Viva Belgrado
Bellavista


4.0
excellent

Review

by Nikkolae USER (24 Reviews)
September 7th, 2020 | 23 replies


Release Date: 04/30/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In which Viva Belgrado decide to sound like Viva Belgrado.

I occupy an odd space in the world, I´d be the first one to acknowledge that; Born in a Spanish speaking country but being pushed hard to learn English since a young age due to our proximity to the US, A child of skramz, Black metal and Hardcore but with a deeply rooted Latinx sentimentality for romantic music, A man that opened up a business in a Latinx country where he interacts mostly with foreigners on a day to day basis yet gets bombarded by questions about my culture as a point of contact for people touching down here for the first time, I feel very split down the middle with my deep cultural identity and the one that rubs off on me from everything to daily interactions to my Partner herself.

Odd as it may be, I’m well aware I am not the only one.

Why is any of this relevant? Am I going on and on as I usually do in my reviews? Yes, and probably yes.
Enter Viva Belgrado, the Spanish skramz Quartet from Cordoba, or at least that’s what they were up until a few years ago, with releases like the “Invierno” EP and their debut full length “Flores, Carne” they were positively just a cookie-cutter band from the new wave of skramz from the school of Suis La Lune and Teenage Haze, it seems that the guys at some point took a hard look in the mirror and realized this dichotomy that lies within all musicians of Spanish speaking countries, the fact that we are constantly being split down the middle between our musical culture and our musical taste, one that pushes you to abandon singing your mother tongue to pursue an English speaking market, due to the scarcity of a strong musical scene of our favorite genders back home.

And up until a few years ago, this was the norm for this band as well, but then Bellavista happened.

Here I must interject that, I had only had contact with this band through the previous releases listed here, but lost track of them up to last year when they came to play in my home country, understanding that as most things in Latin America, you really shouldn’t miss the chance to see a foreigner band play due to the low volume of musicians going through the region (even less those of the underground type) I bought my ticket and was there when they rolled around.

Once at the venue I can safely say I was not prepared with the energy of this album, Bellavista finds a sort of charm in wearing their influences on their sleeve for all to see, From fast-paced and aggressive cuts like “Una Soga” or “Un Collar” to more Touché Amore inspired passages like the bridge in “Ikebukuro Sunshine” it is a wild ride, but a more toned down one, more restrained.

For this I must also give serious props to the Musicianship in here, although a more varied affair with throwing everything and the sink at it, they manage to craft a very smooth and dare I say melodramatic vibe to the album, while also remaining seriously cheeky and aggressive when the mood deems it necessary, Additionally, there is a very scarce use of screaming vocals, where Candido Galvez opts out for a more spoken/sang approach to the lyrics (all sung in Spanish), which I must give a serious commendation for the quality of it, especially verses in songs like Vicios:

Tengo preguntas porque no tengo respuestas
Si es tan obvio ¿por qué es tan dif*cil de entender?
Déjame repetir siempre los mismos errores
Exhibicionismo emocional como carrera
Y si mantengo algunos vicios es porque ellos me mantienen vivo
Porque ya nada me interesa, nada me impresiona

“I have questions but I have no answers
If it's so obvious ¿why is it so hard to understand?
let me make the same mistakes
Emotional Exibicionism as a Career
And if I keep some vices its cause they keep me alive
because nothing interests, nothing impresses me”


And Yet, there are songs like “Mas Triste Que Shinji Ikari” an all-out pop assault, with a borderline chill rap vibe and a strong pop sensibility, Viva Belgrado decide to break the mold of what is acceptable in a skramz album, and although a very short-lived concept within the album, it's one that shows just how willing this band is to push their own artistical view, be it by singing a predominantly English speaking genre in Spanish, or to break conventions of what a Skramz band is allowed to do within the album, it is this “throw caution to the wind” attitude that makes Bellavista an even more enjoyable affair

The album is a serious gem of simplicity, a band trying to write the album that they are, with all quirks to it, and nuisances that it could cause, but in the end, extremely faithful to themselves, and I, for one, really appreciate it.



Recent reviews by this author
The Maine American CandyFrank Carter and the Rattlesnakes Rotten
Teen Flirt Welcome HomeIDYLLS Prayer for Terrene
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherSwallow the Sun Emerald Forest and the Blackbird
user ratings (36)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nikkolae
September 7th 2020


5951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been a while, decided that I had things to say about this one.

Digging: Mol - JORD

Slex
September 7th 2020


12149 Comments


Awesome to see this get a review, thanks bud

I love this album

Digging: Trophy Scars - Astral Pariah

AxeToFall93
September 7th 2020


304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great band, great album, as always.

Cormano
September 7th 2020


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dude you need to do proof reading

Nikkolae
September 8th 2020


5951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah

Cormano
September 8th 2020


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes you do, some of this it actually hurt to read, first paragraph makes little to no sense



also you make it seem as if at one point in their career the band sang in english, which they never have

roguedevil
September 8th 2020


7 Comments


Still spinning this one. It's a pretty refreshing change for them to lessens the screaming.
“Mas Triste Que Shinji Ikari” is a a good track, but it's really strange in its placement right before Un Collar.

roguedevil
September 8th 2020


7 Comments


Still spinning this one. It's a pretty refreshing change for them to lessens the screaming.
“Mas Triste Que Shinji Ikari” is a a good track, but it's really strange in its placement right before Un Collar.

Pajolero
September 10th 2020


1182 Comments


Had the pleasure of seeing these dudes live in like 2016 and they were great. Happy to see they're still going.

The review needs a bit of work though.

Artuma
September 21st 2020


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

two songs in, sounds awfully lot like a spanish la dispute. not sure how to feel about that



flores, carne was fantastic

Digging: Wolves in the Throne Room - Primordial Arcana

Cormano
September 21st 2020


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is better

Artuma
September 22nd 2020


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

one thing that's for sure is that that's not true

Cormano
September 22nd 2020


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Flores and Carne falls under the same the same songwriting cliches over and over (which they had already done and exhausted in their first demos lol), starts to feel longer than it actually is and becomes so predictable until the last 2 tracks pick things up, not to mention lyrics are over dramatic and borderline cringe several times, in fact I would say it has more similarities with early La Dispute bc of that, yet I still love that record, fun and promising record from a band with so much room for growth



this record is more well rounded and consistent, new ideas are well executed while having knowledge on how to incorporate old ones, and the band manages to pull off the tension and release very efectively, not to mention Candido finally came into his own as a lyricist, the stuff he writes here is compelling and at times hits like a mf



but yeah if you're in for the screaming then go for it

Artuma
September 23rd 2020


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's the vocal rhythmics here that especially remind me of la dispute (while the 'rapping' on mas triste... is something i'd just rather forget), and not that i have anything against it per se, i just feel more home on the blunt alternation between post-rock and skramming on flores



haven't heard the demos and can't really comment on the lyrics because my spanish is far from strong, should maybe look into them

Artuma
September 23rd 2020


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"a predominantly English speaking genre"



this is also a false claim

Nikkolae
September 23rd 2020


5951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how so?

Artuma
September 24th 2020


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

plenty of prominent french, italian, german, swedish, japanese bands singing in their native languages in the scene. yes i guess most bands in the genre are doing it in english but it's far from unheard of not to

Nikkolae
September 24th 2020


5951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but that is the whole point of referring to it as a Predominantly english speaking genre, of course that for every Shizune (and Even then, they switch between Italian and English lyrics) you have a slew of bands that regardless of nationality choose to write/sing in english due to it being a more accessible market.



It being not unheard of does not mean it is a rule of thumb

Artuma
September 24th 2020


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

you make it seem like it's something completely out of ordinary when a band is singing in a language that is not english when there is in fact a wide array of well-known skramz bands that arw not. i'm not sure if you meant it that way but it comes off a bit ignorant to me, that's really a minor issue anyway

Nikkolae
September 24th 2020


5951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I understand how it can seem like that, im a pretty sheit writer so there is also that



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy