Katalepsy
Terra Mortuus Est


3.5
great

Review

by Fernando Alves CONTRIBUTOR (71 Reviews)
August 2nd, 2020 | 57 replies


Release Date: 07/31/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Grooving in the mosh pit

Together with Abominable Putridity, Katalepsy are arguably one of the most prominent brutal death metal forces hailing from mother Russia. Their debut album Autopsychosis not only catapulted them into international stardom, but it was also one of the best extreme metal releases of 2013. Combining brutal death metal's massive ferocity with groovy hooks (a bit like Suffocation meets Dying Fetus), the band's signature took the underground world by storm, propelling the band into the top positions of the genre. Three years later, sophomore full-length Gravenous Hour saw the band take a more accessible, standard approach, moving further away from the band's slam roots towards a more groovy, technical signature. This development was not to everyone's liking (myself included), yet I must confess when I now revisited it for this review, I enjoyed it more, which may mean I didn't give it due credit at the time or maybe I was expecting something else. An unfulfilled expectation, some might say. But despite the somewhat controversial journey, the band enters the new decade as one of the greatest exponents of extreme groove metal, along with Dying Fetus and the Brits Dyscarnate.

Terra Mortuus Est revolves around death-related themes, such as coffins, gates to the underworld, the dead, graves and so forth, thus revealing an obsession with death. But, curiously, we also find some references to stars, which makes me wonder if there might be some kind of connection to any mystical belief related to these celestial bodies, something that unfortunately I haven't had the chance to deepen. As we delve into the album, we quickly realize the band keep focusing on their most recent groove formula, but now through a more refined and confident approach, with stronger identity. The album's first half is rather solid. The opener 'Closer than Flesh' not only serves as a great introduction but also manages to perfectly summarize the band's style at the dawn of the new decade. This track captures the right balance between groove and brutality. The fierce fusion of blast beats, breakdowns and lethal riffs makes this song one of the album's most memorable moments. The band's hybrid signature is still very much present in the following songs such as 'The God of Grave' or the title track, which features an interesting array of riffs and tempo changes. The band's technical performances are flawless, the guitars work in perfect symbiosis as do the drums and bass, mirroring an arduous and meticulous work in the preliminary rehearsals. The album's most uninteresting moments, such as the generic gang chorus in 'Kings of the Underground' or the opening narrative in 'Land of Million Crosses', do not derive from lesser performances, but rather from questionable aesthetic choices. Terra Mortuus Est loses some momentum in the second half, namely in the last three tracks, however I would like to highlight the Exhorder-esque groovy riff in 'No Rest No Peace' and the blackened notes in 'Land of Million Crosses', which stand out as the most contrasting moments on the album. Despite the inconsistency in the final straight, Terra Mortuus Est still displays stronger highlights than its predecessor, thus revealing a more focused output.

At the end of the day, I ended up enjoying Terra Mortuus Est, mainly because I listened to it for what it is, without prejudice and without overly comparing it to Autopsychosis. I honestly don't know if much of the metal community will be in tune with me, but as far as I'm concerned, not only do I consider it a solid addition to the band's discography, as I think it will most likely be one of the best extreme groove metal releases of the year.



Recent reviews by this author
Napalm Death Throes of Joy in the Jaws of DefeatismSkeletal Remains The Entombment of Chaos
Void Rot Descending PillarsCytotoxin Nuklearth
Incantation Sect of Vile DivinitiesKarmacipher Introspectrum
user ratings (36)
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Jeremy Wolfers (3)
Katalepsy falls into the mysterious trap of becoming more repetitive whilst also increasing stylisti...



Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 2nd 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I want to apologize to Madbutcher for the overlap (something I obviously don't like to do), but I was already committed to this review since last week.



Good stuff, the first half is particularly interesting.



Full stream:

http://uniqueleaderrecords.bandcamp.com/album/terra-mortuus-est

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-EjEcc4mfE

Digging: Proscription - Conduit

Deathconscious
August 2nd 2020


25219 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Autopsychosis is one of my favorites, and i thought Gravenous Hour was really good. Hope they dont disappoint me here.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 2nd 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You can expect a greater focus on the groove.



Gravenous Hour has grown on me in the last couple of days. Maybe I should have paid more attention to it when it came out.





Deathconscious
August 3rd 2020


25219 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah i noticed that, i sampled a single from my phone. Sounded pretty good to me, but we'll see.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the feature guys ;)

Anthracks
August 3rd 2020


6601 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

gravenous was better than auto. i'll hear this one within the week

Digging: Green Seagull - Cloud Cover

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2020


12878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can't help but feel quite aligned with your thoughts Notrap. Great work.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Nocte.



As far as I can remember, it seems that this is the first time we have two BDM releases in the featured section of the site. That's cool.

Disavowed's Revocation of the Fallen is also solid, btw.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2020


12878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

--it seems that this is the first time we have two BDM releases in the featured section of the site.--



Trends come and go, sometimes the stars just align. Other times the gap would've been filled with a Sowing review or two. The most we can do is keep informing on new albums and let sput be sput.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2020


12878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

re:Disavowed's Revocation of the Fallen is also solid, btw.

Double post: the introduction to "The Process of Comprehension" just gave me half a chubb.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, nice kick-off. The opener and the following track go hard.

XfingTheSullen
August 3rd 2020


4500 Comments


This band is basically slam with normal vocals, that on its own makes them worth listening to

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I hear you, but I have a hard time labelling them as slam these days, although we still find traces of it in their music.

Deathconscious
August 3rd 2020


25219 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Seems like every band with a few slams here and there is getting labeled slam these days.

Madbutcher3
August 3rd 2020


2643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

they haven't been slam since before autopsychosis



this one has grown on me a bit but I still find that some tracks don't work really (Kings of the Underworld, Neonomicon III, t/t). Hope they get another better drummer cus it's seriously night and day compared to before, like the drumming has kinda no flair to it



might go back and review gravenous hour since it does seem odd that it's still not got one

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That would be awesome.

Deathconscious
August 3rd 2020


25219 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The drumming on the first two was a blast.

MementoMori
August 3rd 2020


907 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It still doesn't live up to their debute (or sophomore), but it was midly enjoyable at times. Still a bit of a disappointment in my eyes.

Anthracks
August 3rd 2020


6601 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

having a slow groovy riff doesn't make a band a slam band. a band is a slam band if they are 80%+ slam riffs. all brutal death metal has "slams" because all brutal death metal (with few exceptions) have slower-paced riffs to break up the onslaught. these don't make you a slam band, just like having a breakdown in your death metal album doesn't make you a deathcore band. we will be labeling immolation as deathcore by this logic.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2020


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're the BDM expert around here, I take your word for it. Since you mentioned breakdowns, the band now shows some deathcore-ish vibes at times.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy