Willie Nelson
First Rose of Spring


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale USER (12 Reviews)
July 4th, 2020 | 12 replies


Release Date: 07/03/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the legends of country is back again

Among country fans, Willie Nelson needs no introduction. With the possible exceptions of Hank Williams and Johnny Cash, he really has no equals in terms of influence and renown. Especially now that his stellar contemporaries such as Waylon Jennings, Merle Haggard, and George Jones have passed on, Willie stands alone as a representation of the genre's glorious past. Now a spry 87 years old, he's responded with quite a prolific last few years of album releases. First Rose Of Spring is his latest effort.

Comprised of eleven songs clocking in around forty-one minutes, First Rose Of Spring is a mellow effort which breezes by. It has an autumnal air as Nelson muses over the past, love lost and found, and the specter of death around the corner. It's a shockingly consistent collection of tunes, with the old singer's voice sounding remarkably good, and the songs (most of which are not Nelson compositions) well selected. There's really no filler, although a few songs stand out. The opener and title track is exceptional, as is the following "Blue Star". Late album gem "Stealing Home" is one of the best songs released this year, hands down, especially if you enjoy sad, sentimental, country songs. Nelson's version of the 70s classic "I'm The Only Hell My Mama Ever Raised" is also a standout.

First Rose Of Spring comes highly recommended for anyone who appreciates traditional country music. With its quality and subject matter, it would be a perfect swan song for Willie Nelson, if his recent string of albums does not continue on in the coming years. At the same time, its excellence gives hope that we may expect even more beautiful music coming in the future from this musical legend.



Recent reviews by this author
Matt Berninger Serpentine PrisonThe Menzingers From Exile
Jason Molina Eight GatesFontaines D.C. A Hero's Death
The Lawrence Arms Skeleton CoastMy Morning Jacket The Waterfall II
user ratings (7)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
July 4th 2020


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just a quick write-up for a remarkably good effort which came out yesterday

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hey nice review! think I’m going to check this out, it’ll be my first willie album ever.

Digging: Junglepussy - JP4

Sunnyvale
July 5th 2020


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks! Hope you enjoy! Not a bad choice for your first Willie album

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2020


768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i really liked this, our song and stealing home are my favorites after my first listen. he sounds amazing for 87

Sunnyvale
July 6th 2020


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to hear that!



And yep, for sure. His voice is holding up to a remarkable degree

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 7th 2020


36136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was never into country growing up so this is actually my first Willie Nelson. It's brilliant.

Digging: Moon Kissed - I Met My Band At A New Years Party

Sunnyvale
July 9th 2020


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you're enjoying this Sowing. Album rules, and I definitely recommend checking out some more of his discography as well.

Sunnyvale
July 11th 2020


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, "Blue Star" is really tugging at the heartstrings this morning



AND WHEN WE REACH THE HEAVENS BRIGHTTTT,



I'LL BE THE BLUE STAR ON YOUR RIGHTTTT

deathofasalesman
July 12th 2020


7183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cover art was sooo close to looking decent until they transposed the face over it, like damn

Sunnyvale
July 12th 2020


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, I don't mind it, but I see your point

Sunnyvale
July 24th 2020


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Blue Star is an absolutely classic, one of those great country tearjerkers

deathofasalesman
July 31st 2020


7183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

jamming this because of this review. it's pretty awesome



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy