Bury Tomorrow
Cannibal


2.5
average

Review

by costofnothing USER (12 Reviews)
July 8th, 2020 | 51 replies


Release Date: 2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 2020 metalcore: exhibit c



I really wish that current metalcore bands had more individuality. A lot of up-and-coming bands, Bury Tomorrow being a shining example, don’t have any distinctiveness to their sound or style. Djenty, bouncy grooves. Clean choruses. Breakdown at the end of song. Spacey, ambient bridge with refrain. Repeat 11-12 times. It doesn’t astonish me that this style has gotten so popular. It’s safe enough that people who grew out of their scene kid days can come back to it without feeling out of their depth, but heavy enough to not be called radio rock. But despite the mockery that crabcore and scenecore and all the 2000s swooped hair bands got, you couldn’t deny that they had a sound and style that was unique, with songs that had random trance parts, two-steps, and a bunch of other things mashed together in defiance of any kind of structure, and quirky song titles and fashion trends that made them stand out in any crowd. I put on Bury Tomorrow’s new record and I saw everything it had to offer me from miles away.

Describing the first track is really enough to describe most of the positives and negatives. “Choke” greets my ears with a bouncy, djenty guitar groove and harsh vocals that soon lead into a clean chorus. Repeat. The breakdown was good enough, I guess. The first thing that becomes apparent a few tracks later is how lifeless the production is. The drums don’t sound like a human is hitting them at all, but it probably doesn’t help that the drummer for this band lacks any initiative to stand out or do anything that isn’t just following the guitars.The fills are non-existent and the beats are just propulsive enough. I can’t really hear the bass, not like it would matter anyways, because it probably just follows the guitars. Like every modern metalcore band, they have the harsh vocalist and the guitarist that does the clean choruses, and both are pretty average. The harsh vocals really don’t have any of the vocalist’s own voice in them, and as a result lack a lot of power. The clean vocalist sounds like he should be fronting an alternative country band.

I know this review sounds pretty negative, but the rating is because a lot of stuff isn’t bad as much as it is done with just enough skill to be bearable. The guitars in particular shine, with some catchy grooves and small solos here and there. But in a scene where almost every band is ripping off Architects, that isn’t nearly enough to be deemed truly exceptional. The concept of this album is pretty unoriginal, but lyrically told well. The songs follow struggles with mental health and other challenges with life and the toll it takes on an individual. A shame the music is so average that it really feels like the theme was just chosen to compensate for instrumentals and vocals that could barely evoke emotion by themselves. There are some interesting moments on the album every once and awhile, that shows that the band has some level of creative ambition. “The Grey” has a pretty cool riff that is present at various parts in the song, and takes more of a slow, post-metal approach to structure. “Cannibal” has an interesting melodic break where the harsh vocalist tries to do some shouting cleans that kind of sound like a Daryl Palumbo impression. If you like this album, just listen to Architects.



Recent reviews by this author
Fit for a King The PathJustice For The Damned Pain Is Power
Fuming Mouth The Grand DescentThursday War All the Time
Gulch Impenetrable Cerebral FortressThree Knee Deep Three Knee Deep
user ratings (129)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
costofnothing
July 8th 2020


155 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wrote this in like 15 min, decided I wanted to start doing more negative reviews

sspedding
July 8th 2020


5537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Architects have been shit for years.



As for the album, they have struggled to come close to matching the Union of Crowns. Aside from a handful of tracks it just doesn't hold my attention and that applies to their last couple of releases.



Better Below is great though.

roguetrooper25
July 9th 2020


6 Comments


I logged into this account I haven't used in years just to say that you think Architects have been shit for years?? their last 3 albums are easily their best work imo
alright that's all back to never using this account again

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2020


4585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this band is like fast food to me, i know it sucks but i sure do enjoy it. i do actually love the harsh vocals here tho, esp the highs are fantastic

sspedding
July 9th 2020


5537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You'll be back when you get laughed at in this thread



After 'the Here and Now' experiment failed they tried to revert back to the Hollow Crown sound but by then it was watered down and Sam Carter vocally was knackered and he started doing that laughable scream/sing thing.

SimpleM
July 9th 2020


122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's nothing new for metalcore, but i digged the instrumentation and riffs on this album more than their last one.

NorwichScene
July 9th 2020


3211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Up-and-coming? lol

bloc
July 9th 2020


68814 Comments


Hmm apparently I gave the previous album a high score so I better check this

Digging: Cheem - Guilty Pleasure

notagenius
July 9th 2020


884 Comments


I never digged this band but I always thought it was my problem.

The crowds are always very enthusiastic. I've been guilty for the last seven years of being indifferent to their live.

But I do like Architects.

Essence
July 10th 2020


6627 Comments


ha your first paragraph is basically what I said about metalcore bands in '08. shit never changes!

Ray91
July 15th 2020


817 Comments


another genericore band trying to sound like architects, what a surprise. Band basically re-record their second album with every new release

NorwichScene
July 15th 2020


3211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don’t think they sound anything like Architects

Dedicated1
July 16th 2020


175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They've been around for nearly as long as Architects, and on top of that this doesn't sound anything like Architects.



I feel that this is miles above Black Flame which wore off me super quickly. It's just a fun metalcore record and sits nicely alongside their consistent discography. Black Flame as mentioned being their weakest despite not necessarily being a bad record.

Mabbitt
July 16th 2020


1817 Comments


How does this sound anything like Architects? This gives me vibes closer to something like Parkway Drive with cleans. Anyways, while this doesn't break new ground or push any boundaries, it plays within those boundaries incredibly well. Polished, streamlined metalcore done very well.

nash1311
July 30th 2020


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

^ came here to say this sounds nothing like architects lol. and that band is bad now. This is safe and its been done a million times but its still good

Digging: Bill Evans - You Must Believe In Spring

gschwen
August 4th 2020


750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"We've been waiting ... for these cankles"

SuperPotato
August 29th 2020


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Enjoyable album. Pretty standard songwritting, but it's not THAT easy to write a good chorus!

gschwen
September 26th 2020


750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"We've been waiting ... for these cannonballs"

Beardog
December 14th 2020


4201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Man, I'm not a fan of the harsh vocals here...

Beardog
December 15th 2020


4201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'Quake' and 'Gods & Machines' are bangers though. They should've put a shit ton of reverb and delay on the harsh vocals tbh, would sound way better...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy