As Real
Marveless


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jesper L. USER (32 Reviews)
July 1st, 2020 | 27 replies


Release Date: 06/19/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Intricately dense

Marveless is a huge, deceptively beautiful record. Using thick, hazy guitar tones and relentlessly pounding drums to its advantage, As Real maintain a highly dense atmosphere all throughout the album. In spite of this being the band’s first full length offering, its modus operandi is crystal clear and highly effective: upon unleashing its staggering levels of distortion, the songs achieve hypnotising qualities through hazily repetitive patterns and obscured, beautifully monotonous vocals.

‘Undid’ wastes no time, instantly locking itself into a tastefully addicting groove. Much like most of Marveless, the song looms like a dark cloud, gradually thrusting itself forward. It’s a sludgy, nearly impenetrable affair, with the few distinguishable lyrics only substantiating the overwhelming ambiance. Every word is drawn out across at least ten seconds, making the distortion-soaked vocals sound like near-hums. As such, ‘Fade away… / Slow….’ might be the most appropriate description for As Real’s sound. Similarly, ‘Find the time… / To breathe...’ pushes its way to the front towards the end of the track, carrying its delightfully abrasive tactics of inducing near-hypnosis all the way through.

Yet, it is the brief moments of Marveless breaking its beautiful monotony that make the album as astounding as it is. The final minute of the aforementioned ‘Undid’ finds the band deconstructing the song piece by piece, leaving nothing but an incredibly clean, ethereal guitar melody in its final seconds. In a similar fashion, ‘Pictured Below’ is built upon a foundation of off-kilter drums, leaving more space for the vocals and bass to breathe while still expertly using repetitive textures to its advantage. Finishing on a descent into the depths of post-metal perfection, the vocalist lamenting ’I feel… / It now...’ solidifies the song as one of the record’s best.

Another highlight comes in the form of the epic, fifteen-minute closer. ‘Easter Yellow’ encompasses all that makes Marveless great, stretching its sludgy qualities for the first half, before kicking into a slightly faster-paced, punkier gear and subsequently ending on an instrumental passage of heavy shoegaze. In spite of these minor changes to the overall sound, the album can be faulted for being slightly too one-faceted, especially with its runtime of nearly an hour. Yet, with Marveless, As Real have crafted an incredibly compelling record, where giving into its dense atmosphere and slyly intricate nature makes for an incredibly worthy experience.




Recent reviews by this author
In Hearts Wake KaliyugaCatz 'n Dogz Moments
Neck Deep All Distortions Are IntentionalKacy Hill Is It Selfish If We Talk About Me Again
A.A. Williams Forever BlueRemo Drive A Portrait Of An Ugly Man
user ratings (21)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
July 1st 2020


1144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a cool thing

https://asreal.bandcamp.com/album/marveless

Digging: Catz 'n Dogz - Moments

Oneironaut
July 2nd 2020


410 Comments


This is a very cool thing. Great review! Dig the vocals over hazy sludgy riffs. Have a pos good sir!

Faraudo
July 2nd 2020


3571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Potential AOTY for me.

Digging: Taylor Swift - Folklore

JesperL
July 2nd 2020


1144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks man!

awesome faraudo, band deserves all the love they can get

DDDeftoneDDD
July 2nd 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool take Jesper, will try and read this check it as well...

Digging: Karmacipher - Introspectrum

DDDeftoneDDD
July 2nd 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm on this now...you relate to Hum, and I get it, but there's a bit of Car Bomb like dissonant djentvibes here, or The Contortionist type of prog...what I mean is that its way more metal I think...

I didn't like the latest Car Bomb though...



Enjoying a lot this dense vibe here!

JesperL
July 2nd 2020


1144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i can def see that ddd, lot more metal influence here but it's similar to inlet ∿vibe wise∿ hahaha

glad you dig it!

DDDeftoneDDD
July 2nd 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think the similar artists I tagged describe how this sounds ahahah







damn...Planet Casket is such a cool jam...have to do that again!

trilo
July 2nd 2020


3352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i am here from the hum thread



jamming asap





Digging: Cryptic Shift - Visitations from Enceladus

trilo
July 2nd 2020


3352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ok yup this is real good. drags a bit in the middle but love this sludgy, shoegazy stuff so much. car bomb comparison was on point ddd. thanks for the rec jesper m/

JesperL
July 2nd 2020


1144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nicee! you're more than welcome, glad my plug worked haha

Doomcifer
July 2nd 2020


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This 'effin rules! Thx for the heads up!

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2020


10029 Comments


Really good review bud

This sounds like it's worth checking out

Digging: Stormlight - Natoma

RogueNine
July 3rd 2020


4387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ditto.

DDDeftoneDDD
July 3rd 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

up for another spin of this

DDDeftoneDDD
July 3rd 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

closer is pretty much a beast of a track m/

trilo
July 3rd 2020


3352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that and 'everyone closes their eyes' are my fav

JesperL
July 3rd 2020


1144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah the closer is huuge! i also keep returning to undid, such a magnificent opening track

Faraudo
July 3rd 2020


3571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"awesome faraudo, band deserves all the love they can get"



Dude, they've got like 50 followers on IG and need waaaaaay more tbh. Very promising band



trilo
July 3rd 2020


3352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what's their ig so i can follow. can't even find em lmao



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy