Disclosure
Energy


3.5
great

Review

by Erwann S. CONTRIBUTOR (25 Reviews)
September 11th, 2020 | 70 replies


Release Date: 08/28/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: God I miss dancing

It's not just dancing that I miss, it's the whole decorum. The menacing bouncer, the sun rising when you finally leave the club, and even that dude drinking nothing but water and smiling as if everybody was his best friend. I miss the mindlessness and the will to just let go and have fun. And of all genres ensuring no one evacuates the dancefloor, house is a top dog. Repetitive grooves built upon 4/4 beats might be the most efficient template to provoke some sort of syncopated body movements only disturbed by the occasional beverage drinking - and/or substance ingestion. Even though these joyous activities simply cannot happen in these cloistered times, Disclosure still wants you to discharge all the energy surplus you accumulated.

Energy releases said pressure in the form of a party record that does not embarrass itself with anthemic choruses and famous features. No "Latch" to be found here nor huge drops leading to a catchy refrain. The repetition of house bangers is only broken by interludes disseminated throughout the record. This is where this latest album differentiates itself from its predecessors: no song here strives for absolute stardom. While the Lawrence brothers' previous albums were made for the stadiums, this one is designed for the clubs. It does mean that although pop elements aren't annihilated, this is first and foremost a dance album. With that in mind, Settle will more than likely remain the champion in the pop folks' hearts. But what they lose in immediacy, they gain in diversity.

Indeed, Energy is a statement of the brothers' will to step out of their comfort zone and show their numerous influences. The duo's most typical genres, house and UK garage, lay the foundations for other sonorities to spice up the recipe. Early highlight "My High" fuses samba and hip-hop bars - courtesy of Slowthai - into house to create a banger tune that will make people dance and shout the lines. Among many genres, hip-house – you got it, it’s hip-hop and house mixed together - make up a telling part of the LP, Channel Tres and Mick Jenkins dropping rhymes while Common makes a (discrete) appearance. The most notable chunk of the album, however, is dedicated to African-influenced music. Fatoumata Diawara sings in Bambara - a Malian language - to counterbalance the otherwise eurodance-centered "Douha (Mali Mali)". This African vibe, as well as the percussive nature of the record, also shines on "Ce n'est pas". Interestingly, this diasporic sound the two brothers were looking for echoes the one recently found in Keleketla. The run from "Douha (Mali Mali)" to "ENERGY" blasts African influences onto wobbling electronic basses, mirroring Keleketla’s own blend of traditional African music and swinging electronics.

Although versatile, the record nonetheless falls into the trap of unnecessarily repeating some motifs, "Ce n'est pas" collapsing into background territories past the third minute. Worse still, even though 200 songs had been written, concluding tracks "Birthday" and "Reverie" leave no mark on the listener. Despite transporting a daydream-like atmosphere, these final tunes have the misfortune of disintegrating the record into blehness. Another issue one might want to tackle is the lyrical content; yet a thorough lyrics analysis is not necessary here. This is a dance record, whose sole goal is to make you jump on your feet and shake that bum. Lyricists could explain the perfect paella recipe that it would still work if the music was good enough for you to have a good time. And that's what the lyrics do: convey uplifting and cheerful emotions.

While Keleketla was previously mentioned, another album that could be linked with Energy is The Black Eyed Peas' The E.N.D. Yes, The Black Eyed Peas. In 2009, a year after the financial crisis that drown the world into uncertainty, bandleader Will.I.Am acknowledged The E.N.D. was meant for people to feel happy and forget about their situation. The same can be said about Energy: it was voluntarily created to resonate with people in difficult times. It's almost cliché at this point to reference the current pandemic times we are now living in. Yet, Disclosure's latest offering was made for us to remember how important dancing is in our lives. Let's just hope we don't wait too long to energize the clubs to these tunes.



Recent reviews by this author
IDLES Ultra MonoDamso QALF
Gang Starr One Of The Best YetKeleketla! Keleketla!
Nuvolascura As We Suffer From Memory and ImaginationSwing Marabout
user ratings (33)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2020


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

heyo jam this if y'all wanna dance too m/



Stream: https://open.spotify.com/album/6wp1us3xBnYz5qldxrZXRf?si=X_phuaEoRzC4H_SL15vuUQ

Digging: The Ocean - Phanerozoic II: Mesozoic | Cenozoic

bloc
September 12th 2020


63092 Comments


Never been impressed with any of their albums

Digging: Disclosure - Energy

bigguytoo9
September 12th 2020


827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like quite a bit off this record except the Common feature at the end.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yes the Common feat is very underwhelming, quite a shame the record ends that way

Trifolium
September 12th 2020


18408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was so nice! Great to see it reviewed, and with such a nice one too 😍

Some amazing tunes, some slightly less interesting ones. But they've always had that issue I think.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Oi thanks Trif ! Yup, it’s a typical Disclosure record !

Trifolium
September 12th 2020


18408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The African collabs are definitely its strong point for me.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Totally agree, that's what sold me on the record too

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


11760 Comments


I'll dance with ya, dedex. Let's hit the floor

Digging: Svalbard - When I Die, Will I Get Better?

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yay ~~~

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


11760 Comments


There's a place I know that does 80's dance nights, used to love going there. Admittedly not much of a club-goer, partially due to not being a drinker.

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 12th 2020


35892 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I enjoyed Settle but could not get into this at all. The whole thing sounded incredibly generic.

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Been more than 6 months without any club-going, sucks hard



Mmmmhm not sure if generic would be the word I'd used but hey to each their own. It's much less singles-centric than Settle for sure though

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


1392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great read, pos'd! quite enjoying this record so far as well

few suggestions:

- '...nor huge drop leading to a catchy refrain.' think you're missing an 'a' in front of 'huge drop', though perhaps a plural 'nor huge drops leading to catchy refrains' would fit better

- '..into house to result in a banger tune..' i'd use a slightly more active verb here; eg 'into house to create a banger tune'

- '..chunk of the album is however dedicated..'; 'chunk of the album, however, is dedicated..'

- '..have the misfortune to disintegrate the record..'; 'have the misfortune of disintegrating the record..' (also i love the word 'blehness' haha!)

Digging: Iress - Flaw

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Cheers Jesper, you're a trve king for spending time on these! There, here's your crown

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2020


1392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thank u < 3

3'ing this for now, got a bit bored towards the end but really solid nonetheless!

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2020


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

just received the vinyl woop woop

Groundking
September 16th 2020


1491 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This thing is far too fucking long and generic. It's a shame as I like their first 2 albums.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2020


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ok so 2nd time the "generic" argument has been thrown out, I personally feel the African inclusions, the hip-hop feats and the soundscape evolving from bombastic to reflective is anything but generic. I'd say the record is more diverse than their first two, the only thing being that the preceding albums relied much more heavily on hugeass radio-pleasing singles. But once again, to each their own!

Trifolium
September 16th 2020


18408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

''I personally feel the African inclusions, the hip-hop feats and the soundscape evolving from bombastic to reflective is anything but generic''

Yes [2]



''I'd say the record is more diverse than their first two, the only thing being that the preceding albums relied much more heavily on hugeass radio-pleasing singles.''

YES [2]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy