Fuming Mouth
The Grand Descent


4.0
excellent

Review

by costofnothing USER (12 Reviews)
July 29th, 2020 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: HM-2 breakdowns

I should really try to review less hardcore, metalcore, and death metal. Only so many different ways you can say “heavy” and “vicious” before the reader says in their head “Ok, I get it, I definitely CANNOT play this when I have the aux in the car with my relatively normal friends.” Heavy. Hard. Big. Tough. Grr. The best part about doing these reviews is how little you have to actually elaborate on why this album is so brutal or whatever adjective you choose to describe it synonymous with “angry.” If you say something “goes hard” it's like the community that listens to this music intrinsically understands what that means. Like some kind of caveman instinct to swing your arms around like a dreidel when you hear groovy, loud as hell HM-2 riffs and pissed-off vocals. Honestly, I love this recent trend of OSDM bands deciding to add big fat fist-swinging breakdowns at the end of their songs. Being that the metalcore scene has currently been taken over by butt rock and progressive metal with occasional breakdowns, it's nice to have bands like this that don’t waste your time and get straight to the parts that you came for.


This album is that low IQ knuckle dragging ***. The Grand Descent does not have key changes or anything resembling a developed album concept. This is the kind of stuff I would turn on in HS for the kid who thinks Linkin Park is heavy. If Fuming Mouth was a bully, it would poison your dog right after taking your lunch money and ripping it to shreds in front of your face. Maybe even defecate on your grandmother’s grave. Think of this album's sound as if Gatecreeper and Nails had an affair that ended with one of them behind bars and the other dead. The riffs are doomy as hell at times, like on “Burning Hand” or “Visions Of Purgatory” and they build up like political tension in a U.S. client state, and the breakdowns are the CIA-financed coups that send everything into the gutter. Faster songs like “The Great Equalizer” or “Fatalism” are where it is really at though. The fight riffs in these songs make me want to commit bare-handed genocide against the drywall in my room. I hope to god these guys come to my town one day so I can witness first-hand someone getting body slammed like it’s a cage match during one of these breakdowns. Good god the guitar tone on this album is huge and nasty. It’s either the case that these guys know that the way to compensate for lack of technical skill is to make everything sound like a chainsaw big enough to chop redwoods, or they just don’t care about their listeners' eardrums in the slightest. I don’t know. I’m running out of ways to describe that this music is loud and aggressive. As to the shortcomings of this album, it definitely isn’t anything original as much as just very well-executed. The last few songs honestly aren’t that great, and retread the same ground as everything that came before it. If you’re looking for a varied listening experience that rewards analysis, spare yourself the time and go listen to the new Opeth or something. The lyrics, if you were concerned about their quality, are serviceable, from what I can make out. Stuff gets destroyed. Personal problems get vented out in the most hateful and double-fisted way possible. The delivery of the vocalist makes up for any lack of depth, the way he says “WHY THE F*CK DO I HAVE TO SUFFER” or “KNEEL DOWN” is great. Overall, this album feels like, I don’t know, something really bad happening to you over and over again. In a good way.



Recent reviews by this author
Fit for a King The PathJustice For The Damned Pain Is Power
Thursday War All the TimeGulch Impenetrable Cerebral Fortress
Three Knee Deep Three Knee DeepBury Tomorrow Cannibal
user ratings (96)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
parksungjoon
July 29th 2020


27683 Comments


>This is the kind of stuff I would turn on in HS for the kid who thinks Linkin Park is heavy.

id go with nile or pig destroyer personally

Digging: The Sisters of Mercy - Temple of Love / Heartland

costofnothing
July 29th 2020


153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this album grooves at times nile or PD is much more intimidating now that I think about it

NeroCorleone
July 30th 2020


235 Comments


Good review. This was one of my favorites from last year.

Digging: Plutocracy - Sniping Pigz

Ray91
July 30th 2020


791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

killer record. as angry as it gets

deathofasalesman
July 30th 2020


7221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you're doing a great service reviewing these review-less albums. can't believe it's been a whole year without one. nice work



definitely review more hardcore, metalcore, and death metal

Demon of the Fall
July 30th 2020


18466 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good work indeed. I remember enjoying the production and general heaviness more than the actual compositions. Decent enough though.

Digging: Sed Non Satiata - Le Ciel De Notre Enfance

costofnothing
July 30th 2020


153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@deathofasalesman Thanks man, gonna try and look through some other records of this kind to see which ones really need a review

deathofasalesman
July 30th 2020


7221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty much anything triple b records releases needs a review

BallsToTheWall
July 30th 2020


50265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band rules.

humandoorstop
July 30th 2020


66 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, this is the conceptually tightest, funniest, and most well executed (best executed?) review I've seen on this page in a long time. And it doesn't even feel like you tried very hard. Your closing statement about this record making you feel like something bad is happening to you over and over again in a good way almost made me tear up, it so accurately describes what keeps me coming back to this album. And that offhand dig at US foreign policy is heartwarming. I must say, though, I'm aesthetically offended by that two-paragraph structure. It sets my teeth on edge--but maybe that's intended, what with all the talk of anger and brutality.

humandoorstop
July 30th 2020


66 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0



If you're not actually tired of discussing heaviness, I would very much enjoy reading your take on God Mother's Vilseledd or Maktbehov, neither of which has been reviewed. Aseitas' False Peace also needs a review, but that's a totally different animal...

costofnothing
July 30th 2020


153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@humandoorstep Thanks. I'll definitely check it out. I wrote this in about an hour because I was nodding my head to a breakdown and getting the urge to punch something and thought "does this have a review?" so it isn't the most planned out.

humandoorstop
July 31st 2020


66 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I appreciate it for what it is. I hope you like God Mother, I haven't found anyone to bond over it with. If you listen to anything at all, listen to Maktbehov's closer, Eyes Bleached. Or Nothing.

Dedes
August 11th 2020


7452 Comments


I feel like the easiest band to scare your Linkin Park friends is Cattle Decapitation.
A lot of people have never even heard a blast beat so might as well swing in balls deep lmao

deathofasalesman
August 11th 2020


7221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've never been in a social situation that calls for me to scare people who listen to Linkin Park.



If I did, I'd choose Anaal Nathrakh's Codex Necro.

costofnothing
August 13th 2020


153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@deathofasalesman



Good pick, that band was legendary in terms of disturbing and unhinged music. I never actually tried to out-brutal my friends or whatever, at least not past middle school. I realized that I couldn't complain about people not liking a lot of the music I like if I instantly tried to scare them with its most extreme forms.

deathofasalesman
August 14th 2020


7221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

checked this one out because of this review, it's pretty SIQQ

costofnothing
August 17th 2020


153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@deathofasalesman



The people walking down into some burning hellscape on the album cover is a good representation of what listening to this album feels like

goonmob
January 20th 2021


76 Comments


summary perfectly describes this record lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy