Deep Purple
Whoosh!


3.0
good

Review

by manosg STAFF
August 13th, 2020 | 26 replies


Release Date: 08/07/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Same recipe, less taste.

Each one of Deep Purple’s last three albums involved some kind of innuendo regarding the legendary act’s future; something logical, considering its members’ age and the fact that this is the only remaining active band among the three who formed heavy metal. With all due respect, the boys could have easily retired some 25 years ago as a result of numerous feuds between founding member Ritchie Blackmore and their frontman Ian Gillan, but Steve Morse initially and Don Airey later on, seem to have rejuvenated and pushed the band to a new direction.

Now What?! and inFinite proved to be a breath of fresh air, by putting forth a modern Deep Purple sound with progressive elements; a much-needed change, as well as a natural one, considering that the main soloists are different not just in name, but mostly, approach. In the meantime, they included some of the best modern Purple songs such as “Above and Beyond”, “Uncommon Man”, “The Surprising”, and “Birds of Prey”. In a nutshell, this is exactly what Whoosh! is missing. The musical direction is similar to the aforementioned LPs, the lineup is unchanged, and the producer, who did a remarkable job previously, is the same as well. However, what this release lacks is a couple of standout tracks that would stand the test of time, not like “Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming”, but like “Ted the Mechanic” or the aforementioned ones. That doesn’t mean that the album lacks memorable moments, such as the chorus of “Throw My Bones”, that reveals a band comfortable in its skin; a feat that makes “modern” Deep Purple sound more organic than the ‘80s and ‘90s trying-to-recreate-the-past Purple. The one-two punch of “Remission Possible” and “Man Alive” is also one of the highlights here; two atmospheric pieces that contain moments of brilliance and pure class, along with some interesting interplay between Morse and Airey. Actually, it’s tracks like those two or the remake of “And the Address” that make me think that the more rocking songs should revolve around interplays rather than barroom piano melodies such as on “What the What”. A couple more interesting songs are the imposing “Step by Step” which could have easily been a couple of minutes longer, and “The Power of the Moon” which includes some of Morse’s best moments.

So, where does this album stand compared to Purple’s recent output? Is “And the Address” – the opener on Shades of Deep Purple as well – another hint that maybe this is it for the Hertford act? Will the rest of the lads accept Blackmore’s proposal and do a one-off show for the fans?

Regarding the last two rhetorical questions, I have no idea. However, something tells me that this is not the end for these guys, especially considering that Whoosh! was much ready a year ago. Now, as far as where this LP stands compared to its two predecessors, I’d say that it’s not as consistently good as Now What?! and it doesn’t contain inFinite’s peaks. Nonetheless, it’s classy, enjoyable, and it’s certainly commendable to see legendary musicians who have nothing to prove, feel the desire to express themselves artistically.



Recent reviews by this author
Gullinbursti Mythical MetallurgySacred Outcry Damned For All Time
Blues Pills Holy Moly!Villagers of Ioannina City Age of Aquarius
Cirith Ungol Forever BlackThe Night Flight Orchestra Aeromantic
user ratings (46)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2020


15103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm glad you reviewed this. Good work, as usual.

My favorite songs are those with a more progressive approach, such as Throw My Bones (awesome solo) or Nothing At All. I also like Step By Step.



Digging: Nightbringer - Terra Damnata

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2020


21843 Comments


Haven't heard this yet but damn, killer summary, manosg.

Digging: Crippled Black Phoenix - Ellengaest

manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2020


12012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Much appreciated dudes!



Yeah, the proggy ones are my favorite songs as well, and they seem to have nailed that formula. It's rocking tracks that bring the album down for me.

Digging: Winter?s Verge - The Ballad of James Tig

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2020


15103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2020


12928 Comments


Came looking for an actual recipe.

PopsicleBob
August 13th 2020


83 Comments


all the ratings are the same

Dissonant
August 13th 2020


663 Comments


Not sure how I feel about this. Gonna have to spin again.

heck
August 14th 2020


4897 Comments


bet this album will go over people's heads

MrSirLordGentleman
August 14th 2020


13571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not interested at all about checking this



Artwork is one of the band's best tho

Nagrarok
August 14th 2020


8630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nonetheless, it’s classy, enjoyable, and it’s certainly commendable to see legendary musicians who have nothing to prove, feel the desire to express themselves artistically.




Exactly is what I expect of this. Have to give it a listen soon but I have no doubt I'll agree with your assessment.



Will the rest of the lads accept Blackmore’s proposal and do a one-off show for the fans?




Didn't know he proposed this, needless to say it would be a great thing for the fans to see most of the Mark II line-up together again one last time. Preferably before anyone else kicks the bucket. I was going to see Purple in November as I've never managed to do so before, but obviously that's been postponed to next year.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2020


12012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Didn't know he proposed this, needless to say it would be a great thing for the fans to see most of the Mark II line-up together again one last time. Preferably before anyone else kicks the bucket. I was going to see Purple in November as I've never managed to do so before, but obviously that's been postponed to next year."



I hope Mark II does give at least a show for the fans and bury the hatchet. I've seen them a few times but none with Blackmore in the lineup.

ChaoticVortex
August 14th 2020


1053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Honestly given how long Deep Purple has been going and how all members are in their 70's, they could do a lot worse like Yes. This is okay. Nothing extraordinary but also nothing offensive.

Nagrarok
August 14th 2020


8630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There wasn't much left of Yes before Squire died, and now pretty much nothing.

TheSonomaDude
August 14th 2020


7134 Comments


Three songs in and it's one of the hardest 3/5's ever. I probably will never finish listening to this, honestly.


It's still really cool that this band is around making songs in 2020 though. Much respect.

bloodshy
August 15th 2020


2429 Comments


Those ratings sure are giving this album the finger.

Digging: HEALTH - DISCO4 :: Part I

warlordfun
August 16th 2020


408 Comments


Nice review as always Manos! I enjoyed their previous effort a lot, so I can't wait to check this one out!

Digging: Haken - Virus

manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2020


12012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Appreciate it, Warlord! These guys are pure class, hope you enjoy this one as well.

Robbit
August 17th 2020


71 Comments


I still need to spend more time with this one, but by initial impression was maybe a 3.25. The problem with most of the Morse-era Purple albums is that they've settled into a mostly predictable, if still pleasing groove. It is definitely a very samey formula or recipe for this one, but they are getting old to be taking big risks. Glad they're still making albums, even if they aren't earth shattering ones.

e210013
August 17th 2020


3043 Comments


I haven't heard this yet, but I clearly need to check this. Good work.

BlitzPhoenix98
August 19th 2020


57 Comments


Not sure if I will check this out but I finally am happy to have listened to them live last year! Concert was a blast.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy