Isengard
Vårjevndøgn


3.5
great

Review

by Grumpy USER (27 Reviews)
October 10th, 2020 | 19 replies


Release Date: 10/02/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Death rock, heavy metal, punk and even indie folk? Fenriz, the patron saint of the old-school dusted some of his old material.

Fenriz's output needs no introduction. However, some of his other material is greatly overlooked or totally forgotten. And the latter was the very case about most of the songs presented in Vårjevndøgn, because admittedly even Fenriz forgot about these recordings for a very long time.

Vårjevndøgn is a really mixed bag in terms of musical genres or influences, but I think it is completely acceptable for these kind of compilation albums. Basically (with the help of Peaceville Records), Fenriz put together some of his old and (mostly) never heard material, as his tribute to the sound of the underground in the '70s and the '80s. The style of Black Sabbath, Pentagram, Saint Vitus, Black Flag etc. waves at us during the album: the riffs, the vocals, the tempo... everything is all about the old-school-worship, even though it is not entirely successful in some cases. It is very clear Fenriz wrote and recorded all of these only by himself: most of the songs feel rather unpolished and very primitive (even by Darkthrone's standard, for example), and I think quality-wise the album is not entirely consitent. And let's be honest... he is not King Diamond, those high pitched vocals sometimes kinda hurt, man.

You may ask, but how is it still a 3.5 though? Because when it's good, then it is really good. For example, the main riffs in Floating with the Ancient Tide, The Fright, Slash at the Sun are simply brilliant (even though most of them feel a bit similar to some more famous riffs), and may be stuck in the listener's head for days - which I can say from personal experience. The catchiness, dynamism and sweet old-school production are really captivating. Also, I'd say albums like these bear a certain historical touch which makes them a little bit more special than otherwise - it might go against objectivity, but I can't help myself, I'm very passionate about these materials, because the opportunity to look back into the past through the view of an artist is always special.

As far I've noticed, the album got a very mixed receptions, and many people share the opinion this material shouldn't have been released at all. Personally, I do believe the opposite: it is a very interesting (and fun) listen, proving how many-faced the black metal legend is.



Recent reviews by this author
System of a Down Protect The Land/Genocidal HumanoidzStriges Verum Veterum
Cult of Frey By The Blood of Odin: Part 1 - MidgardBall Like You Are…I Once Was…Like I Am – You Will...
Nargaroth HerbstleydHavukruunu Uinuos Syömein Sota
user ratings (21)
2.9
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
October 10th 2020


5229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Full album on Peaceville's Bandcamp page: https://peaceville.bandcamp.com/album/v-rjevnd-gn

Digging: Deafheaven - 10 Years Gone

Alastor
October 10th 2020


2147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album makes me incredibly happy



"And let's be honest... he is not King Diamond, those high pitched vocals sometimes kinda hurt, man."



For me it's like Quorthon on the viking Bathory albums. It's full of character and I wouldn't want to change a single note.

budgie
October 10th 2020


22606 Comments


m//////////////////////

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2020


22207 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review garas.



This is all over the place. There are some jams and also some atrocious ideas lol

Pikazilla
October 11th 2020


13293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That artwork lol

sixdegrees
October 11th 2020


10381 Comments


hiking metal punk aesthetic

budgie
October 11th 2020


22606 Comments


one of the best album covers ive ever seen

garas
October 11th 2020


5229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

> It's full of character and I wouldn't want to change a single note.

> There are some jams and also some atrocious ideas lol

It's amazing that both of you are completely right, haha!



"one of the best album covers ive ever seen"

[2] Definitely one of the nicest ones from this year. Especially the colors are so great!

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2020


22207 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The pic is like 30 years ago?

DDDeftoneDDD
October 11th 2020


14470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I believe so ahahah

I love the fusion of Sabbath wih Pentagram on this.

Digging: Andavald - Undir Skyggarhaldi

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2020


5795 Comments


cool rev garasbro!

and yes, glorious cover

Digging: Big Black - Atomizer

DDDeftoneDDD
October 11th 2020


14470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don t share that view on the cover art at aaaall though

Alastor
October 11th 2020


2147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"many people share the opinion this material shouldn't have been released at all."



Whoever they are, they should try to listen harder. I can't imagine a fan of the early Isengard stuff disliking this...because it IS in fact early Isengard.

Pikazilla
October 11th 2020


13293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was fun as fuck, good times

Alastor
October 11th 2020


2147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bloody good times indeed. Cheers Pika!



Dragon Fly is such a jam.

Pho3nix
October 13th 2020


975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fenriz < 3

Alastor
October 17th 2020


2147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aoty

rockandmetaljunkie
October 17th 2020


9397 Comments


Α NEW POWER IS RISING

ITS VICTORY IS AT HAND

Trifolium
November 2nd 2020


19984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just coming round to check this now. Nice review garas, a POS came your way!



It indeed is a mixed bag, maannnnnnn! Some nice riffs and stuff though, as can be expected!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy