The Beths
Jump Rope Gazers


4.0
excellent

Review

by mardin65 USER (2 Reviews)
July 10th, 2020 | 35 replies


Release Date: 07/10/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With their second album the New Zealand indie rockers avoid the dreaded sophomore slump

Back in 2018 one of my favorite albums from that year was “Future Me Hates Me” by the New Zealand band The Beths. Led by Elizabeth Stokes the debut was an album full of catchy power pop songs that were stacked to the brim with sharp hooks. The album’s success allowed Stokes and her bandmates to quit their day jobs and to make what was at the beginning a part time gig into something full time.

Recorded during stretches of their tour for the debut, “Jump Rope Gazers” is a worthy follow up that builds on the success of “FMHM”. Right from the start with the frantic “I'm Not Getting Excited” and the punchy “Dying to Believe” you can immediately tell that the band avoided the dreaded sophomore slump. The album only gets better from there with eight more perfect slices of indie pop. Tracks like the urgent “Acrid”, the brisk “Mars, the God of War” and hooky “Don't Go Away” still contain the indelible hooks that made the debut so special. Just on the basis of those songs alone this is a great record but what makes it even better are some of the tracks that shows the band’s more introspective side.

The shoegazey “Out of Sight” and the chiming “Do You Want Me Now” shows that Stokes can venture into more reflective lyrical territory while still giving us some great melodies. However, if anything really highlights the group’s tender side it’s the poignant title track and the wistful “You Are a Beam of Light”. The former is a pretty mid-tempo ballad with ringing guitars while the latter is built upon some lovely folk style guitar strumming as Stokes sings in her most vulnerable voice. In one verse she says “You are a beam of light/Maybe that's why your battery runs dry”.

Ending things on a high note is the bright album closer “Just Shy of Sure” which is filled with ringing guitars, propulsive drums and some great backing vocals that grabs a hold of you until the very last note. I have to admit that 2020 has been an odd year for music but I can definitely say that “Jump Rope Gazers” is my favorite album of the year so far.


user ratings (48)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
WatchItExplode
July 11th 2020


8281 Comments


This is clearly better than the last one I'll say that.

notagenius
July 11th 2020


359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I gave their debut a 5.



:P



will check this one. am very excited!

notagenius
July 11th 2020


359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it's pretty much exactly the same as the first one, isn't it?





I love this album too. I've never really listened to indie pop, but this band just totally won me over.

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 11th 2020


35700 Comments


Good first review, although I can see you've been around for quite some time. A few awkward phrasings like "catchy power pop songs that were stacked to brim with sharp hooks" (I'd say "stacked to the brim"), but nothing majorly wrong and I won't recount every little thing because I think another once-over would smooth out any odd wordings. I might check this out at some point this week, never listened to the band before but they seem like they could be up my alley.

Digging: Movements - No Good Left To Give

WatchItExplode
July 11th 2020


8281 Comments


Seems a bit fluffy and disposable for you Sowing but there are nice vocal melodies throughout.

mardin65
July 11th 2020


50 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback. Being my first review on here I had a feeling there would be some flaws but after all these years of being on this site I thought it was time to take a chance on doing one

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2020


44026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

glad this got a review, lovely little album. it's such a chill laidback thing you don't immediately notice how good the lyrics are but they're damn good

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2020


10300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, lyrics are very good



In love w the t/t

Digging: sprain - As Lost Through Collision

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2020


44026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Out of Sight and Mars, the God of War are that shit. love the Alvvays vibes

notagenius
July 12th 2020


359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yes agree hard



they are not fanciness, they are all subtle delicateness.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2020


26009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Here to echo the statements above me. Not sure what to rate this yet but the good tracks are VERY good

Digging: Disavowed - Revocation of the Fallen

Jasdevi087
July 13th 2020


6303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2020


20303 Comments


is this a neek 4?

Jasdevi087
July 13th 2020


6303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeh

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2020


10300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah probably Neek



T/T is one of my fave songs of the year

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2020


20303 Comments


hmmmmmm, heard some of the first album and enjoyed but it sounded more boring-Snail-Mail kinda indie

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2020


10300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well then yeah maybe it won't be, this is more of the same

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2020


20303 Comments


Is there any sort of variation here?

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2020


10300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not at all, definitely its weakness

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2020


20303 Comments


that's gotta be a big "oof" from me bud



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile