Year of the Knife
Internal Incarceration


3.0
good

Review

by Tequila Mockingbird : Drunk Author USER (17 Reviews)
August 16th, 2020 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Year of the Knife cut their teeth with their debut and wear their influences on their sleeve.

The trends of modern metalcore with slight hardcore influence have been cemented with bands such as Code Orange, Vein, Knocked Loose, and Jesus Piece. Fast, punishing riffs, breakdowns, harsh vocals, and absolutely pounding drumming. Some bands have an electronic element added to them, some have shorter songs, some have detuned guitars, some have particularly high pitched screams. Yet the mission statement is the same for each band: make music that elicits a strong desire in the listener to swing their arms around and decimate anything or anyone unlucky enough to be in their path of destruction.

Year of the Knife truthfully does nothing entirely new with the genre and instead takes much more of a meat and potatoes approach. The guitars have a tendency to play tremolo highs for main or intro riffs and stomping lows for breakdowns. These riffs are sure to get the blood pumping, but they certainly aren’t innovative. As for the rhythm section, the drums employ a more stomping, plotting, bass pedal heavy approach and the bass unfortunately falls victim to the genre trope of sounding almost nonexist and overtly muddy. The vocals are visceral and punishing, somewhat similar to Corey Taylor’s shout in the best possible ways, and the lyrics, as the name Internal Incarceration would imply, are quite dark and depressive.

So if Year of the Knife is so derivative what makes the album worth listening to? Simply put, there is a certain energy from thunderous, plotting breakdowns with singers screaming athemic, aggressive and self-deprecating statements that never gets old. Internal Incarceration is filled to the brim with crunchy, heavy, and in your-face riffs, punchy percussion, and enough phrases to shout angrily at the top of your lungs while slam dancing in the living room for days. They employ the start and stop song structure quite well. The breakdowns specifically are wonderful with the pinnacle being the last minute or song of “Eviction” which employs the age old genre trope of slow breakdown transitioning to an even slower breakdown exquisitely. In addition, the fast paced and blisteringly loud moments on songs such as “Get It Out” and “This Time” are a delightful counterbalance.

Year of the Knife created an enjoyable, energetic, and fist-pumpingly belligerent album. It isn’t genre defining, but it is performed very well and fans of this specific sound will certainly appreciate Internal Incarceration; however, there isn’t much here for those who already haven’t meshed with the genre.



Recent reviews by this author
Good Tiger Raised in a Doomsday CultThe Fall of Troy Mukiltearth
The Chats High Risk BehaviourStrike Anywhere Nightmares of the West
Lil Yachty Lil Boat 3Mover Shaker Another Truck Stop
user ratings (67)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Joeman82
August 16th 2020


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Joe covers a small release no one cares about on the site part... I dunno like 10.

oltnabrick
August 16th 2020


40491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i liked this

oltnabrick
August 17th 2020


40491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

huh

Joeman82
August 17th 2020


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There definitely was breakdowns in this champ. Like. Every song.

costofnothing
August 17th 2020


155 Comments


Decent review, I think a lot of this new wave of metalcore that takes more obvious hardcore influence is super derivative, Knocked Loose and Code Orange ripping off Disembodied and Martyr AD, and Jesus Piece and Year Of The Knife taking strong influence from Eighteen Visions, Deadguy, and Kissitgoodbye. It is still pretty cool though, as most of the "metalcore" scene in the decade or so before these bands started popping up were melodeath/prog with occasional breakdowns or scenecore.

Joeman82
August 17th 2020


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah a lot of hardcore in general quite derivative of other bands but I can’t say I know much about the metalcore of scene 2000-2015 besides Maybe ETID and I guess Underoath of you want to count them. So, forgive me for my partial ignorance.

I think Vein’s Errorzone album is probably gonna be the pinnacle of this wave of metalcore for me for sure tho.

Deez
August 17th 2020


8795 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty solid. Rip live too

Digging: NEW GRASS - Scordatura_Perforations

bigweinerdon
August 17th 2020


2161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album absolutely rips

bigweinerdon
August 17th 2020


2161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

kid needs a hearing aid or two

MotokoKusanagi
August 17th 2020


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this hits pretty good, gonna bump this shit biking tonight

SteakByrnes
August 18th 2020


26873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is good but all of these hardcore-influenced metalcore bands are really starting to blend together

Digging: Purity Filter - Immortal Spirit

MotokoKusanagi
August 18th 2020


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'll take the hardcore-influenced metalcore over the nu-metal/metalcore industrial slipknot-ass trend anyday

SteakByrnes
August 18th 2020


26873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh yea for sure, glad the nu metalcore trend is dying

Joeman82
August 18th 2020


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I always round up and this is like a 3.2-3.3 to me I dunno.

secondsun
August 19th 2020


28 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"This is good but all of these hardcore-influenced metalcore bands are really starting to blend together"



yeah, the only bands that have really stood out from the pack are Vein and maybe Jesus Piece. like all these other bands are fine but it's all just the same album over and over again



Joeman82
August 19th 2020


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I dunno my opinion on this album has kinda faded a bit after multiple listens. It’s somewhere between a 3-3.5 but I can’t really decide lol.

LaurenPaulson
August 20th 2020


13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Do not worry about quality experience because the album becomes a whole slowly, step by step like a piece of puzzle of love, hope, regret and so on.

secondsun
August 20th 2020


28 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm just saying that if these new bands realized that 90s metalcore was more than just open chugs mixed with minor 2nd chords than maybe they would actually be half as interesting as their influences

SteakByrnes
August 20th 2020


26873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thank you for not using the term "panic chords" lol

secondsun
August 20th 2020


28 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol fair point, feels like these bands just want to chug away but not get roasted for it like all 2000s core



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy