HAIM
Women In Music, Pt. III


4.0
excellent

Review

by neekafat CONTRIBUTOR (69 Reviews)
July 5th, 2020 | 98 replies


Release Date: 06/26/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ...like no one else does

The essential tragedy of HAIM’s latest album is the time of its release. It longs to be blasted out of car windows, to fill beaches from boomboxes, and to be shrieked by choruses of fans filling stadiums. Given the “everything that’s been going on in the world” crisis of 2020, none of these are likely to happen anytime soon. This summer is a lost cause.

Nevertheless, Women in Music Pt. III is a warm glow of pop pleasantness that should brighten anyone’s day, regardless of isolation. While many lyrics here coincidentally reference the universal loneliness and struggles of our time, the album is an optimistic affair. Throughout the record, HAIM and producer Rostam glide through sun-dappled genres such as reggae and country with curious abandon. This adventurous approach to their tried and true pop-rock aesthetic is at once rambunctious and exciting, allowing the listener to sink into the album with ease while keeping an ear perked for whatever might come next. And despite this constant style-hopping, the core of each brisk tune is so strong that they never feel overshadowed by studio trickery, only emboldened by choices made. Even when the record wanders down some less intriguing directions as it goes on, each tune manages a unique voice compared to the rest, with these differences becoming clearer on every listen.

HAIM manage a delicate balance between engaging and catchy songwriting, with Danielle Haim leading her sisters through charming vocals and electrifying work behind the drum set and guitar. On highlight “I Know Alone” she takes a timely stab at the static nature of life over delicate strings and icy beats.

“Some things never change
They never fade
It's never over
Some things never grow
I know alone
Like no one else does”

While many songs here deserve to be screamed at the top of our lungs with friends, this one speaks to the beauty of self-reflection. Acknowledging this personal stagnation in a beautiful and impactful way, HAIM has found in this pivotal moment in history the perfect time to make their mark. This album will still be around for the stadiums next year. We needed it now.



Recent reviews by this author
Helena Deland Someone NewPVRIS Use Me
Alanis Morissette Such Pretty Forks in the RoadThe Chicks Gaslighter
Jaunt All In OneJulia Holter Have You In My Wilderness
user ratings (143)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


20677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I Know Alone": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfZSgr_si4I



Just a quick little something, this was in desperate need of a write-up!

Jots
Staff Reviewer
July 5th 2020


7311 Comments


is this more or less boring than Days are Gone?

review is nicely written, tho i feel like it has a beginning and an end, but no middle. tbh when you have a good writer/reviewer, a powerful album can help a review write itself imo. so, idk, the tone of this review comes off as polite, but kinda struggling to hone in on what is really special about this, which makes me think it's nothing. which isn't even a criticism of the review itself lol

bloc
July 5th 2020


64367 Comments


You wouldn't catch me listening to this even 2 years ago, but this is super solid

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


20677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tbf I rushed this just so it would have a review, but I really do enjoy this album a lot. Your criticism is very valid tho, not defending myself

And honestly I haven't heard their other stuff hahaha

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


20677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

part of it could be the brevity, I've been struggling to write longer pieces lately

Slex
July 5th 2020


10923 Comments


I admit I've always liked these gals but this is definitely their best

Happy you gave this a write up

Digging: Seiko Oomori - Kintsugi

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


20677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How well does their previous stuff compare to this?

thx dude c:

Slex
July 5th 2020


10923 Comments


I'm apparently one of the only ones that really liked their last one, it's a less developed version of this sound, definitely a transition album between this and their first, which is unabashedly 100% sunny LA power pop

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


20677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that sounds perfect rn tbh, I should take a peak!

hamid95
July 5th 2020


931 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i was never that into the HAIM sisters, but the singles and this album the past year have been so good.



Nice to see this got a review.

Pangea
July 5th 2020


5470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is quite good. definitely a big improvement over their latest

Digging: Crippled Black Phoenix - Ellengaest

Colton
July 5th 2020


7117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

This is the real "most milquetoast album of 2020" lol. Nice review though

Digging: Pinegrove - Amperland, NY

Nikkolae
July 5th 2020


5607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is sooooo good, defo wearing their shania twain influences on their sleves on some of the songs but over all its great, if anything its just a bit too long with that run time but nothing as bad as the last CRJ full lenght.

Digging: Duma - Duma

JohnZapp
July 5th 2020


44 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This just gets better with every listen. Only con I have is that it doesn’t really finish strong with the last 2 tracks. But the bonus tracks make up for it. LA is super catchy and is an incredible intro to the album

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


2197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

loose seal

huge improvement over the last one yea, fun stuff

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou - The Helm Of Sorrow

Colton
July 5th 2020


7117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I keep trying to like this but I find it very.... idk, lifeless? Maybe it's just not my type of pop music

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


20677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah not sure how I could call it lifeless, there's a ton of energy here :/

I do agree that it runs out of steam a bit in the end though, I should've touched upon that more in the review

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


20677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Nikkolae, love the Shania influences here, good catch!

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 5th 2020


64819 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Hey slex, just got back from camping wondering where the fuck that hamster dance review is

Pikazilla
July 5th 2020


14226 Comments


is camping in canada nice



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy