard words, possibly reflective of a final betrayal. It closes the album in a feeling of uncertainty.

Wild Notion's gift to us is its unadulterated display of its heart on its shoulder. It's enough to paint an unabridged tale of relationships and strength. It's enough to reveal its depth of emotion in the midst of breaking apart. It's something more, to expose the hope hidden within its heartache. “...even at its very worst, it makes me feel alive.”


Trve Score: 4.6
Genre: Dream Pop/Indie Pop
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/0ONcUFV3GUUQ2Rrqvh9hW9
Bandcamp: https://nightflowers.bandcamp.com/album/wild-notion
Youtube: "Cruel Wind" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoaQ3QmATq0


user ratings (34)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
bloodshy
October 13th 2020


2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wrote this review for budgie because he won the Continental Recfest tournament.



https://www.sputnikmusic.com/list.php?memberid=1061760&listid=193581

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2020


22828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh dude, well played! I've been buzzing around this album to review it for years and never got to do it. So happy it got a review, and a great one btw!



The cruuuuel wind, the cruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuel wiiiiiiiiiind.

Digging: Pom Poko - Cheater

bloodshy
October 13th 2020


2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks dewi

Trifolium
October 13th 2020


20915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lovely review yes! I wasn't floored by this one, but it's still very enjoyable.

It's been a while since I last heard it though.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2020


2168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yeah :] love this album to death, great review bloodshy!

one potential edit, this sentence feels a bit awkward to me: 'Wild Notion's gift to us its unadulterated display of its heart on its shoulder.' - perhaps 'Wild Notion gifts to us its..' or 'Wild Notion's gift to us is its...'

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

budgie
October 13th 2020


22983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

whoa!!!!

budgie
October 13th 2020


22983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow this is the first time an album review actually changed how i understand an album, i never read into the relationship & psychological commentary here, thanks for this, let's email the band and have them read this, i expect they will be very stoked

bloodshy
October 13th 2020


2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks guys!



@jesper, good eye, fixed



@budgie, honestly i read into the lyrics too far in this album, and made up a story that probably doesn't exist, so I'm not sure I would want the band to read my review and be like, "that's not what it's about! " i would be so embarrassed

budgie
October 13th 2020


22983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

haha, honestly you're interpretation doesn't seem so wild considering. the lyrical theme is pretty heavy & i'm sure it came from a real place



anyway i would be really surprised if sophia from night flowers read this and didn't adore it.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2020


22828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am pretty sure they'll love it dude, sent them the link on fb

Bedex
October 13th 2020


2518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I wasn't floored by this one [2] nice to see it have a review though





but second listen is due tbf

SteakByrnes
October 13th 2020


22025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review man, I jammed the first few tracks and they ruled so I've been meaning to get around to the rest of it

kalkwiese
October 13th 2020


6505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey looooooveee

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2020


26161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

awesome to see a review for this

Digging: MF DOOM - MM.. Food

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2020


2168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

final three track stretch here is absolute perfection, that (semi) climax of fireworks into cruel wind makes me feel so warm n nice :]

kalkwiese
October 13th 2020


6505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I feel the urge to jam this again

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2020


22828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cruel Wind was my morning jam for almost a year

kalkwiese
October 13th 2020


6505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Time to check their other album. Gonna do it now

bloodshy
October 13th 2020


2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I gotta listen to this album now. See if I guessed it all right.

budgie
October 14th 2020


22983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

iiilll take

heeeartache

loooosing the light



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy