Anna von Hausswolff
All Thoughts Fly


4.5
superb

Review

by ziggy starmust USER (9 Reviews)
September 25th, 2020 | 110 replies


Release Date: 09/25/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Anna lets her Drone-self grow full scale

After the highly acclaimed “Dead Magic” in 2018 and the consequent tour (even collaborated in Swans’ leaving meaning, in 2019), Anna von Hausswolff has established herself as one of most talented and innovative young musicians today, with her brilliance to beautifully switch between experimental rock to neoclassical ambient and her powerful vocals capable of high pitched notes, that seem to mature recently.

Now, drone has always been present in her album, maybe except for her debut. As the organ gains more space each album, “All Thoughts Fly” is a culmination of the instrumental drone organ sounds found in her two Källan EP’s, “Prototype” in 2014 and “Betatype” in 2016. Although it is a pity that Anna does not use her majestic voice, her keyboards skills never let down. Almost like a film soundtrack, the ambient and drone sounds dominate and make us fall into its immensity. Track after track, various feelings and moods are awaken in a sonorous way. The very successful orchestration full advantage of the organ and elevates its surreal qualities.

As the album starts, it seems that Anna is slowly falling asleep and gradually descends deeper into the rabbit hole. Her instrumental work is dominated by a melancholic atmosphere, that very slow chords create a pulse or a landscape. There are some experimental interventions here and there, but the focus is the different organ layers that slowly spread, some fast-melodic lines and the constant drone that never stops. The surreal qualities are always present as Anna uses the organ to travel in an infinite landscape. The record closes with an elegy, which slowly sadness seeps into the minimalist chord sequence.

All in all, "All Thoughts Fly" is exactly as the title indicates, music to be listened with an open mind and just enter its immersive atmosphere. To date, it is her best instrumental drone output. Although there are no vocals here, Anna’s amazing organ skills shine and create different landscapes. A completely different LP in her discography, but no way it’s disappointing. In fact, it’s a natural conclusion as her organ work grows each album.



Recent reviews by this author
Os Mutantes A Divina Comédia ou Ando Meio DesligadoVarious Artists (Tropicalia) Tropicália ou Panis et Circencis
Novos Baianos Acabou ChorareChick Corea Now He Sings, Now He Sobs
Curtis Mayfield SuperflyEnnio Morricone The Thing
user ratings (79)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Zig
September 25th 2020


2264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Quite short review, I know. But, hey, this is a fantastic album and I had to write something.

Digging: Alexander Zemlinsky - String Quartet No. 1, Op. 4

Dettlaff
September 25th 2020


432 Comments


Last album was a masterwork in boredom. Hoping this is better.

DDDeftoneDDD
September 25th 2020


14048 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh we got a rev. lets see how this sits this time

Digging: Pist.on - Number One

TundraL5Z
September 25th 2020


5226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thanks for the review, this album may have passed me by otherwise

Digging: Bring Me the Horizon - Post Human: Survival Horror

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2020


21990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great rev Zig! Glad you wrote this one up!

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - May Our Chambers Be Full

TundraL5Z
September 25th 2020


5226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

unfortunately this isn't quite what I was expecting, really needs drums to spice it up a bit, pos on review

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2020


5434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

commenting to remind me to read when I'll jam the album

Digging: Oneohtrix Point Never - Magic Oneohtrix Point Never

JS19
September 25th 2020


7671 Comments


I'm so excited to hear this one

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2020


5237 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice record

Digging: The Flower Kings - Islands

theBoneyKing
September 25th 2020


19606 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didn’t do too much for me on first spin but it’ll make solid background listening.

Trifolium
September 25th 2020


19295 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Interesting, will check this! Nice to see this reviewed.

Ryus
September 25th 2020


20863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

liked this a lot

Jasdevi087
September 25th 2020


6367 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice

Digging: The Pogues - Rum Sodomy & the Lash

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2020


1640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this was great, played in the background while i did some studying & was perfect for that

Digging: clipping. - There Existed an Addiction to Blood

porcupinetheater
September 25th 2020


4134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Super curious how this turned out, gotta respect coming out with something like this right after hitting the wider audience with Dead Magic

Deathconscious
September 25th 2020


25353 Comments


She needs to stop Haussling wolffs, its mean and dangerous.

theBoneyKing
September 25th 2020


19606 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really interesting how she’s gone from relatively straightforward singer/songwriter to this. Part of me feels like this isn’t meant as a proper follow-up to Dead Magic but that’s probably just a personal bias against ambient/drone music.

Zig
September 25th 2020


2264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the feature ;)

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2020


20479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Last album was a masterwork in boredom. Hoping this is better."

lmao good luck buddy

oltnabrick
September 26th 2020


39977 Comments


got to check this

Digging: Salem (US) - Fires in Heaven



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy