Jaye Jayle
Prisyn


4.0
excellent

Review

by SowingSeason STAFF
August 10th, 2020 | 45 replies


Release Date: 08/07/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Where lightness meets the darkness

The opening line of Jaye Jayle’s Prisyn is a statement of ambiguity: “Where darkness meets the lightness / Or rather the lightness meets the darkness.” On its surface it appears to be a muddled sentiment, but Evan Patterson’s emphasis on the second line insists upon a decaying promise rather than a surging hope. It’s an appropriate overture for Prisyn, which qualifies as a tense urban dystopia writhing in paranoia. Patterson plunges us into this scene through several disturbing portraits: wandering through Berlin late at night whilst looking for an elusive hotel, a taxi driver who takes hostages at 3am because “he knows too much to let me go”, kids pointing guns at people through open car windows in Paris…they’re these terrifying, presumably fictitious stories that clearly could be real based on the violent times that we live in. Prisyn captures that essence in the fog, under dim street lamps – a sobering and unsettling experience.

Patterson achieves such a mysterious and haunting atmosphere through an eclectic blend of gothic, psychedelic, electronic, and experimental tones. ‘A Cold Wind’ sets the scene early with a spacious, disturbing crooner whose ending strings catalyze ‘Don’t Blame The Rain’, replete with convulsing synths and schizophrenic callback vocals. The eerie percussion, wailing synths, and hazy feedback on ‘I Need You’ leaves you in a harrowing emotional space, while ‘The River Spree’ acts as the album’s epicenter – commencing as a slow burner before exploding into fiery reverb without warning. The hues aren’t entirely bleak, however – a flourish of strings threaten to lift Prisyn out of the darkness on ‘Making Friends’, although the song’s subject matter keeps it grounded. Patterson also frequently injects dry wit into the record, almost as a form of involuntary deflection – such as wryly titling an account of kidnapping as ‘Making Friends’, or the way he uses having a gun pointed at him as an opportunity to turn a phrase: “This kind of thing happens all of the time. They’re just kids having a guntime.” His sense of humor adds a certain twistedness to the whole experience, further serving Prisyn’s mission statement. It could be perceived as lightness meeting the darkness, or vice versa, but either way it’s clear which side has the upper hand.

Jaye Jayle’s latest album is an absolute downer. It stalks and it sulks. It revels in the mundanity of mankind while also highlighting its violent tendencies. The music ranges from airy and depressing to blistering and frightening; and there’s rarely much space in between. Its spastic, dissonant experimentalism falls a tad shy of recalling Daughters, while the gothic/post-punk influences seem to invite comparisons to Nick Cave. We may need more time to determine where Jaye Jayle falls on the spectrum of dark and depressing 80s-tinged rock, but Prisyn will immediately step in as one of the best – and most befitting – post-apocalyptic records of 2020.



s
Recent reviews by this author
Puscifer Existential ReckoningJeff Tweedy Love Is The King
Sam Amidon Sam AmidonNothing But Thieves Moral Panic
beabadoobee Fake It FlowersKevin Morby Sundowner
user ratings (21)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
August 10th 2020


36136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A very brief write-up for an album that deserves more attention.

Digging: Moon Kissed - I Met My Band At A New Years Party

Slex
August 10th 2020


10412 Comments


Well this sounds cool

Glad to see yr back to reviewing

Digging: Gulfer - Gulfer

bloc
August 10th 2020


63742 Comments


Who spellchecked the fuckin album and artist name ffs

Digging: NECRY TALKIE - ZOO!!

JasonCarne
August 10th 2020


1119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album feels like it falls somewhere between the sound Bambara has been developing and the latest Daughters album (which you alluded to, no doubt influenced in part by their time touring together). Excellent stuff and well above the rest of their discography IMO. "Don't Blame the Rain" is one of my favorite tracks of the year.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 10th 2020


36136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah yeah, Bambara is an excellent comparison. "Don't Blame the Rain" is my favorite here followed by "The River Spree" but every track is pretty good.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
August 10th 2020


1646 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yess nice, Glad to see yr back to reviewing [2]

loving this record, started writing a review but couldn't really nail it down. i really like how, especially in the river spree, he uses concrete physical places to describe a state of being rather than as their actual locations.. idk it's such an intriguing motif

Digging: clipping. - There Existed an Addiction to Blood

Ashtiel
August 10th 2020


1082 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i have to wonder if the upcoming solo material from Alexis Marshall (of Daughters) will sound similar to this, with more nine inch nails influence i suppose.

some interesting sounds on this nonetheless.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 10th 2020


36136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's almost like someone threw Daughters, Bambara, and Nick Cave in a blender. I approve.

Jots
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2020


7228 Comments


I kinda got the impression that this would be like Elizabeth Colour Wheel in a sense that I’d like the idea of it better than the actual result but fingers crossed

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 11th 2020


36136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I forget what your preferences are, but if you're into the whole gothy, baritone vocaled thing then you will probably think it's decent. This totally isn't my scene and I still enjoyed it. If you've heard Bambara (referenced by Jason a few posts up), that's more apt than either of the comparisons I made in my review.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2020


29421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"This album feels like it falls somewhere between the sound Bambara has been developing and the latest Daughters album"



Sounds like this will either be fantastic or pure ham, gonna check

Digging: Tricot - 10

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 11th 2020


21999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album's great and your rev break didn't last very long.



As I predicted



*puts sunglasses on*

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - May Our Chambers Be Full

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 11th 2020


36136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Sounds like this will either be fantastic or pure ham, gonna check"

You say that but we both know this is gonna get the JotW treatment, a 3.1-3.4 offering mild praise but then distancing from said praise by begrudgingly offering up its faults.



"As I predicted"

It wasn't exactly a prophecy; this is my 3rd "hey I'm not reviewing anymore - oh look yes I am" moment, seems to happen every 4 years when I get tired of this place and then realize that it's the only website that will tolerate my horrible taste in music. ;-)

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2020


29421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heh, by-product of not actually liking music, a huge secret that somehow no-one has found out yetoh_shit. Gonna spin this in a mo

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 11th 2020


21999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't get me wrong, I'm happy to see u reviewing again brodsky ;)

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 11th 2020


36136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ha I know dewi was just poking fun at my own inability to quit this place :-)

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 11th 2020


21999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aren't we all in the same pickle?

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2020


29421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is pretty good, his voice carries it a good way, but the production holds it back from packing the same punch as Bambara/Cave/Daughters imo - too many parts are clean where they don't need to be imo. Big exception was that one-second clusterfuck of noise in "The River Spree", which terrified me more than anything on YWGWWW

"offering mild praise but then distancing from said praise by begrudgingly offering up its faults."

dammit.

anatelier
August 12th 2020


3631 Comments


Found the vocals distractingly Cave-derivative on my first go around, so will have to give it another whirl with that in mind

Digging: Girlhood - Girlhood

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 12th 2020


36136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha, nothing wrong with that Johnny - it's called being a good critic!

And yeah anatelier, definitely some Nick Cave worship (whether intentional or not) in the vocals



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy