Malfet
Alban Arthan


4.0
excellent

Review

by Asleep: [on the forest floor] STAFF
October 7th, 2020 | 37 replies


Release Date: 10/02/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I'm going on an adventure!

I don't want to be where I am anymore ... I want to live in Alban Arthan instead. This yearning for escape is, I'll readily admit, in no small part due to the fact that real life is just a lil' bit shitty at the mo. More importantly, however, it is also indicative of the fact that Alban Arthan - the engrossing 3rd LP by dungeon synth's brightest torchbearer, Malfet - is really, really damn good.

On the way to Avalon and down the snaking path, we arrive at the secluded realm in which the sword swinging, spellslinger's latest adventure takes place. Theirs is a land of plenty: of enthusiastically plucked harps, swirling flute melodies and booming organ keys; vibrant as a forest canopy, secluded as a highland tarn and joyful as a village fête. The overgrown, anachronistic aesthetic of this locale is as charming as ever, each track brimming with the same chivalrous character and infectious optimism that made Malfet’s previous outings some of the most captivating releases in recent memory. Rustic field samples and organic, breathable production elevate the experience, substituting the synthetic tendencies that the genre is, at times, marred with for a gleefully transportative quality. It genuinely makes you feel like you’ve gone somewhere other, or, at the very least, makes you wish that you could.

Whilst the colours that Malfet paint with are the same as ever - generous smears of royal purple and ancient green, flecked with sepia and gold - the anonymous visionary behind the project’s sound (the wielder of the paintbrush, so to speak) alters their chosen palette ever so slightly with Alban Arthan, working bolder, brighter hues into the mix. The tales told here have a new sense of scale, bristling with whimsy and an almost post-rockian lack of restraint; some exuding calm bliss (Sage and Cedar Adorn His Antlered Crown Aflame), others reaching for breathtaking euphoria (Lost in Shadow, We Sought Your Radiance). Primal choral arrangements and a driving rhythm section come together to create a refreshing sense of urgency, one that was rarely present on The Snaking Path or The Way to Avalon, with our gallant hero marching towards their fair maiden and/or iron throne and/or mountainous jewelry depository with a newfound spring in his step. It’s all too easy to get caught up in the spectacle of it all, as evidenced by my apparent gushing, and I think that’s a good thing. The escapism and relief to be found in art and music has been regularly extolled - particularly now, with good reason - and Alban Arthan may just be the most joyous escape that 2020 has to offer. And so, weary traveler, I implore you to come forth and make haste: don your favourite helm, brandish the nearest hunk of steel you can find and come join the fellowship of Malfet. We’re counting on you.



Recent reviews by this author
King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard L. W.Fire! Defeat
God Is an Astronaut Ghost Tapes #10Cara Neir Phase Out
Psychedelic Porn Crumpets Shyga! The Sunlight MoundKing Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard K.G.
user ratings (28)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2020


7003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really gud tunes right here: https://pacificthrenodies.bandcamp.com/album/alban-arthan



the whole discog is pure gold, but this may well be the best outing to date

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2020


7020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

dungeon synth? nice man

Digging: Mudhoney - Superfuzz Bigmuff

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2020


26249 Comments


whoah!

will absolutely check this out. glad to see you more active with your writing

Digging: The Hold Steady - Open Door Policy

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2020


7003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks boyos. can't really go wrong with this one, its just a chill time.

Storm In A Teacup
October 8th 2020


31048 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album cover and summary are yelling Sheogorath oblivion dlc at me violently and inappropriately. Ben if you don't have any cheese for me I expect an apology.

Storm In A Teacup
October 8th 2020


31048 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Malfet is a one-man dungeon synth project of unknown origin."



Lol omg yes

Storm In A Teacup
October 8th 2020


31048 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

AND you just rated an elder scrolls soundtrack recently wtf is going on

kevbogz
October 8th 2020


2860 Comments


the 3.5 for the Skyrim OST hurts a lil, but a 3.5 is still great so it's ok

Digging: Greet Death - New Hell

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2020


7003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You dare to question my honour?! I will smite you where you stand...



Also yeah the skyrim soundtrack is excellent, but gets a little tiresome after spending embarrassingly long amounts of time playing that game. 3.5 may have been harsh

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2020


7003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also yaaas storm, check it. The signs are all there. You know what you must do.

Storm In A Teacup
October 8th 2020


31048 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

🤩🥳🥳 on it like a daedra in a priory

kevbogz
October 8th 2020


2860 Comments


there's definitely something for everybody in Malfet's discog. for a good long while I'd play Snaking Path and Avalon on repeat during DnD campaigns

Pho3nix
October 8th 2020


1042 Comments


Sput needs to be injected with some more dungeon synth for sure. I'll be checking out their debut first though.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2020


20866 Comments


Excited to peep this, his last was just lovely (:

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2020


13555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album’s a yep

Digging: Stargazer (AUS) - Psychic Secretions

garas
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2020


5694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Alright, finally I jumped on this.



Best Malfet so far. *garas's seal of approval*

Digging: Frankie and the Witch Fingers - Monsters Eating People Eating Monsters

garas
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2020


5694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

'Regina Quondam, Reginaque Futurus' is sooooooooo much like an Enya song.

I can't be the only one...!

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2020


7003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not getting enya vibes myself, but i'm not particularly well versed in all things enya

also kev I was wrong; jamming the skyrim soundtrack rn and it's better than i remembered

Storm In A Teacup
October 8th 2020


31048 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My streaming service doesn’t have it and I went straight to the source and the album is being sold for $1,000 fucking dollars on their labels bandcamp. So I uh....I am not payin that lol.

garas
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2020


5694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Duh... https://malfet.bandcamp.com/album/alban-arthan



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy