Gaerea
Limbo


3.5
great

Review

by Fernando Alves CONTRIBUTOR (79 Reviews)
July 26th, 2020 | 57 replies


Release Date: 07/24/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Between heaven and hell

In Roman Catholic theology, limbo (from latin limbus) is the boundary between heaven and hell where dwell those souls who, although not condemned to hell, have been deprived of the joy of eternal existence. I am not a religious man, but for true believers, this imaginary place is truly terrifying, for it is a symbol of spiritual decay and eternal anguish. Through their sophomore album Limbo, the Portuguese Gaerea intend to open a window to enlighten these rotten souls, giving them a glimpse of liberation and a chance of salvation. Eliran Kantor's cover art magnificently portrays this religious concept.

Stylistically, Gaerea's black metal features some similarities to the Polish scene, namely to Behemoth and Mgla, the latter being their greatest source of inspiration. This DNA remains immutable in Limbo, yet the band's signature is now denser and more hermetic, just like a sonic monolith. We no longer find the catchy hooks present in songs such as 'Absent' or 'Whispers'. Limbo behaves like a massive single organism too heavy to deviate from its path. Although all songs display a remarkable tempo variation ('Mare' being a good example) we don't find any relevant contrasts throughout the album, and that's Limbo's Achilles heel - its lack of diversity. This more monochromatic approach requires some patience from the listener, forcing us to be constantly aware of the subtle nuances within songs. I wouldn't be surprised if some would find the album somewhat monotonous and boring. I myself had to struggle against boredom throughout the first few listenings, but my persistence paid off as I discovered those tiny little details that lend personality to Limbo. The dramatic, agonizing vocals and the way guitars move between fingerpicking patterns and typical black metal tremolo picking are among the details that deserve our closest attention. 'Glare's' hypnotizing tremolo picking or 'Null's' Behemoth-esque kickoff are also moments that I would like to highlight, due to their inherent strength. Despite the lack of more convincing contrasts I mentioned earlier, the album does not fail to present some somewhat surprising notes, such as the ecclesiastical fragrances in 'Glare', 'Conspiranoia' and 'Mare' or the death metal section in 'Urge'. Nevertheless, all these nuances never truly leave orbit, being only new tones that momentarily deviate from the core palette. The album's gravitational center is too heavy and dense to allow great stylistic leaps. The bold production also actively contributes to the album's massive and dense signature.

Despite its somewhat one-dimensional approach, Limbo has the merit of presenting a coherent formula from beginning to end. Everything was thought down to the smallest detail and nothing was left to chance. This hermetic design deserves to be explored and valued, as it is the fruit of a band with a message and an unwavering desire to deepen and spread its music. I honestly don't know if Gaerea's Limbo will be able to free all the lost souls that wander between heaven and hell, yet I firmly believe it has the intrinsic quality to establish the band as a black metal force to be reckoned with.



Recent reviews by this author
Sodom Genesis XIXAkhlys Melinoë
Of Feather and Bone Sulfuric DisintegrationCarcass Despicable
Undeath Lesions of a Different KindAnaal Nathrakh Endarkenment
user ratings (101)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Null and sway…...



Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2020


15287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good stuff. 'Glare' and 'Mare' are my favorite tracks.

Full-stream:

http://gaerea.bandcamp.com

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLu3WhpU5Z4&t

Digging: Sodom - Genesis XIX

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2020


15287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the feature guys ;)

0xME
July 26th 2020


630 Comments


while nothing earthshaking, this is a really solid album
and the review is great, well earned feature dude

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2020


15287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man

Allergist
July 26th 2020


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep it's a solid album for sure. 'Mare' is probably my favorite. Good read, I'd pos if I could!

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2020


12984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Question asked, answer given. I feel like this is going to go a little under the radar. Nice feature Notrap

deathofasalesman
July 27th 2020


7184 Comments


album art is fire

good review man!

teamster
July 27th 2020


5241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is getting a lot of pub around the net. Thanks NT, excellent review.

Faraudo
July 27th 2020


3857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm gonna have to make a list of all the 2020 black metal albums that are better than overrated's Pissage del iver's album at this pace.

garas
July 27th 2020


5244 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Excellent review, too bad the album rolls like a flat tire.

Digging: Deafheaven - 10 Years Gone

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2020


15287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks a lot guys.

I've only listened to the first three tracks of Paysage d'Hiver. I'm not a big lo-fi fan, but one of these days I'll have to dive into the whole album.



@Nocte

I had to go to the forum to figure out your enigmatic post ;)



Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2020


12984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Our own personal room of requirement.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2020


15287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was expecting you or Jac to have dropped the Defeated Sanity review by now.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2020


12984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have been quiet lately, mostly due to this menu I'm developing. That said there's a number of albums I'd like to get covered - but I feel like making commitments to those records would be bad faith.



Honorable mentions include, but not limited to:



AHTME, Bedsore, Courtney Marie Andrews, Foot, Uada, Incantation, Fawn Limbs, Red Moon Architect, Lantern, ATRÆ BILIS, Grace Disgraced, Carnation (just to name a few).

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2020


15287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lantern is a good jam, Bedsore is also solid. Still need to dive into AHTME. Have you heard Spirit Possession yet? Good stuff.



I was also thinking of reviewing Incantation...closer to the release date we'll talk again ;)

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2020


12984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

--I was also thinking of reviewing Incantation--



Have you heard it yet? Not sure if you're in with the Earsplit guys yet. I'm happy to talk about it now if you like ; ]



As for SP: it's on my playlist but I'm yet to spin it.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2020


15287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I already got Incantation's promo, but I haven't heard it yet. If you start the review first, or if you want to claim it, I'll move on to another album, no problem mate.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2020


12984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm claiming nothing at this point. Have at it mate.

Josh D.
July 27th 2020


16196 Comments


Just listened to the first song, pretty cool.

jouroboros
July 27th 2020


68 Comments


Usually anything Season of Mist puts out.. I love. And mad respect for the unique approach to a youtube album stream.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy