Havukruunu
Uinuos Syömein Sota


4.5
superb

Review

by Gary Grump CONTRIBUTOR (50 Reviews)
July 23rd, 2020 | 98 replies


Release Date: 2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Havukruunu's most ambitious and most epic output yet. A massive riff-fest.

The Finnish band Havukruunu is one of a kind, and I dare say one of the most exciting bands with black metal roots from that region nowadays. They were well-known for their riff-centered style and they released consistently good albums from the very beginning. In Uinuos Syömein Sota they managed to level themselves up, blending more and exciting styles into their sound resulting an epic journey with near infinite replay-value.

Bringing together and combining various influences is not an easy thing, but Havukruunu masterfully executed building up their sound. In the simplest terms, Uinuos Syömein Sota is an adventurous, super fast folkish / viking black metal album. However it has a very power metal-ish side as well, which brings a certain "epic" feeling to the overall picture - for example after the first minute in "Pohjolan Tytär" the riffs and soloing show high resemblance to power metal in general, but what you can hear is something else, and that's where the magic is: creating something unique.

It is important to mention that Uinuos Syömein Sota is the band's most folkish album yet, and personally I do believe it is part of the album's success. Most interestingly, this folkish approach could bring certain variety into the whole thing, since at some point it generates those special viking-era Bathory vibes (the opening part in "Kuin Öinen Meri" for example), but in the other times I sensed some really Bergtatt-ish vibes - especially hearing the clean choruses in "Vähiin Päivät Käy" (which is one of the best metal songs of the year, in my humble opinion).

Productionwise, thanks to the great mixing the album has a pleasant sound where the guitars rule over everything - rightfully so, since the guitar work is phenomenal, easily the album's most memorable aspect. Nicely flowing melodies, galopping rhythm leads, fast shredding solos... yeah, I was sold instantly. I'd also highlight the vocals, because I found them exceptionally exciting, which is angry and powerful just as needed, but at other times if the clean choruses step into the spotlight it creates a very epic feeling, which results epic viking battle hymns. Looking at the album cover art, I could imagine it as a theme-music for an epic fantasy duel between two kings~

Cathartic, gripping and adventurous 'til the end, Uinuos Syömein Sota is one really astonishing metal album, which proves the band's great song-writing talent and virtuosity.
To Valhalla!



Recent reviews by this author
Saidan Onryō II: Her Spirit EternalHallas Isle of Wisdom
Napalm Death Resentment is Always Seismic...Aequorea Dim
Krampusnacht KrampusferatuVarious Artists Back in Black (Redux)
user ratings (207)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


7181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Full stream and merch at Naturmacht Productions: https://naturmachtproductions.bandcamp.com/album/uinuos-sy-mein-sota

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


17580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm enjoying the album, I'm glad it's been reviewed. Good work garas ;)



The songwriting is quite diverse, something that favors the album. I love the old-school speed metal approach on some tracks.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


3822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. I'm excited to hear this, as both of the band's first two albums were great

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


27370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

YES this album is so good

Digging: Be Well - Hello Sun

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


3822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

On my first listen, last track rips so hard

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


9569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Congrats on the feature!









Edit:

For reasons that start to crystallize just now, the album feels analogous to Blind Guardian's Somewhere Far Beyond.

Digging: Morgue Supplier - Inevitability

Pho3nix
July 23rd 2020


1302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review man!



As I said before somewhere, the final two tracks are def the highlights. I love the Moomin ambient.



As for the title of the record, I know it is supposed to mean "Languish, thou war of my heart" - it doesn't make any sense to me, 'sota' means war but this is some type of olde ancient Finnish I don't recognize :P

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


9569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Pho3nix



It's one's invocation to self for the war in his/her heart to weaken (= languish)

garas
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


7181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Woah, thanks for the feature!!!! And ofc, thank y'all for the kind words!



And I totally agree with Pho3nixbro, the last two tracks are def the highlights.

Elynna
July 23rd 2020


1143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent review man. This riffs hard.

Digging: Catrin Finch and Seckou Keita - Echo

DDDeftoneDDD
July 23rd 2020


20174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome album, awesome rev. POS

Digging: YIN YIN - The Rabbit That Hunts Tigers

DDDeftoneDDD
July 23rd 2020


20174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ja Viimein On Yö's main riff is stuck in my head for the last couple of days. I need help.

DungeonBoy
July 23rd 2020


8890 Comments


Battleworthy as expected. Nice write-up garas

PortalofPerfection
July 23rd 2020


2656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album fucking rips.



Nice review, I could take some pointers from your concise approach.



Digging: Tombstoner - Victims of Vile Torture

Pangea
July 23rd 2020


8390 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nice review garas

Digging: Gospel - The Loser

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


8884 Comments


New Havuu!! Gotta have this

Digging: Batu - Opal

PortalofPerfection
July 23rd 2020


2656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've spun this a bunch of times already, great album to just have on doing whatever. Pretty sure I hit the keys on my work keyboard about 50% harder.

necropig
July 23rd 2020


6515 Comments


oh shit, cool, front page

Digging: The Chasm - The Scars Of A Lost Reflective Shadow

christhjian
July 23rd 2020


714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great band, gotta check asap

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


4448 Comments


nice review garas! will give it a listen as you say it's more folk-leaning :]

Digging: Dream Dolphin - Dolphins Talk to You



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy