Void Rot
Descending Pillars


3.5
great

Review

by Fernando Alves CONTRIBUTOR (72 Reviews)
September 12th, 2020 | 36 replies


Release Date: 09/11/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The downward path

Formed in 2017, with an EP and split over their belt, Minnesota's death doomers Void Rot entered 2020 as an emerging force within the genre. Their sound signature is somewhat similar to Spectral Voice, operating through a simple, minimalist approach, more focused on creating immersive ambiences than shaping hysterically violent moments. And although this stylistic approach looks easy on paper, due to its almost absent technical component, only a handful of bands can perform it masterfully. Building on such a minimalist foundation requires less rationality and more emotional focus, a bit like listening to your heart instead of your head. Well, Void Rot meet these aesthetic requirements reasonably well, yet it remains to be seen whether their songwriting output matches their stylistic concept.

Musically, the band regularly uses sustained power chords, which are combined with high-gain cleans and tremolo picking. The opener 'Descending Pillars' immediately mirrors this formula, being a faithful introduction to the album's aesthetics. The simplicity present in the title track is transversal to all songs (including the introductory instrumental 'The Weight of a Thousand Suns'), thus placing the band in the aforementioned minimalist Spectral Voice-esque niche. As expected, the band uses mostly slow tempos, occasionally interrupted by faster transitions, which never explode into blast beats. Songs such as the opener, 'Delusions of Flesh', 'Liminal Forms' and 'Monolith' are the ultimate expression of an album that never truly leaves its comfort zone. It seems somewhat unfair to mention this homogeneity, when it comes to a death doom approach not exactly known for its diversity or stylistic adventures, however, I believe Void Rot's songwriting still has room to evolve and ensure greater unpredictability, especially in the riff department. Despite the absence of greater contrasts, Descending Pillars is still an accomplished work, as it effectively represents an antagonistic attitude towards a more technical approach to death metal. I also cannot fail to highlight the powerful deep gutturals and solid drumming which, despite being too high in the mix, plays an important role in the script, particularly the hit-hat dynamics that proliferate throughout the album.

Going back to first paragraph's open question, I would say that Void Rot is halfway there. If, on the one hand, the band has a consistent minimalist DNA, on the other, it has not yet reached the stage of maturation that allows them to aim for genre's pole positions. To achieve that, the Minnesota lads will need to improve their songwriting skills and acquire a personal, distinctive identity. That being said, Descending Pillars should not be ignored, since it solidly mirrors an attitude that should be cherished and preserved, as it represents one of Heavy Metal's primordial foundations: The downward path.



Recent reviews by this author
Heathen Empire of the BlindNapalm Death Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
Skeletal Remains The Entombment of ChaosCytotoxin Nuklearth
Incantation Sect of Vile DivinitiesKarmacipher Introspectrum
user ratings (27)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some brief thoughts on Void Rot's debut. Good stuff, even if I feel the band has room for improvement.

Spectral Voice's fan squad should check this out.



Full stream:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NGRLDafXPys

http://sentientruin.bandcamp.com/album/descending-pillars

Digging: Gorephilia - In The Eye Of Nothing

ShadowRemains
September 12th 2020


25793 Comments


hmm this looks solid, will czech

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice, then let me know your thoughts

slikphuk
September 12th 2020


503 Comments


cool review definitely need to check this

Digging: Skeletal Remains - The Entombment of Chaos

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2020


21288 Comments


I haven't read the rev yet brother but from 1 to 10 on the stalactite metric, how cavernous is this?

Digging: Iress - Flaw

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2020


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hahah I would say this cavern could have gone deeper, but it still has a bunch of galleries that should please the sput speleologists.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2020


21288 Comments


Say no more, I'll suit up and start the descend into the rot.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2020


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the feature guys, I appreciate it ;)

DDDeftoneDDD
September 14th 2020


13393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Void Rot...now there's a cool combination of two popular words in the scene XD

Digging: Demonic Death Judge - The Trail

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2020


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Take a peek when you're in a death doom mood

bloc
September 14th 2020


63092 Comments


Few tracks in so far, and I am digging this. I was expecting it to be atonal for the most part, but I really like how melodic it is.

Digging: Disclosure - Energy

DDDeftoneDDD
September 14th 2020


13393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

...so I'm actually going to have 2 "Void" named OSDM bands on the list of digs....

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2020


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well I'm listening to Theotoxin, a bit of a deja-vu since I recently reviewed Cytotoxin hahah



Cheers Bloc. What I retain most is its simplicity, which reminds me of Spectral Voice.

Great dig btw. Album rules

bloc
September 14th 2020


63092 Comments


When I saw you bump the article saying the new SR album was out I jumped on it first thing this morning. Man that band is so underrated.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2020


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed. I'm revisiting their discography. It's interesting to see how they went from a late 80's Morrisound-esque signature into a sound with greater personality. Technically, they're very good.

bloc
September 14th 2020


63092 Comments


I love the production too, sounds razor sharp and tight. You better review the new one!

DDDeftoneDDD
September 14th 2020


13393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

check Expander bloc

bloc
September 14th 2020


63092 Comments


Will do. The crossover thrash tag and the album art are quite a pair lol

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2020


14948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I might just do that



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy