Jaunt
All In One


3.5
great

Review

by neekafat CONTRIBUTOR (70 Reviews)
June 27th, 2020 | 20 replies


Release Date: 04/17/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 80s into the vein

All in One is a tricky album. Discordant elements from rock, pop, electronic, disco, ambient, and orchestral music blend together to create a sound weirdly familiar. While it takes a roundabout route, it’s hard to argue that Jaunt doesn’t jump through hoops to mimic the quintessential “80s sound” that so many indie bands have lurched towards. While this often marks a desperate way to mine nostalgia to stand out from the woodwork, Jaunt has managed to find an artful way to make their mark against their contemporaries.

This isn’t to say that it always works—tracks like “Nostalgia for the Present Moment” pair tepid vocal harmonies against wonky instrumentals for queasy effect. Many tunes simply never find the balance in its own Frankenstein’s monster of sounds to fully take flight, but when they do, it’s even more satisfying. All in One is at its best when it fully leans into its strange musicality, such as on “Obvious Answer” and “Callous Standard,” where the band glides past their vocal constraints into a playful, kaleidoscopic sound. At its best, Jaunt juices its influences into the essence of vague nostalgia, devoid of distracting timestamps or obvious allusions; their sound is so concentrated that comparing it to any single band is a waste of energy.

This is 80s-worship at its purest, without signposts or cheap tricks. Jaunt should be commended for creating a unique take on an approach that should long be squeezed-dry by now. While the vocals consistently lack the charisma and adventurousness of its instrumentation, and some tracks are distractingly more successful than others, those hankering for an injection of nostalgia without feeling too catered-too should enjoy a good fix of Jaunt this evening.



Recent reviews by this author
Flora (USA) Keep CallingHelena Deland Someone New
PVRIS Use MeAlanis Morissette Such Pretty Forks in the Road
The Chicks GaslighterHAIM Women In Music, Pt. III
user ratings (6)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2020


21167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Callous Standard": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhUsfIbcAE8



Quick little write-up, but I'm happy with how it turned out. Gonna try to play some catch-up with albums I've heard this year that don't yet have reviews. Hopefully, some more short write-ups will be coming soon!

Special thanks to Zombie for the rec c:

rockandmetaljunkie
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2020


9556 Comments


you still think QOtSA are better than Kyuss?

rockandmetaljunkie
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2020


9556 Comments


i honestly thought you were drunk the other day

parksungjoon
June 27th 2020


32249 Comments


cool review!

never thought of a phrasing like "stand out from the woodwork"

that said i kind of doubt this would be up my alley :[

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2020


21167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lmao maybe that isn't a real phrase and I'm losing my mind

Thanks park, and yeah it isn't usually mine either but I enjoyed it!

rockandmetaljunkie
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2020


9556 Comments


i gave you a thumbs up as well

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2020


21167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks boo

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2020


1201 Comments


nice review neek

listened to the first track and liked it. might listen to this on an upcoming road trip

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2020


21167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks helperoni (:



opener is def a standout, lemme know whatcha think!

Colton
June 28th 2020


10171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like this style of short reviews that get right to the point

Digging: Sweet Trip - A Tiny House, In Secret Speeches, Polar Equals

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2020


21167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Cole, I do too!

It's easier on my ADD as a writer (;

Colton
June 28th 2020


10171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And mine as a reader



Actually really liking the first track on this rn this is nice

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2020


21167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

would love to hear your thoughts if you end up finishing!

parksungjoon
June 28th 2020


32249 Comments


maybe ill give it a bash as long as i dont forget

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2020


21167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Do ittt

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2020


3085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah i've only ever heard of 'crawling out of the woodwork' but i dig standing out from it too haha, coin that phrase!



will check this today, sounds cool

Digging: The Buildings - Heaven is a Long Exhale

Colton
June 28th 2020


10171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The best parts of this are like Dirty Projectors fused with one of those chill lofi beats to study to youtube channels. The worst parts are just completely aimless, like Pt 2. But overall this is really nice

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2020


21167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Jesper l'll leave it then (;

@Cole That's fair! What were your standouts?

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2020


14275 Comments


Neeky review looks on point,

Digging: Diskord - Degenerations

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2020


21167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

c:



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy