And So I Watch You From Afar
Successors


2.2
poor

Review

by Simon K. STAFF
July 4th, 2020 | 12 replies


Release Date: 07/03/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Leftovers from the band's worst era.

I’m going straight to brass tacks here; for all intents and purposes if you never quite gelled with what ASIWYFA did on their fourth studio album, Heirs, there is little reason for you to check out this amuse-bouche of an EP. Like Heirs itself – at best Successors displays specific elements of what makes the band so fun to listen to (ala punctuated, crunchy grooves and colourfully expressive guitar effects); at its worst it plays out exactly like it sounds on paper: three cutting-room floor songs that never made Heirs’ final tracklisting. Initially I went into this thinking it was a fresh batch of songs, but it quickly became apparent this wasn’t the evolutionary continuation on from the excellent The Endless Shimmering LP. It’s a mercifully short spin, but despite me running through it into the double figures, it’s what I would call the ‘amnesia experience’ where you forget everything that has just transpired. If you can cast your mind back to the derivative writings of Heirs and then imagine diluting the quality of that for this, you’ll garner a rough idea of what to expect from Successors. If you’re a hardcore fan of the band or a completest who enjoys all of their works, this is a supplement that may pique your interest, but for anyone else, it’s pretty clear why the band initially dropped these filler tracks to begin with.

FORMAT//EDITIONS:
DIGITAL

PACKAGING:
N/A

SPECIAL EDITION BONUSES:
N/A

ALBUM STREAM//PURCHASE:
https://asiwyfa.bandcamp.com/




Recent reviews by this author
Machine Gun Kelly Tickets to My DownfallMarilyn Manson We Are Chaos
Seether Si Vis Pacem, Para BellumBiffy Clyro A Celebration of Endings
The Dillinger Escape Plan DissociationDawn Of Ashes The Antinomian
user ratings (27)
2.8
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
quintenzee
July 4th 2020


2 Comments


Shame, I really liked the direction they were going with The Endless Shimmering. There's nothing memorable on this

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
July 4th 2020


4773 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

didn't even know this was out

Digging: The Ocean - Phanerozoic II: Mesozoic | Cenozoic

Bedex
July 4th 2020


2176 Comments


artwork is utterly unappealing

Digging: Gorod - Neurotripsicks

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
July 4th 2020


16663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just found out I'm a hardcore fan of this band alright then

Digging: Funeral Fires - BLOOD OF THE RAT$

9Hammer
July 4th 2020


325 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The one song that I found myself coming back to more was "Odd Seal", but the other tunes don't really do much for me here, especially the opening track.

Also, this came out of the blue for me as well.

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

chemicalmarriage
July 5th 2020


3199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Better than anything you've ever made ya fartbelching queefbag

Eons
July 5th 2020


2842 Comments


had no idea these guys were Irish

Digging: En Minor - When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Welcome

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 5th 2020


16569 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

they sure are. i'm still sour i'm not going to see them in sept coz of the covid

Digging: Marilyn Manson - We Are Chaos

9Hammer
July 5th 2020


325 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I dunno why, but I find the cover to have some similarities to Plastic Beach.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2020


21256 Comments


This came out of nowhere, and it seems it also goes nowhere. Nice.

Digging: Anna von Hausswolff - All Thoughts Fly

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 6th 2020


59141 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

production on this is so fucking thin



sounds like some shitty battles jam demos or something

Digging: Botany - End the Summertime F(or)ever

Eldar777
July 8th 2020


196 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sounds like some shitty battles jam demos or something





these are basically demos that never made the record. It sounds like their bought some new guitar pedals and just messing around with them, especially the first track with arpeggiators and stuff like that. no wonder they didn't make Heirs.



Also i think that Heirs is much better than The Endless Shimmering which was ok but very repetitive and boring.







You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy