The Rolling Stones
Sticky Fingers


2.0
poor

Review

by Underflow USER (26 Reviews)
July 19th, 2020 | 72 replies


Release Date: 1971 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A masterclass in theft and racism

Cancel culture has been front in center in western life for some time now, ruining the careers of dozens of the rich and famous. From comedians to politicians, anyone at any time can be a victim of cancel culture. But if there is any target deserving of cancellation that has yet to face justice, it is undoubtedly the Rolling Stones. The Stones have made a career profiteering off the sounds of black rock and blues artists, stealing their sound for monetary gain and fame. Artists such as Chuck Berry and Muddy Waters, pioneers of rock and blues, have been sonically mugged by the Stones for decades, as Mick Jagger and company "pay tribute" to their influences and charge exorbitant ticket prices. This may seem a little extreme to some of you reading this, but a comparative listen between the Stones and black rock and blues artists reveals just how much has been stolen. The Stones have been committing these crimes against music for decades, but it's not just the Stones who are culpable. The audience is also to blame for their part in this, voluntarily supporting a band without an original idea and the gall to exploit their peers. How many thousands of fans have thrown their money at Jagger and company, money that could have, and should have, gone to the black rock and blues community instead? It's time for this insanity to end. The Rolling Stones, if they have any semblance of conscience left to them, should pay reparations to all black rock and blues artists of the 50s and 60s who still live. If this is not done, it will send a harrowing message to the music community at large: that you can perpetuate theft and racism without consequence. I pray that message isn't sent.



Recent reviews by this author
Eiffel 65 EuropopScale the Summit In a World of Fear
The Stargazer's Assistant Remoteness Of LightElephant9 Silver Mountain
Dream Theater The AstonishingGazpacho Molok
user ratings (1308)
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of
  • lz41 (5)
    ...

    Oddsen (4)
    Sticky Fingers is a great album filled with bluesy riffs and beautiful acoustic songs that...

    Mr0 (5)
    Hedonism, blues and the spirit of rock n roll are the ingredients that the Stones used to ...

    Baz360 (5)
    And you thought Let It Bleed was good......

  • keep on phishin' (4.5)
    ...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Underflow
July 19th 2020


5297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Awful band.

WeepingBanana
July 19th 2020


11388 Comments


I get what you're saying but the stones rule and you have 2 zeppelin albums 5'd also when I read "victim of cancel culture" that gave me the go ahead to turn my brain off so I'm gonna go ahead and say stupid and bad review

Underflow
July 19th 2020


5297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I 5'd those Zeppelin albums like 10 years ago. I need to delete all my ratings.

Colton
July 19th 2020


15320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This type of trolling was edgy back in 2017, very lame and unfunny now

WeepingBanana
July 19th 2020


11388 Comments


Be a hero and donate your surplus cash to the Berry estate!

Underflow
July 19th 2020


5297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Very lazy to call me a troll simply because you're incapable of intellectually engaging in the conversation

Colton
July 19th 2020


15320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you post this in a Ben Shapiro video comments section people might react better

Sinternet
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2020


26597 Comments


stunning and brave

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2020


5922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Spinning this now, album rules

Underflow
July 19th 2020


5297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Album most certainly does not rule.

ArsMoriendi
July 19th 2020


41093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I hate saying this because it's so rarely true for artists, but



The Rolling Stones are usually a singles band, their deep cuts are usually lame

ArsMoriendi
July 19th 2020


41093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Some Girls and Exile are the biggest exceptions to that rule



It's cool that they let Andy Warhol put Joe D'alessandro's crotch on the cover though



EDIT: WAIT, this review is stupid as fuck and not why this album is overrated, wait til this guy learns about pre-Rubber Soul Beatles

Underflow
July 19th 2020


5297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Is the mental capacity of this website just to call things stupid because they disagree and not have an actual discussion

Divaman
July 19th 2020


16120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album. Insane review.

ArsMoriendi
July 19th 2020


41093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You wrote 1 paragraph that doesn't actually talk about the album, just it's influence from black artists, it's tone deaf as hell



You also make 0 explaination of why a white band being influenced by black artists is bad.



It looks extra silly when you have multiple Led Zeppelin albums 5'd (AKA artists who actually plagiarized tons of black blues musicians directly) when The Roling Stones always credited their covers

Underflow
July 19th 2020


5297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I already mentioned that those 5s were made a decade ago. They don't reflect my current thinking.

Underflow
July 19th 2020


5297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Led Zeppelin are just as guilty of exploiting black artists as the Stones, if not moreso.

WeepingBanana
July 19th 2020


11388 Comments


Chuck Berry, Muddy Waters... the list goes on!!!

Underflow
July 19th 2020


5297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"You also make 0 explaination of why a white band being influenced by black artists is bad." Calling the rolling stones "influenced" by black artists is selling this way too short. Actually listen to black blues and rock pioneers, then listen to the Stones. It goes beyond influence into plagiarism and cultural appropriation.

zakalwe
July 19th 2020


38977 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol good lad



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy