Gulch
Impenetrable Cerebral Fortress


3.5
great

Review

by costofnothing USER (11 Reviews)
July 25th, 2020 | 56 replies


Release Date: 07/24/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I want off Mr. Gulch's wild ride

This kind of face-pummeling grind/black metal/death metal/hardcore punk mish-mash music that has been getting more popular since the early 2010s, after a peak in the early-mid 2000s, is best handled in short bursts. There are only so many times you can recycle variations on old Rotten Sound riffs before the listener starts to notice, and personally, with the way these albums are mixed I’d rather not have to listen to forty-plus minutes of my ears being blown out, regardless of how good it is. Gulch understands this, and encapsulates the very idea of “don’t waste my time” on their debut LP, Impenetrable Cerebral Fortress, clocking in at just around fifteen minutes. The general vibe of this album is one I can only describe as hardcore punk run through some messed up OSDM/grind/BM filter. The d-beats and fight riffs are all there, but sounding more more mangled and unhinged than ever before, like a chimpanzee doped up on speed after escaping the zoo, every track on this album just wants to run around and scream while ripping as many faces off as possible.

On hearing tracks like “Cries of Pleasure, Heavenly Pain” it is easy to see how the dramatic yet raw flair of black metal tropes serves to give a lot of the stuff on this album more heft and a sort of disturbed tone lacking on many more straightforward punk releases. There is a big Intro riff that sounds like something off an old Emperor or Dissection album, and short bursts of blast beats that heighten the feel that this album isn’t just taking you on a ride, it’s holding a gun to your head and throwing you in the trunk as it proceeds to get into a high-speed police chase. This album sounds more Grind-esque at times, with songs like “Lie, Deny, Sanctify” using frenetic Rotten Sound-esque riffage and the vocalist screaming with enough bile and throat-shredding to make J.R. proud. My personal favorite track would have to be “***ing Towards Salvation” which starts with a nasty bass intro distorted to all hell and then goes into a series of mean chugs with a great fight riff at the end. Will be a popular live number for sure. If I had one complaint about this album, I guess it just doesn’t feel as intense or unhinged as their previous EPs. I don’t know exactly why, but if I could guess it is either the cleaner production or less chaotic songwriting. That being said, this is a pretty varied album, and like what has been said of their previous releases, if you’re a fan of any kind of hardcore punk, grind, black metal, or death metal, you’ll probably find something to like.




Recent reviews by this author
Justice For The Damned Pain Is PowerFuming Mouth The Grand Descent
Thursday War All the TimeThree Knee Deep Three Knee Deep
Bury Tomorrow CannibalJustice For The Damned Dragged Through The Dirt
user ratings (70)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Supercoolguy64
July 25th 2020


9503 Comments


thats gotta be the fasted rev to come out for a new album

Digging: Static-X - Project Regeneration Vol. 1

Ryus
July 25th 2020


19350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this looks good

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
July 25th 2020


6526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed that this is less unhinged than Burning Desire...



still great

eliminatorjunior
July 25th 2020


173 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The last song is a cool cover of Siouxsie until

They add a dumbass breakdown

Digging: Hoax - 2nd EP

dannooo28
July 25th 2020


167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shit in my heart

oltnabrick
July 25th 2020


39695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

luv this band

Digging: Egg Hunt - Egg Hunt

deathofasalesman
July 26th 2020


6982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lets just call this what it is, blackened deathcore

Digging: Mutilation Rites - Chasm

ignorethefashion
July 26th 2020


111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

15 minutes later and my living room is fucking trashed.

oltnabrick
July 27th 2020


39695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"lets just call this what it is, blackened deathcore"





lets not!!

deathofasalesman
July 27th 2020


6982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

let's : )



EDIT: is hardcore on sputnik dead? this is arguably one of the most popular hardcore releases rn and we haven't got much dialogue happenin

costofnothing
July 27th 2020


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@deathofasalesman



Idk man, maybe review just ass. But I don't think hxc was ever that popular on sputnik to begin with

bigweinerdon
July 27th 2020


705 Comments


production is hilarious

DungeonBoy
July 27th 2020


7863 Comments


go on

Ryus
July 27th 2020


19350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"is hardcore on sputnik dead? this is arguably one of the most popular hardcore releases rn and we haven't got much dialogue happenin"



sputnik is dead in general lol

costofnothing
July 27th 2020


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, /mu/ and sput have been replaced by social media as places for discussion of music. I kind of like it that way though, this site gets a good amount of discussion while avoiding the toxicity that tends to occur in larger communities

THISISMYWAR
July 27th 2020


561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tbf music dweebs know nothin bout this hard shit

THISISMYWAR
July 27th 2020


561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"production is hilarious"



alexisonfire 4.0

parksungjoon
July 27th 2020


21490 Comments


i prefer my hard shit to sound like this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3BQkM5SL_nE

costofnothing
July 27th 2020


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@THISISMYWAR yeah, it is kind of sad that sputnik is the only music community where you get any kind of discussion of heavy/ignorant shit, I can't go on /mu/ or music twitter without seeing GYBE, MBV, or Neutral Milk Hotel spammed over and over again

costofnothing
July 27th 2020


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@parksungjoon based for the carcass link



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy