Hopesfall
The Frailty of Words


5.0
classic

Review

by m/ Ian m/ USER (112 Reviews)
August 23rd, 2020 | 21 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Swaggiest of Christiancore (aka one million times better than those first couple underoath albums)

If you think you know anything about hopesfall and haven't heard this album then forget everything you know. Hard reset. Really the only thing you can take into this album is if you wanted an album that was all Faint Object Camera… this is the closest you may ever get.

In many ways and over many years hopesfall changes drastically; topically this characteristic of the band is usually brought up comparing their newest album to its most recent ancestor. The Frailty of Words is the most (in)comparable however…possessing the most bangers of any hopesfall album and the hardest in your face intensity. The screams are guttural, the grainy riffs are heavy, but oh my god there are some ***ing beautiful segments interlaced in between balls to the wall verses and breakdowns. Even when they were a whole other project they still had the best guitar writing of the genre. There are some interludes on here that rival any other hopesfall interlude. Classic hopesfall.

What's most peculiar and different about this album? Even what should be the chorus is still balls to the wall heavy screaming moments, rarely will you get cleans. Many regard their next release the EP No Wings To Speak Of as their best album, but The Frailty of Words comes insanely close to reaching heights that album found. You can tell the band was already very close to making that next leap in terms of quality songwriting and recording on this album and arguably they do reach that same quality with more than half the songs Frailty of Words has to offer. Some are ***ing jams and some are intense explosions and all are addled with highly mixed in bass and drums that get randomly attacked by melodic guitar passages just when you think the band doesn't want to do one for this song. It's an adventure and nothing more should be said. You have been convinced to try it out.



Recent reviews by this author
Svalbard When I Die, Will I Get Better?Madina Lake The Beginning of New Endings
Big Sean Detroit 2Tyson Motsenbocker Someday I’ll Make it All Up to You
Earth Crisis SlitherHopesfall A Types
user ratings (206)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
SnackaryBinx (4.5)
As furious as furious gets....

ThePalaceOfWisdom (4.5)
Hopesfall's debut introduces audiences to an entirely different take on the once proud Metalcore gen...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
August 23rd 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I entered the horizon; blueshift, bitches

JustJoe.
August 23rd 2020


10902 Comments


i’m not a bitches

JustJoe.
August 23rd 2020


10902 Comments


pos tho

dannooo28
August 23rd 2020


285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a lot closer to NWTSO and TSY than people think

AnimalsAsSummit
August 23rd 2020


5689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice. Hopesfall is perfection.

Storm In A Teacup
August 24th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ooops my bad Joe XD Thanks friends! Dannooo I agree, but it is still quite a unique album for hopesfall

dannooo28
August 24th 2020


285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh yeah for sure, I meant in terms of the quality of music. Even though No Wings was made with Doug, whenever I listen to it it definitely sounds more like a stepping stone sound-wise to Satellite Years than this album does to the EP (hopefully I worded that correctly? I tried my best lmao). Their discog for me prolly goes TSY>NWTSO>Arbiter=TFOW>MN>>>A Types

dannooo28
August 24th 2020


285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Used to listen to these guys early on in high school because of my cousin and almost completely forgot about them; ran through their catalogue again a year after Arbiter came out and remembered why I fell in love with em. Top five band for me easily.

Double comment but whatever lol

Storm In A Teacup
August 24th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Okay cool! I do know what you mean and agree! It's almost like they wrote Satty songs for this album but saved them for later when they could get better production and then had to change vocalists. It's always great rediscovering good music. =)

Gyromania
August 25th 2020


33092 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This one doesn't count right? Since it's not a new release

Storm In A Teacup
August 26th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Right

Gyromania
August 26th 2020


33092 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

okay yeah this is hot fucking garbage. embarrassing album etc

Storm In A Teacup
August 26th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

🙄😘

Gyromania
August 26th 2020


33092 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

are the vox always this bad? i don't remember arbiter sounding this awful

Storm In A Teacup
August 26th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is a different vocalist.

Gyromania
August 26th 2020


33092 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

i actually kind of like arbiter a bit now

Storm In A Teacup
August 26th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good change the rating lol

Gyromania
August 26th 2020


33092 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

it might be time to bump it up to that glorious 2.5. it's earned it tbh

Storm In A Teacup
August 26th 2020


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh joy

Storm In A Teacup
June 17th 2021


35108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy