Havukruunu
Uinuos Syömein Sota


4.5
superb

Review

by Grumpy USER (24 Reviews)
July 23rd, 2020 | 61 replies


Release Date: 08/14/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Havukruunu's most ambitious and most epic output yet. A massive riff-fest.

The Finnish band Havukruunu is one of a kind, and I dare say one of the most exciting bands with black metal roots from that region nowadays. They were well-known for their riff-centered style and they released consistently good albums from the very beginning. In Uinuos Syömein Sota they managed to level themselves up, blending more and exciting styles into their sound resulting an epic journey with near infinite replay-value.

Bringing together and combining various influences is not an easy thing, but Havukruunu masterfully executed building up their sound. In the simplest terms, Uinuos Syömein Sota is an adventurous, super fast folkish / viking black metal album. However it has a very power metal-ish side as well, which brings a certain "epic" feeling to the overall picture - for example after the first minute in "Pohjolan Tytär" the riffs and soloing show high resemblance to power metal in general, but what you can hear is something else, and that's where the magic is: creating something unique.

It is important to mention that Uinuos Syömein Sota is the band's most folkish album yet, and personally I do believe it is part of the album's success. Most interestingly, this folkish approach could bring certain variety into the whole thing, since at some point it generates those special viking-era Bathory vibes (the opening part in "Kuin Öinen Meri" for example), but in the other times I sensed some really Bergtatt-ish vibes - especially hearing the clean choruses in "Vähiin Päivät Käy" (which is one of the best metal songs of the year, in my humble opinion).

Productionwise, thanks to the great mixing the album has a pleasant sound where the guitars rule over everything - rightfully so, since the guitar work is phenomenal, easily the album's most memorable aspect. Nicely flowing melodies, galopping rhythm leads, fast shredding solos... yeah, I was sold instantly. I'd also highlight the vocals, because I found them exceptionally exciting, which is angry and powerful just as needed, but at other times if the clean choruses step into the spotlight it creates a very epic feeling, which results epic viking battle hymns. Looking at the album cover art, I could imagine it as a theme-music for an epic fantasy duel between two kings~

Cathartic, gripping and adventurous 'til the end, Uinuos Syömein Sota is one really astonishing metal album, which proves the band's great song-writing talent and virtuosity.
To Valhalla!



Recent reviews by this author
Cult of Frey By The Blood of Odin: Part 1 - MidgardBall Like You Are…I Once Was…Like I Am – You Will...
Nargaroth HerbstleydWarmoon Lord / Vultyrium Pure Cold Impurity
Celestial Bloodshed ΩSelvhat Den Svarte Tid
user ratings (115)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
July 23rd 2020


4949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Full stream and merch at Naturmacht Productions: https://naturmachtproductions.bandcamp.com/album/uinuos-sy-mein-sota

Digging: Slagmaur - Von Rov Shelter

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


14965 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm enjoying the album, I'm glad it's been reviewed. Good work garas ;)



The songwriting is quite diverse, something that favors the album. I love the old-school speed metal approach on some tracks.

Digging: Gorephilia - In The Eye Of Nothing

Sunnyvale
July 23rd 2020


1772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. I'm excited to hear this, as both of the band's first two albums were great

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


26042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

YES this album is so good

Digging: Uada - Djinn

Sunnyvale
July 23rd 2020


1772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

On my first listen, last track rips so hard

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


8858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Congrats on the feature!









Edit:

For reasons that start to crystallize just now, the album feels analogous to Blind Guardian's Somewhere Far Beyond.

Digging: The Anti Troppau Council - A Way Out

CaptainDooRight
July 23rd 2020


4344 Comments


I’m alive!!!!!!!

Pho3nix
July 23rd 2020


922 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review man!



As I said before somewhere, the final two tracks are def the highlights. I love the Moomin ambient.



As for the title of the record, I know it is supposed to mean "Languish, thou war of my heart" - it doesn't make any sense to me, 'sota' means war but this is some type of olde ancient Finnish I don't recognize :P

CaptainDooRight
July 23rd 2020


4344 Comments


5 it Alf

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


8858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Pho3nix



It's one's invocation to self for the war in his/her heart to weaken (= languish)

garas
July 23rd 2020


4949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Woah, thanks for the feature!!!! And ofc, thank y'all for the kind words!



And I totally agree with Pho3nixbro, the last two tracks are def the highlights.

Elynna
July 23rd 2020


569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent review man. This riffs hard.

Digging: Enslaved - Utgard

DDDeftoneDDD
July 23rd 2020


13462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome album, awesome rev. POS

Digging: Svalbard - When I Die, Will I Get Better?

DDDeftoneDDD
July 23rd 2020


13462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ja Viimein On Yö's main riff is stuck in my head for the last couple of days. I need help.

DungeonBoy
July 23rd 2020


7944 Comments


Battleworthy as expected. Nice write-up garas

PortalofPerfection
July 23rd 2020


2366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album fucking rips.



Nice review, I could take some pointers from your concise approach.



Pangea
July 23rd 2020


4740 Comments


nice review garas

Digging: Slowdive - Slowdive

Evok
July 23rd 2020


8037 Comments


New Havuu!! Gotta have this

Digging: Regarde Les Hommes Tomber - Ascension

PortalofPerfection
July 23rd 2020


2366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've spun this a bunch of times already, great album to just have on doing whatever. Pretty sure I hit the keys on my work keyboard about 50% harder.

necropig
July 23rd 2020


6103 Comments


oh shit, cool, front page



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy