EOB
Earth


3.5
great

Review

by Benjamin Kuettel STAFF
July 13th, 2020 | 21 replies


Release Date: 04/17/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A suitably low-key debut offering that reflects the early days of Radiohead.

Ed O’Brien’s role in Radiohead has always been a subtle but important one. He mainly plays the role of rhythm and experimental guitarist who contributes to the musical textures and ambiance of the band’s sound. Despite remaining largely in the background, his presence is still very necessary. It’s clear the more one learns of Radiohead that without him, the band would lose an important element of their atmosphere. For his long-awaited solo offering, O’Brien pursues a mellow sound with some electronic flourishes.

“Shangri-La” opens the record as a surprisingly catchy rhythmic alternative rock song channeling the approachable radio rock of early Radiohead. One of the album’s centerpieces, “Brasil,” follows and channels a house music style and propels with a glittery melody that recalls a more mainstream take on the style of The King of Limbs.

After these two standouts, much of the remainder of the album revels in quiet, wandering folk and indie rock with the exception of the second standout, “Olympik.” Electronic drums provide a backbone while walls of guitars and synths create a colorful atmosphere for over eight minutes long. If this sort of creativity were sprinkled throughout the album, it would make for a more consistent result. As it stands, Earth is a subtle and enjoyable little singer/songwriter album that highlights Ed O’Brien’s songwriting prowess.



Recent reviews by this author
Gorillaz Song Machine, Season One: Strange TimezJonsi Shiver
Oneohtrix Point Never Garden of DeleteHammock Universalis
Sand The Dynamic CurveAvenged Sevenfold Hail to the King
user ratings (48)
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Barry000 (2.5)
Mildly enjoyable album stuffed with too many ideas...



Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2020


19103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This has been out for a while now, recently found time to give it a brief write-up. I think now Colin Greenwood is the only member of Radiohead who hasn't dropped a solo album yet.

Digging: Blackfield - For The Music

Feather
July 13th 2020


6304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album was pretty awesome.. your review is on point. I will need to revisit more than just Brasil soon.

Digging: Seahaven - Halo of Hurt

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2020


20594 Comments


Was wondering if this would every get a review, I've gotta check it

EclipseInYourEyes
July 14th 2020


1657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I really disliked most of the lyrics and good parts of the vocals but the songwriting in general and the production are pretty neat here

Digging: Plini - Impulse Voices

EclipseInYourEyes
July 14th 2020


1657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

kinda wished for a more instrumental focused approach

Sunnyvale
July 14th 2020


1851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listening to this now, interesting album so far

Trifolium
July 15th 2020


20105 Comments


Hmm nice, might give this a go! Those ratings aren't too promising though. Although that might actually be good expectation-wise...

Sunnyvale
July 15th 2020


1851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

After two listens, this is pretty much the perfect "3" album. Some very great songs, but it's all over the place, and there's also some fairly bad moments.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2020


19103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it's all over the place, but at least it's pretty much all good: three acoustic folk songs which are quite nice, a few alt. rock style songs, and then the two epic electronic LCD Soundsystem-esque ones. No idea what genre Mass would be haha

EclipseInYourEyes
July 15th 2020


1657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

what Sunnyvale said

anatelier
July 16th 2020


3682 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This was an Excess Of Boring

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2020


5275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'Shangri-La' is a cool song, but yeah, until 'Olympik', the album settles into a folksy slumber with few interesting moments.

Digging: Shores of Null - Beyond the Shores (On Death and Dying)

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 20th 2020


62821 Comments


" A suitably low-key debut offering that reflects the early days of Radiohead."

i wish more review summary's could be this damn direct. one fucking sentence and i already know to avoid this like the plague. is it really too much to ask for something like this instead of random song lyrics out of context?

Digging: Godfather Don - Beats, Bangers and Biscuits...

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2020


5275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yes, it is

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 21st 2020


62821 Comments


oh for you i'm sure it is

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 21st 2020


62821 Comments


woops forgot to insert some whimsical ellipses to really get my point across...

EclipseInYourEyes
July 22nd 2020


1657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'm kinda with Potsy here

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2020


5275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I mostly agree with him too, I answered his question as a joke. Still, sometimes it's hard to summarize in a few words how an album sounds. Regarding the lyrics out of context use, I, for example, do it to diversify things.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 22nd 2020


62821 Comments


Yeah I get it, was being dramatic/hyperbolic just for shits, but it is definitely refreshing (and rare) to read a summary this concise

someguest
July 24th 2020


29985 Comments


I enjoyed this record. I got some Underworld vibes from it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy