Batushka
Raskol


4.0
excellent

Review

by Fernando Alves CONTRIBUTOR (71 Reviews)
August 8th, 2020 | 123 replies


Release Date: 08/07/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Praying for redemption

These days, Batushka has become synonymous with drama. The epic battle between original members Bartłomiej Krysiuk (Bart) and Krzysztof Drabikowski (Derph) has become the stuff of legend among metal aficionados. Two versions of the band were made, trenches were built, and blood was spilled. Two vicious, vengeful, bloodthirsty hordes fought mercilessly in one of the bloodiest battles Poland has ever seen. But it turned out to be an uneven struggle, as Krzysztof's legion quickly gained ground, slaughtering "traitor" Bart on social networks, somehow managing to boycott his debut album. You only have to look at Hospodi's ratings a bit everywhere to realize the degree of destruction Krzysztof's army has managed to inflict on its opponent. Simply devastating.

Even tending towards Krzysztof, I will stand on neutral ground, analyzing only the music, leaving the legal issues to the courts and dramatic soap opera specialists. And by doing this, and only this, I can't help but point out that Pаскол / Raskol turned out to be a pleasant surprise. While Hospodi shifted into more mainstream and somewhat generic territories, this thirty-minute EP returns to Batushka's roots, with a deeper black metal aesthetic. Raskol always revolves around itself, being the result of a disciplined and focused thought, never deviating from its gravitational core. As expected, the Orthodox liturgy is still very much present, but this time around it moves through more blackened doom signatures, which now assume greater predominance. As a result, the album acquires atmosphere and a more dramatic personality. However, its secret lies in the way slower tempos connect with typical black metal blast beat signatures. This symbiosis is present in every passage of 'Irmos', being difficult to highlight any of them due to their transversal consistency. Another particularity of Raskol is the presence of clean minimalist guitars in every track and the emotional suspense at the beginning of each song. This more minimalist approach should please those who see black metal as a raw manifestation of simplicity and a mirror of sensorial ambiances and emotions. The rawer, less polished production also enhances the band's more orthodox approach, conferring Raskol a more intimate and intimidating character.

Nobody knows for sure how this liturgical war will end, but it seems obvious to me that everyone loses, starting with fans, who thus miss the opportunity to witness the original line-up evolving its sound through time. Nevertheless, while waiting for new dramatic episodes, we can still enjoy the chapters written by these two siamese entities, and as far as Raskol is concerned, it is undoubtedly a successful one. It's a prayer for redemption, a prayer for fans.

Well Bart, I'm listening.



Recent reviews by this author
Napalm Death Throes of Joy in the Jaws of DefeatismSkeletal Remains The Entombment of Chaos
Void Rot Descending PillarsCytotoxin Nuklearth
Incantation Sect of Vile DivinitiesKarmacipher Introspectrum
user ratings (46)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A pleasant surprise.



Full stream:

http://batushka.bandcamp.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0-yCJVXA0SM



Digging: Proscription - Conduit

Itwasthatwas
August 8th 2020


2905 Comments


Yeah I don’t care who makes what as long as its good. Will check this later today

garas
August 8th 2020


4941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Oh boy, this is something really new :0

Will jam ASAP.

Digging: Judas Iscariot - Thy Dying Light

zaruyache
August 8th 2020


22863 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

bet it doesn't sound like batushka

Digging: Obliteration - Cenotaph Obscure

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feature staff squad ;)

brainmelter
August 8th 2020


7134 Comments


bet[2]

Digging: Daumier - untitled

MillionDead
August 8th 2020


2097 Comments


Kinda fucks me up that this dude stole the other dude's band but if I can listen to R. Kelly and Brand New, I guess I can check this out too.

oltnabrick
August 8th 2020


39906 Comments


sick of this band


both of them should fuck off, they suck

Digging: Cartier God - BasedWorld Trappin

Pho3nix
August 8th 2020


920 Comments


Comes with the territory.

I just listened to 'HOSPODI' for the first time a couple weeks back, and thought it was painfully average. Yet to listen to 'Panihida'. I don't know if this band will ever get through the decisiveness.

Also there is a band called "Batyushka" on bandcamp with the following bio: "A true БАТЮШКА band formed by the orthodox priests from Russia. We are not some bunch of larping posers, but true christians comparing to some fake larpers who can't even spell the name correctly. We stand against satanism or mockery of our christian religion in any form."

LMAO

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, there's some parody stuff out there. That's what happens when you get into melodramas.

zaruyache
August 9th 2020


22863 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Panihida is much better and a proper followup. After the band split there were a couple dozen parody projects that popped up lol.

MillionDead
August 9th 2020


2097 Comments


Yeah, I agree about Panihida. HOSPODI sounded like it'd been put through the standard modern metal filter.

parksungjoon
August 9th 2020


21718 Comments


>We are not some bunch of larping posers, but true christians comparing to some fake larpers who can't even spell the name correctly. We stand against satanism or mockery of our christian religion in any form.

poe's law holding up strong as ever

Digging: Crypt Of Kerberos - World Of Myths

0xME
August 9th 2020


571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

interesting, I had no idea something new was in the works

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Neither did I, only last Thursday did I know about it. I didn't notice any promos.

Egarran
August 9th 2020


18111 Comments


I too see black metal as a mirror of sensorial ambiances

Digging: Be'lakor - Of Breath and Bone

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In this particular case, linked to simplicity, such as the clean guitars present in this release.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2020


12878 Comments


Is it okay if I keep avoiding these meme bands

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In my case I never force myself to listen to anything, I'd say if you've avoided so far I see no reason to change now

CaliggyJack
August 9th 2020


3563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Honestly I found the meme shit hilarious but it's gotten old at this point. As soon as I saw the anime batushka parody thing I was like "oh boy..."



With that aside, I'm actually a big fan of Batyushka, they're one of the few Batushka meme bands who produce consistently good shit, I do wish they could find a vocalist though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy