Narrow Head
12th House Rock


4.0
excellent

Review

by TiedDown93 USER (11 Reviews)
August 31st, 2020 | 75 replies


Release Date: 2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A throwback to everything you've ever loved.

It’s almost hard to believe it’s been four years since Narrow Head released their debut ‘Satisfaction’ to the world for consumption. There’s been a slew of singles released throughout the years, but now in 2020, we are finally treated to the release of ‘12th House Rock.’ One significant change to the band sees them now rocking as a five-piece. We’ve also seen Narrow Head jump to the massive Run For Cover Records roster. Have the years of touring and recording their sophomore paid off? Yes, it has.

The record begins with “Yer’ Song.” A five-minute track that seems daunting, however, engages the listener with big Hum-inspired riffs and hooks galore. The production compliments the record perfectly sounding as if it would have released in 1998. Lead single “Night Tryst” hits the listener with a chunky bass line right at the start making it one of the records catchiest tracks on the record thanks to the melody crafted by singer Jacob Duarte.

Narrow Head prove they aren’t a one trick pony though. “Delano Door,” the eleventh track featuring guest vocals from Erica Miller of Big Bite/Casual Hex, reveals a darker side of the band. This song seethes with influence from The Jesus Lizard. Intertwining spoken word and eerie guitars to form a truly haunting song that leaves an impact with the listener. “12th House Rock’ truly is a love letter to 90’s alternative without sounding derivative.

Let’s talk about the vocals. Jacob isn’t the most technical singer in the game, although, he is able to craft melodies that remain consistent throughout the 51-minute runtime. “Wastrel” is just an acoustic guitar and Jacob’s voice. “Hard to Swallow” and “Crankcase” feature some harsher screaming vocals which sound fantastic as well. What Narrow Head are able to craft throughout this double record is truly astounding.

This record isn’t perfect, not many are. “Nodding Off’ lingers for a little too long for my taste. “12th House” is just fine as an interlude but could have been left off the record as a whole. A lot of bands trying to revive this style don’t nail certain aspects. Narrow Head does.

It’s refreshing to see a record very highly anticipated by many deliver on all fronts. Releasing a record during a pandemic in which bands are unable to tour is unfortunate; Narrow Head will have people clamoring for their live return immediately. Here’s to hoping we see them tour with Deftones, Hum, or My Bloody Valentine. “12th House Rock” is a massive achievement in a time over unoriginality and half-baked ideas.



Recent reviews by this author
Kommand (USA-CA) TerrorscapeSkeleton Skeleton
Selfish (FIN) Burning SensationSubZero Happiness Without Peace
Gag America's Greatest HitsInepsy No Speed Limit for Destruction
user ratings (64)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
TiedDown93
August 31st 2020


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven't written a review in a minute, but I genuinely adore this record so hopefully that comes through in this review.

cold
August 31st 2020


6188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell yeah dude, I've been loving this album. "Delano Door" just might be the best track thus far.

Digging: Pillars Of Ivory - The Biblical Scripturez

loveisamixtape
August 31st 2020


11265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

vocals bring this down but not too much

AxeToFall93
August 31st 2020


309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sick album.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2020


9385 Comments


Good review, pos.

This is a sick album indeed, I love how heavy it is.

Vocals are a bit one-dimensional, but they are not irritating at all, unlike Oasis from which they draw inspiration.

If anyone needs more noteworthy alternative throwbacks, check the last two albums of a Greek band called Yellow Devil Sauce, both are streaming at bandcamp.

Digging: Kold Front - Kold Front

loveisamixtape
August 31st 2020


11265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this band has a handful of songs that are rly good but both albums are 3s



i’d say the strong songs from satisfaction are better than the ones here

TiedDown93
August 31st 2020


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@loveisamixtape I wish they redid cool in motion for this

Muppelope
September 1st 2020


1953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm such a sucker for this sound

Slex
September 1st 2020


12705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Delano Door is a crazy good song

Digging: The Weeknd - Dawn FM

cold
September 1st 2020


6188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really can't stop jamming this bad boy. Ya, if anyone has a vinyl copy of Satisfaction, lemme cop that from you.

deathofasalesman
September 1st 2020


7891 Comments


Solid review, dude! Gonna have to give this a listen.

Not huge, but try to use an active voice (i.e. "What Narrow Head were able to craft" use "are able to" instead) to keep reader engaged.

Digging: Korn - Requiem

TiedDown93
September 1st 2020


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@deathofasalesman thanks man I edited that in

cold
September 1st 2020


6188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bruh, do a review for Satisfaction. Hell, REVIEW THE WHOLE BAND

TiedDown93
September 1st 2020


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@coldheaven maybe....I've been giving out too many 4's in reviews but a lot fo these records will most likely end up on my EOTY list

Pikazilla
September 2nd 2020


20554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

THIS IS AMAZING OMG

nightbringer
September 2nd 2020


2401 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Digging this. Prefer it to the new Hum, which seems like it's trying to capture a similar-ish sound.

Pikazilla
September 2nd 2020


20554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is like KNY but actually not boring

nightbringer
September 2nd 2020


2401 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Koi No Yokan?

Pikazilla
September 2nd 2020


20554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah

cold
September 2nd 2020


6188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@pika check out their other work, especially the Satisfaction album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy