Primitive Man
Immersion


4.0
excellent

Review

by deathofasalesman USER (7 Reviews)
August 24th, 2020 | 25 replies


Release Date: 08/14/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It can't get dark enough, I can't sink far enough

There’s an unpleasant feeling in my stomach. I can’t tell if it’s the coffee I drank, the breakfast sandwich I ate, the Zoom outage that disrupted my first day back to school, living during a pandemic, the video of Jacob Blake being shot seven times in the back by a police officer, the third largest wildfire in California’s history raging up north with limited resources to contain it, the inmate firefighters being paid three dollars a day to help manage it, the underpaid migrant workers that hand-pick food for vegans—and are under constant duress from their employers who threaten to call ICE on them—who are still working in this undying heatwave. It’s all a blur, and I can feel it in my gut, and it’s hurting. I have reasons to be upset, and thankfully, Primitive Man are here to vent that frustration with their unapologetic breed of sludgy doom on Immersion. Ethan Lee McCarthy’s monstrous vocals lay waste over agonizingly monotonous riffing, while Jonathan Campos’ down-tuned bass rumbles ominously with Joe Linden’s slow, forceful drum hits. The band isn’t known for variety in songwriting, but there are some distinct moments of catharsis during the album’s surprisingly short, 35-minute runtime. The high pitched screams on “Entity” sound like tortuous pleas for mercy. The sudden blast beats in “Menacing” throttle the listener for a vicious eighteen seconds before we are thrown into another abyss of swirling, molasses-like sludge. Noise track “∞” may seem uninspired or non-essential to the casual listener, though I can see myself withstanding another ten minutes of its scratchy delirium. Immersion ends with the sole mid-tempo track, “Consumption,” where McCarthy paints a horrid picture of the world we live in today with lines like “World peace is a dream long dead/No man is a brother of mine” and “Humanity rotten on the vine/What now,” those last two words resounding tightly with my feelings of the years to come. Like every track on this album, the song ends abruptly, and focusing on it now, the knot it my stomach seems to have vanished. Come to think of it, it might have been the coffee.



Recent reviews by this author
Thou Blessings of the Highest OrderNothingface Skeletons
Weekend Nachos StillMade Out of Babies Coward
RAD Loud & FastAnoice The Black Rain
user ratings (60)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
deathofasalesman
August 24th 2020


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A shorty, like the album itself



Available on CD, vinyl, and cassette here: https://primitivemandoom.bandcamp.com

Deathconscious
August 24th 2020


25458 Comments


Cool, looking forward to this.

Relinquished
August 24th 2020


45704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well done review

Storm In A Teacup
August 24th 2020


30795 Comments


great review!

deathofasalesman
August 24th 2020


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, guys! It means a lot. I got the itch to write more these days.



Changed 'unarmed black man' to the person's name. So fking sad.

costofnothing
August 24th 2020


153 Comments


Sweet review, really agree with a lot of the top half. Going to have to finally check this out. Was going to review it, but school and other ambitions been pulling me away from sputnik lately. Caustic was absolutely disgusting and made me feel like I was in a torture chamber for its hour-runtime so I have high expectations for this.

deathofasalesman
August 24th 2020


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is a torture chamber that lets you out early. It's really just an EP for them, but a lot of listeners complain that their music is overlong. I guess this is their answer to that even though they've never wanted to satisfy anyone.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 25th 2020


22187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Less heavy than the previous one but stlll, "enjoyable" (cause it's more like a torture, completely agree).



Nice shorty rev, I am digging this format lately and might use it to get out of the writing swamp I'm in.





Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - May Our Chambers Be Full

bigguytoo9
August 25th 2020


878 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

FOUL is the best track on here for sure.

Digging: Jesu - Terminus

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 25th 2020


15266 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm glad this has been reviewed. I wish I had liked it more than I did

Digging: Akhlys - Melino

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2020


3009 Comments


great review and man, what an album

Digging: No Trend - When Death Won't Solve Your Problem

BallsToTheWall
August 25th 2020


50157 Comments


Oh, hell yeah!

Digging: Khors - Where the Word Acquires Eternity

teamster
August 25th 2020


5228 Comments


One of the heaviest bands in my discog. Excellent review and thanks.

deathofasalesman
August 26th 2020


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for checkin this out y'all.



Definitely one of the heaviest bands, maybe ever if you consider their live performances.

Tyll
August 27th 2020


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fantastic album. Frankly, I don't even see it as a "shorty" by Primitive Man standards. Scorn is also "just" 39 minutes long. It's not like they have an extensive discography of very long albums. This album is concise, brutal, enveloping, devastating. If I want more, I simply listen again.

deathofasalesman
August 29th 2020


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good point. I just find it surprising they released HIWTHI as an EP at 32 minutes, and considering Caustic was 58 minutes of crushing doom I thought they'd keep pushing it.

Deez
August 29th 2020


6993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

FOUL is the best track on here for sure.'



[2] perfectly titled

slikphuk
August 29th 2020


513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool review, album is suffocating af love it

Digging: Undergang - Aldrig i livet

Tyll
August 31st 2020


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

“Good point. I just find it surprising they released HIWTHI as an EP at 32 minutes, and considering Caustic was 58 minutes of crushing doom I thought they'd keep pushing it.”



Yes, i agree....that ep kind of stands out in that sense. Weird. I am just happy about new Primitive Man.

deathofasalesman
September 1st 2020


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the kind words, peeps.



Can't wait for my vinyl in the mail, shipping out today I think.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy