Dawn Of Ashes
The Antinomian


4.7
superb

Review

by Simon K. STAFF
July 12th, 2020 | 27 replies


Release Date: 07/10/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A flagship record for modern industrial music.

I’m fairly new to Dawn of Ashes, having only discovered them through their single “Blood of the Titans”, but let me tell you now – they had me in the opening thirty seconds of that track. For a guy who lingers over various streaming outlets in the hope of uncovering a present-day metal band who at least dabbles in the industrial ethos of the 80s and 90s, you can probably imagine my disappointment with how infrequently that discovery actually happens. However, 10th July, 2020 was not one of those days; not only did Dawn of Ashes’ The Antinomian feed my yearnings for old-school aesthetics, it actually metamorphized itself into a flagship record that will undisputedly please fans of this niche style, and definitely lure in newcomers as well. Dawn of Ashes have crafted a record that pays homage to the industrial pantheon of the greats, whilst making it entirely their own thing and current sounding. It resides in the dense, dystopian worlds the likes of which Frontline Assembly have forged in the past, but it seamlessly integrates this clinical soundscape with industrial-black-metal, aggrotech, and at times a peppering of metalcore for diversity’s sake. More traditional offerings come in the form of “Mind Prison” and “Pawns of the Wretched”: quintessential aggro-industrial tunes jam-packed with Kristof’s cold, robotic hisses, a pounding drum machine, and a loop of whirring synthetic melodies that are sure to please purists of this type of music. While the big, booming neo-trance number “Sleep Paralysis”, or the industrial-black-metal chugger “Straight to the Core” are guaranteed to perpetuate constant immersion right up until the very end of the LP.

Generally, two frequent caveats recur in this genre: the first is a bloated run time which has songs overstaying their welcome, made more damaging with stubbornly repetitive loops; the second is vocal work which can lack variety or the staying power needed to retain the listener’s attention. What works in The Antinomian’s favour is it manages to keep both of those issues in check. Kristof has a number of vocal variations that fluctuate around the aggro wheeze, metalcore growl, and the guttural, demonic purr Nero is known for on latter-day Psyclon Nine records. Couple that with routine instrumental shake-ups and you have one hell of an album on your hands. The Antinomian runs at just under forty minutes in length, thus avoiding any potential padding, but its compositions are filled with numerous ideas, a fantastically cohesive, nihilistic atmosphere and a gritty production that really nails the zeitgeist of the industrial era of the 80s and 90s – with contemporary elements to ensure its vibrant vitality. The samples on the likes of “Scum of the Earth” are simply crushing to hear, and it’s hard for me not to talk about this album without sounding like I’m gushing all over it, but rest assured, if you’re a fan of this type of music you’re in for something special here. Dawn of Ashes overtly display their understanding for these genres and the results accumulate into the very best elements from them. Unlike 3TEETH’s last album, The Antinomian takes a derivative headspace but develops something both faithful to their respective inspirations, whilst making something entirely contemporary out of them. It’s good to see bands dipping their toe into this kind of sound anyway, but when it’s done this well, it’s made all the sweeter for it.

FORMAT//EDITIONS:
CD//DIGITAL//VINYL

PACKAGING:
N/A

SPECIAL EDITION BONUSES:
N/A

ALBUM STREAM//PURCHASE:
https://dawnofashesofficial.bandcamp.com/




Recent reviews by this author
Machine Gun Kelly Tickets to My DownfallMarilyn Manson We Are Chaos
Seether Si Vis Pacem, Para BellumBiffy Clyro A Celebration of Endings
The Dillinger Escape Plan DissociationMike Shinoda Dropped Frames, Vol. 1
user ratings (25)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2020


16586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

hellfire, i thoroughly enjoyed this

Digging: Marilyn Manson - We Are Chaos

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 12th 2020


35877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is the kind of heavy shit I can get behind. Really digging this so far.



Good review, too.

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2020


16586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

thanks sow.



i actually forgot all about this, but really dug the singles when they were released. the final product is mind-blowing for me though. really surprised.

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 12th 2020


35877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So far the first track is leaps and bounds above the rest, but no song has been below a 3.5/5 for me so this is shaping up real solid. Glad you brought this to my attention.

Toondude10
July 12th 2020


14275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

checking this out now, been wanting some good new industrial for a while

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2020


16586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Tbh toon, it’s been a while since I’ve heard any either. Good industrial music these days is like rocking horse shit haha



Glad you’re digging the rec

NoHellsNoHeavens
July 13th 2020


202 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh I am digging this....

Digging: Panzerfaust - The Suns of Perdition - Chapter II

y87arrow
July 14th 2020


572 Comments


Should I get this? I only have In The Acts Of Violence (2006) which is typical harsh electro / aggrotech. First 8 songs are listenable with a lovely autumnal atmosphere even if the album gets weaker from the second half on.

Does this new one still have black metal influences? Not that big of a fan of BM (aside from Agalloch - The Mantle which isn't very bm-like, and Sigh - Imaginary Sonicscape, and the ambient bm of Xasthur).

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2020


8851 Comments


Industrial? And it’s good too? I have to check this out.

Digging: The Anti Troppau Council - A Way Out

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2020


16586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

get on it voivod, you'll enjoy it for sure



@y87arrow



it has a nice mixture of all kinds of sounds, but there is a bit of black-industrial in there. it's a really balanced mixture of influences. i'm still jamming the hell out of it and loving it

ChoccyPhilly
July 14th 2020


12737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Industrial, Black metal AND trance??

fuck i have high hopes for this

Digging: As Sirens Fall - L'appel Du Vide, Pt. 1

AtTheGates92
July 15th 2020


72 Comments


Reviews rarely make me feel so intrigued about a record. It's on the list, thanks!

AtTheGates92
July 15th 2020


72 Comments


I feel like in this genre the line between genius and tacky is very fine. I'm surprise they don't sound too tacky at all on this rec.

Toondude10
July 15th 2020


14275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is kinda like if 90s-era Front Line Assembly continued the path of Millennium and had harsh vocals.



Where's Willie? I feel like he'd really enjoy this.

WatchItExplode
July 15th 2020


8297 Comments


I've been waiting for him to show up for sure. It funny that good modern industrial sounds decisively 90s.

XyphDryne
July 15th 2020


34 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I guess this would have impressed me when I was 14.

AtTheGates92
July 16th 2020


72 Comments


I get what you're saying Xyph, I had to make a conscious effort to let myself enjoy it for what it is. I worked out for me.
Blood of the Titans slaps so fucking hard, my god.

XyphDryne
July 16th 2020


34 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I tried Blood of the Titans. And I get why someone likes the band. I guess what I struggle with are the following points:



Electronics: There are more fleshed out bands with much more focus on detail like FLA. This sounds lackluster in comparism.



The harsh vocals: Well, everything has already been said. Suicide C., Painbastard, Grendel,Hocico and countless rip offs. 20 years later and I just lost interest.



And songwriting: Well, it is better than your typical 4 to the floor song. But I guess, in this case I prefer more interesting bands like Numb (they released a new album in August 2019 after 20 years!). Sorry if I come off as an elitist old grumpy person that I am

AtTheGates92
July 20th 2020


72 Comments


You're good! I haven't heard any of those other acts you've mentioned, so maybe this explains why I don't find this to be too bland. I'll look into Numb, seems like you're pretty into them

Hawks
July 21st 2020


73886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds awesome.

Digging: Deftones - Ohms



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy