Lost For Life
We All Share The Blame


3.5
great

Review

by joshieboy USER (24 Reviews)
July 22nd, 2020 | 22 replies


Release Date: 07/17/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ex-For The Fallen Dreams vocalist Dylan Richter returns to the metalcore scene with a promising project

We all know what we are going to hear when Dylan Richter is behind a microphone. He is of course most well-known as the former vocalist of metalcore stalwarts ‘For The Fallen Dreams’ with his discography ranging from the excellent ‘Relentless’, the average ‘Back Burner’ and the poor ‘Wasted Youth’. People are going to wonder whether this is worth a listen with the variance of quality of his previous work, but l can assure you metalcore fans, this is worth a go.

The band consists of Richter and Jason Spencer who is an ex guitarist of the band ‘Wilson’. Now l won’t lie to you, l have never heard of ‘Wilson’ so l was pleasantly surprised to hear the guitar work contained on this EP is solid. ‘Keep Me Down’ features a groovy riff that any metalcore outfit would be happy to have produced and the rest of the song is carried well by Richter. Richter’s vocals of course are the main reason why this is worth checking out as it’ll give fans of FTFD a sense of nostalgia while listening to it.

Richter also experiments much more with his clean singing voice which has improved since his FTFD run. His harsh vocals are definitely much stronger than his clean voice but it is an admirable effort from the front man with the choruses of ‘Sediment’ and ‘On Your Own Accord’ being a good example of his clean voice. As mentioned before, the guitar riffs are par for the course for metalcore with some breakdowns chucked in for good measure, but they are nothing to be complained about. EP highlight ‘Keep Me Down’ contains a nice riff and some intricate playing throughout.

The production was handled by the band members themselves and the mix is clear. The guitar tone is nice and sludgy and the vocals are produced in a way that makes them sound rough but that definitely suits Richter’s voice. The programmed drums fill the gaps in the songs well and do their job.

Fans of metalcore will find familiar sounds contained in this EP. This is nothing ground-breaking and it takes very few risks, but it is well worth the time if you are a fan of the genre and the Richter FTFD-era.



Recent reviews by this author
Yours Truly Self CareRich People Grace Session
Currents The Way It EndsThornhill The Dark Pool
Wage War PressureMovements Feel Something
user ratings (14)
3.1
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
joshieboy
July 22nd 2020


7715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just a short little review on this. I've got more time on my hands now being jobless (thanks COVID) so l might be reviewing some more stuff. See how l go. I thought this was quite good and a nice throwback to FTFD. Will have to see what the future has in store for these guys.

SteakByrnes
July 22nd 2020


20808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ayyy nice, glad to see this get a review have a pos. I'm really digging this, I've missed Dylan's voice and it's great to hear it again

Digging: Vientre - Semillas

joshieboy
July 22nd 2020


7715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it's defs growing on me

SteakByrnes
July 22nd 2020


20808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You Without You, Sediment, and Keep Me Down are so damn good

JayEnder
July 22nd 2020


8107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yo this not only got a review, but a good one??? You are the real MVP bro.



Yeah, this is gonna be a sleeper hit of 2020 for sure. You Without You and Keep Me Down go stupid hard

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

SteakByrnes
July 22nd 2020


20808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yea this is definitely gonna make my end of the year favorites

JayEnder
July 23rd 2020


8107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Duuude congrats on getting featured!



More people gotta check this out tho forreal.

joshieboy
July 23rd 2020


7715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Jay. Thanks sput for the feature. Wasn't really expecting that at all since l pretty much just put this together within an hour.

JesperL
July 23rd 2020


1347 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sweet write up! listening to this rn, don't really love the clean vox but it sounds pretty nice and groovy otherwise

Digging: Movements - No Good Left To Give

SaveBandit
July 23rd 2020


1283 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is fun for sure. Dylan still sounds solid, I'm glad he hasn't lost a step in the vocal department.

Digging: Movements - No Good Left To Give

nash1311
July 23rd 2020


1952 Comments


Was underwhelmed by this. Not sure where I stand with it atm

charlie15
July 24th 2020


161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is great. id like an album

SteakByrnes
July 24th 2020


20808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yea same, hopefully he keeps this up and it wasn't just a one off thing

joshieboy
July 29th 2020


7715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Keep Me Down is gonna be the most underrated song of the year in metalcore imo

SteakByrnes
July 29th 2020


20808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Incredible track

JayEnder
August 2nd 2020


8107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Apparently they're already dropping a new song on the 14th. Dylan must be a busy lad

SteakByrnes
August 2nd 2020


20808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh hell yea that's hype, maybe he'll just drop an album on us

joshieboy
August 3rd 2020


7715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All in on a new song. Let's gooo

JayEnder
August 14th 2020


8107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://youtu.be/3oYVldWpsoo



New song slaps but Dylan's cleans need some work lol. Also holy shit do these guys really have 78k monthly listeners on Spotify already? That rules so hard

joshieboy
August 14th 2020


7715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

29 views on that vid haha. Proper underground



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy