Eartheater
Phoenix: Flames Are Dew Upon My Skin


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (98 Reviews)
October 4th, 2020 | 129 replies


Release Date: 10/02/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A folk beating heart protected by unquenchable fires.

Phoenix: Flames Are Dew Upon My Skin is a sensual overload. It’s an exuberant collection of glitched pop tunes sprayed with a myriad of arrangements and production sensibilities to mask what really is Alexandra Drewchin’s fifth long play: her most vulnerable record up to date.

Eartheater is not a singer songwriter in the classical sense of the tag. Her brand of folk is too daring, too strange, to fit into the mold of the genre. The track that opens her latest release, “Airborne Ashes” may deceive you into thinking Drewchin has finally lay down her guard and opened up to let you into the deepest corners of her labyrinthic art with an easy to follow tune, rich in melody and stark in experimentation. What follows next though, is not for the fainted heart, and the chorus of “Below the Clavicle” will be the first baptism of fire for many.

Drewchin excels in crafting textures whose aural touch might feel too rough for those unfamiliar with artists like Pharmakon or Gazelle Twin, but that are way gentler than the sonic hell the aforementioned sound alchemists put you through. Eartheater may look and sound harsher than what really is, which is no surprise when looking at a succubus absorbing sparks through her rectum, but in its core, Phoenix... is a record of sensible acoustics, protected by playful demons of noise and seemingly unsurmountable interludes.

“How to Fight” and “Volcano” are two good representations of what lies at the core of Eartheater. One led by a simple guitar strumming and beautiful vocal harmonies and the other reflecting Vespertine-era Björk with reverberated harp staccatos and spacious piano notes elevating Drewchin’s potent singing in the forefront. “Fantasy Collision” is another hidden gem, hypnotic and slightly reminiscent of the heartfelt but unbroken singing of Jenny Hval.

The last section of Phoenix... is not short of surprises. The corrupted choral of “Mercurial Nerve” leads into an ear cleansing interlude before another lo-fi arpeggiated little track called “Bringing Me Back” takes the listener through some sort of 60s psychedelic folk dream that culminates with two more cuts of the same blood in full splendor, signing off Eartheater’s latest work with an abundant last load of harmonies and allegorical chants.

With Phoenix: Flames Are Dew Upon My Skin, Alexandra Drewchin strikes a perfect balance between the queer pop of her early works and the rich songwriting she’s been cultivating through the years, and it all flows graciously into her latest work as lava melting an iceberg. If an album could express her polychromatic art with elegance and precision, it would undoubtedly be this one.



Recent reviews by this author
Ancient Mastery Chapter One...Frozen Soul Crypt Of Ice
Mechina SiegeEmma Ruth Rundle and Thou May Our Chambers Be Full
Enslaved UtgardCrippled Black Phoenix Ellengaest
user ratings (42)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2020


22850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Had to review it since she name dropped me.



Sparks live: youtube.com/watch?v=25BUOtJnmfA&ab_channel=PAN



Beautiful album.

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

'glitched pop tunes'

hah, was not expecting that based on the album cover/project title! great review, checking this rn

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2020


22850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is like that first time I went into Destroyer expecting thrash metal, Jesp.

Storm In A Teacup
October 4th 2020


30868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yay

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 4th 2020


36501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review. Not sure what's happening on that cover and I definitely didn't expect this to be a folk album.

Digging: Slaughter Beach, Dog - At The Moonbase

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2020


22850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Check the video I linked Sow, her stuff is visually striking, reminds me of Arca in that sense, but her music has a folk core which she adorns with electronics, glitches, reverb, etc, really good shit.



Edit: and tx for featuring!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2020


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this was dope! kind of like a nightmarish version of that jfdr record from earlier this year

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2020


22850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep that's a good comparison, glad you enjoyed it man

DDDeftoneDDD
October 4th 2020


15288 Comments


Cover of the year competing with Anaal's

Digging: Fractal Generator - Macrocosmos

DDDeftoneDDD
October 4th 2020


15288 Comments


Somebody is welding that pussy back together

MaryBabko
October 4th 2020


666 Comments


Nice review man, will check this

bloodshy
October 4th 2020


2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So glad this is getting some attention, first preview was really good.



Nice review, I clicked an imaginary "yes," for you.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2020


22850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Cover of the year" You know nothing, DD, watch the video and see those sparks in full display.



And thanks Mary! Seeing the stuff you reviewed recently I am not sure it's gonna be your cup of tea, but I do hope you enjoy it!

Gyromania
October 4th 2020


31361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Worst album art of the year so far

Digging: Biosphere - Dropsonde [Reissue]

DDDeftoneDDD
October 4th 2020


15288 Comments


Worst than Anaal's?

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2020


22850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album art is not bad, but it's extremely misleading lol

Gyromania
October 4th 2020


31361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wtf even is it? sparks shooting out of her pussy? and she has demon wings? retarded

Ryus
October 4th 2020


22110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wow surprised this has a review



didnt love this as much as her last one but this is rly good too

Digging: Hyroglifics and Sinistarr - BS6

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2020


22850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"wtf even is it? sparks shooting out of her pussy? and she has demon wings? retarded"



My interpretation is that she aims to represent an outer shell in the shape of a succubus that protects her from outer woes (the sparks) because inside that shell she is extremely vulnerable.



The sparks are actually shot aiming her sacred parts, as you can see in the video. Obviously, the art is also meant to be provocative, which in your case Gyro, she might have achieved the desired reaction.

Gyromania
October 4th 2020


31361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i guess if she wanted people to think this looks dumb af then she succeeded yeah lmao



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy