Faceless Burial
Speciation


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
August 19th, 2020 | 58 replies


Release Date: 08/07/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Riffs of isolation

There’s something about this Covid-19 hell that makes death metal sound that much better. Over the last several weeks, I can’t get enough of the stuff – even dabbling in brutal death metal and its other whacky subgenres. It’s been the summer of death metal, and my unstoppable binge was largely inspired by the excellent sophomore LP from Faceless Burial. This band has it all: the killer name, the beastly vocalist, the perfect balance of pummeling riffs and slick melodies. The Australian act are on their way to becoming death metal titans. Just a few years into their career, Speciation is oozing with the kind of confidence and skill of some of the genres most influential musicians.

Building upon the promise from 2017’s Grotesque Miscreation and two solid EP’s, Speciation stands out immediately with its beefier song structures. The title track and the album’s massive bookends show off Faceless Burial’s knack for keeping things interesting even throughout longer cuts. “Worship” is just as quick to lay down highly melodic riffs as it is to surround you with the time-tested suffocating drum and cavernous growl combo. The first track that really hooked me, however, was “Irreparably Corpsed.” Arguably the most “metal” track of the bunch, it’s a tangled web of clunky guitar riffs and ridiculously fast drumming. The relentless zigzag of the guitars conjures up imagery of twisted formations; I can’t help but think of the creatures from the original Silent Hill video games crawling towards me with every anxious riff. Even without my nerd-brain imagery, it’s a track that tramples the listener with an impressive, almost demented force.

There’s really not much else I can write to sell Speciation. You’ll either appreciate the level of energy Faceless Burial bring to the table or write them off as just another OSDM worship act – maybe somewhere in between. Originality may not be their selling point, but boy is the execution and passion on par with the best. With ridiculously fun and urgent tracks like “Spuming Catarrhal Gruel”, Speciation has just the right level of technicality to it; it has just the right guitar tones. Meticulously crafted from front to back, Faceless Burial’s sophomore effort is a smart throwback to the glory days of death metal. These guys are just cool as hell, quite frankly. Hopefully, Speciation will take a bit of the sting out of your isolation nightmare like it did for me.



Recent reviews by this author
Necrot MortalPaysage d'Hiver Im Wald
Spanish Love Songs Brave Faces EveryoneLagwagon Railer
Off With Their Heads Be GoodThe Tallest Man on Earth I Love You. It's a Fever Dream.
user ratings (68)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2020


26016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It had to happen. I promised myself I wouldn't write a covid review but it was driving me nuts there was nowhere to discuss this one



band is such a damn good time. will throw up a summary when I think of one lol

Digging: Disavowed - Revocation of the Fallen

tectactoe
August 19th 2020


3329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good shit, more people need to check this. Favorite DM of the year so far, edging out The Sanguinary Impetus by a bit. Fans of Blood Incantation would/should like this: I think there’s arguably more variation here than last year’s Hidden History, yet the homage to OSDM is more prevalent throughout. Either way, it goes hard. Love it.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2020


26016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this, new Defeated Sanity and Cosmic Putrefaction are prolly my top 3 dm of the year. so much good stuff though, it's been a hell of a year for the genre imo. I've definitely never listened to this much of the stuff in the middle of summer before

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2020


21218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love that fucking cover.



And I get what you mean Atari, I've been in a DM kick recently, although didn't have much time to jam. I only heard a couple of tracks off this but it sounds gooood.

Digging: Hallas - Conundrum

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2020


12853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

--this, new Defeated Sanity and Cosmic Putrefaction are prolly my top 3 dm of the year. --



Where dat Ulcerate or Cryptic Shift mention?



Seriously though, there's some serious albums making 2020 not so shit. Also, new Undeath out soon with a couple singles already floating around.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2020


21218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Imperial Triumphant and Oransi Pazuzu bringing also those weird dissonant DM vibes, this year's harvest's been pretty fruitful so far, but I still feel I missed 80% of it.

trilo
August 19th 2020


3422 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cryptic Shift [2]



also gotta jam this looks dopee

Digging: Expander - Neuropunk Boostergang

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2020


21218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yep this is indeed riffland

Faraudo
August 19th 2020


3624 Comments


Is there anything particularly unique about this one? Or is it just another death metal record?

Digging: Two People - Second Body

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2020


21218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a GOOD death metal record

Demon of the Fall
August 19th 2020


16839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I see Blood Incantation mentioned which is encouraging. Cryptic Shift are giving me that fix at the moment, albeit ‘techier’ - perhaps I’ll get to this afterwards. I’m slacking on new releases, but exceptions will be made for DM if I feel like it.

Digging: Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin

Beardog
August 19th 2020


3738 Comments


Ok will check

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2020


6576 Comments


laaarvly write up. my covid fix has been END and other hardcore-y goodness, but I may need to hop back to dm

peekatoad
August 19th 2020


396 Comments


i don't like that first sentence

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2020


11646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds like this may have riffs.



Good stuff my guy

Digging: Barely Civil - I'll Figure This Out

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2020


26016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers fellas



"I don't like that first sentence"



oh well... haha. hope you still get something out of the album



tectactoe
August 19th 2020


3329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The amount and utilization of the ride cymbal bell here is simply fantastic.

peekatoad
August 19th 2020


396 Comments


It sounds promising, i'll be checking this album out tho. It's just the reference to the virus that annoys me

You changed the summary! That's why i looked at the review at first.. i like riffz lol

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2020


26016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I get that.. like I said I promised myself I wouldn't write a covid review (I'm as sick of the virus/polics as the next guy) but my listening habits are often influenced by cirumstance. my state is still stuck in phase 2 and I've been spending a looooot of time trapped at home. something about the whole situation has just made death metal click more.. I think it mirrors a lot of my frustration and tension which makes it oddly therapeutic!





peekatoad
August 19th 2020


396 Comments


That is a great explanation for it. I appreciate you explaining it

Listening to this now and this is excellent. Feels like it has some slam elements to it. I think i'll have to get this on cd



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy