Svalbard
When I Die, Will I Get Better?


4.5
superb

Review

by m/ Ian m/ USER (112 Reviews)
September 27th, 2020 | 55 replies


Release Date: 09/25/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A vital album in 2020 that can compete for album of the year.

When I Die Will I Get Better opens up as if it's at the soaring heights of some magnum opus that sounds like a weird mix of old Hopesfall, 2016 Astronoid, and newer Rolo Tomassi. First song Open Wound gushes sound all over the place and contains a pressure of atmosphere that bursts in pockets of ambitious as well as genre bending fast paced music. Will I Get Better feels very influenced, but also committed to be better than whomever it is Svalbard looks up to. Vocally the album is working with a ton of depth and styles. The album contains soaring 'ahhhs' before mid-pitched screams come in, leading to other vocal styles that add to a perfectly textured post-hardcore/shoegaze/alt-metal/hardcore amalgam. The greatest part of the vocals here is how matured they sound. There is no whininess to this despite all of the heartfelt emotion pouring out of lyrics that are serious and well written.

"I will not cower, I want for no shield, I am open like a wound to replace the fragments of myself with you, I will bear the scars of the fool… are you done playing rough? This hurts too much to be love" -Open Wound

People that adore how Rolo Tomassi engulf a song with their sounds might come to find Svalbard can rival them and people who loved the shrieking screams of early No Wings To Speak Of Hopesfall are treated here as well. In a way it could be argued this album is trying to unite everyone who loves all the cult classic subgenres of hardcore and metal in one playthrough and it doesn't struggle with the responsibility. The guitar work is entrancing much like an Astronoid album, but could also have been inspired by Hum in slower parts. To treat this album with kid gloves would be wrong as it is possibly an album of the year contender despite the small amount of fanfare it seems to be getting upon release. If enough people hear this it is guaranteed to be a huge success for Svalbard, but unmistakably is creatively successful in leaps and bounds. When I Die Will I Get Better simply needs to find people to give it a chance because the character is strong and what the album has to say is even stronger.



Recent reviews by this author
Madina Lake The Beginning of New EndingsBig Sean Detroit 2
Tyson Motsenbocker Someday I’ll Make it All Up to YouHopesfall The Frailty of Words
Earth Crisis SlitherHopesfall A Types
user ratings (242)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
checked zapruder CONTRIBUTOR (4.5)
Aiming straight for the top and sticking the landing....



Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
September 27th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Like I said for fans of hopesfall, astronoid, rolo tomassi and the bands like them!

Calc
September 27th 2020


16776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I second this motion. album rips

Storm In A Teacup
September 27th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can see it settling at a 4 or growing close to a 5 but it's gonna take a month at least to know. The No Wings To Speak of moments on here might be my favorite.

Scoot
September 27th 2020


20775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

these guys have heard arbiter before eh

Storm In A Teacup
September 27th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nah scoot more like No Wings To Speak Of Hopesfall.

JayEnder
September 27th 2020


11326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This fucking rules so far.

Digging: Vildhjarta - Msstaden Under Vatten

Ashtiel
September 27th 2020


1267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that "FUCK OFF" on "Click Bait" brings the chills like you wouldn't believe

Muppelope
September 27th 2020


1952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First three tracks and Silent Restraint are absolutely insane. Rest is still good.

Storm In A Teacup
September 27th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nice jay!



and yes ashtiel that was a top ten moment of the album for me!!

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2020


25962 Comments


Hope was pretty good, will get on to this one! Sounds like a jam

Digging: Kaelan Mikla - Undir Kldum Norurljsum

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2020


3440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this was great, definitely digging it more than what i remember from the last one

Digging: A Ritual Sea - A Ritual Sea

Madbutcher3
September 27th 2020


2916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't think this is as good as their debut but it's a little better than the last album and Open Wound is probably their best song

AxeToFall93
September 27th 2020


305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Looking forward to spin this later, what an incredible release week.

outliers
September 27th 2020


2850 Comments


first time hearing these guys. digging this hard instrumentally. the vocals...idk. maybe they'll grow on me

BenThatsMyJamin
September 27th 2020


3871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sounds like a weird mix of old Hopesfall, 2016 Astronoid-



2016 Astronoid





I'm listening...

MillionDead
September 27th 2020


3861 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The happy synths are throwing this off for me, hard. Listened to 10 mins of it and it wasn't my thing.

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2020


8518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This may very well end up being my aoty. Out of this world!



And err.. please italicize the album titles instead boldening them on the article. Aside from that, good review. Got me hyped

YellowVoid
September 27th 2020


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to see this album get a review. It kicks ass!

Pikazilla
September 27th 2020


19122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dang this is bootiful

FadedSun
September 27th 2020


2785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, this first track is hitting hard. I'll see how the rest carries up - settled in for the full ride. Vocals remind me a lot of Birds in Row. I do like Hopesfall, but I'm not seeing the connection very much. It's not the same type of clean sections and atmosphere. There's more blast beat type of metal happening here that Hopesfall doesn't really do either. Wouldn't compare the bands based on what I've heard from half the album so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy