Emmure
Hindsight


2.5
average

Review

by Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (53 Reviews)
June 26th, 2020 | 116 replies


Release Date: 06/26/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In hindsight, it's just another Emmure album

Ah, the infamy of Emmure. A band that genuinely has some potential in its musical department, hindered massively by their frontman, Frankie Palmeri. With their eighth full length, the band resorts to the tried and (un)trusted formula of their previous releases: down tuned guitar riffs with decent, albeit generic, grooves with Palmeri’s hit and miss vocals and horrendously cheesy lyrics. Emmure’s polarizing discography, filled with some high points and plenty of lows, leaves Hindsight in a rather negative limelight in the surrounding previous efforts, yet with some restrained hope following the promises of Look At Yourself. With Palmeri heading the frontline, Emmure attempts yet again to revitalize their consistently hated career within the industry.

Throughout Hindsight, Emmure manages to show hints of a band who knows how to craft genuinely interesting musical compositions. Joshua Travis’ ridiculously down tuned guitars chug their way fluidly throughout the album’s progression, spontaneously injecting just the right amount of groove and technicality across the duration. Combining the filthy open chugs of “Pigs Ear” and “I’ve Scene God” with the relatively intriguing technicality contained within “203” and “Pan’s Dream,” Travis streamlines Hindsight with his effective simplicity behind the strings, providing a heavy, dissonant atmosphere. Supporting the barrage of the guitars, Josh Millet (drums) and Nicholas Pyatt (bass) lay the foundation of the grooves, providing a structured flow of heaviness and intensity. Although rarely taking the spotlight, each instrument manages to invoke their own flare of style within the album, showing a vast strength of band chemistry with the instrumentation. However, as the members rely heavily on their strengths, there isn’t much room for venturing out musically, leaving Hindsight rather stagnant. Despite the (thankfully) short run time of just over 30 minutes, the instrumentation feels dragged out and boring by the end of the album, feeling like a recycled combination of Emmure’s established sound.

Ultimately, the true offender here is the one and only, Frankie Palmeri. As per usual with modern Emmure, Frankie’s horrendous lyricism bogs down the attempt of a fresh take on their musical aspirations. With lyrics like ”Bad boy bad boy for life, click click that’s some gang sh**” and the self aware ”Riffs and lyrics change / But you end up sounding just like me”, Palmeri’s lyrics are comparable to a middle school teen’s journal filled with angst and sarcasm. Lyrics aside, his vocal performance is very hit-and-miss with his screams, either hitting with a powerful punch or sounding completely ear-grating. Oftentimes, he resorts to a higher scream completely disguised with odd distorting effects, sounding like the vocals are drowned in muddy water, sounding almost as indistinguishable as his nonsensical lyrics. However, Palmeri manages to redeem himself at times with his lower growls, sounding clear and untouched by major effects, leaving the punch of his screams intact without adding to the headache of his storytelling ability. Despite much of the criticism directed towards Palmeri, there are also some rather poor decisions in the songwriting department that seem questionable at best. The odd electronic interludes between tracks halt all momentum and feel entirely disjointed from the overall “chaotic” sound of Hindsight. Perhaps even more questionably, the strange placement and usage of vocal samples come off as intentionally gimmicky, making it all the more annoying as in “Pan’s Dream.”

With Hindsight, Emmure only continues to add to their polarizing career, masking decently enjoyable instrumentation with lazy and trite lyricism and vocals. Despite the positives that the band’s eighth full length has to offer, the questionable efforts of Palmeri and various songwriting influencers hinder the record's ability to fully attain its true potential, leaving Emmure in the hole of hated bands in the industry. Maybe the band can one day produce a well crafted album, but in hindsight, their career has only highlighted their decline over time.



Recent reviews by this author
Twenty One Pilots Scaled and IcyDarko (US) Darko
Katahdin No Longer Room For UsLove and Death Perfectly Preserved
Of Mice and Men TimelessLandon Tewers Frontal Lobe Submission
user ratings (106)
2.3
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2020


2494 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This could've been so much better... but good ol Palmeri was there to keep it from reaching its peak.

I will admit, the stretch from Thunder Mouth to Informal Butterflies is pretty fun

Digging: Lord Huron - Long Lost

Rowhaus
June 26th 2020


4207 Comments


Very interesting band with such reputable and diverse discography. Can't wait to grace my ears with this!

Digging: Miles Davis - In a Silent Way

SteakByrnes
June 26th 2020


23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review my guy, gonna jam later

Digging: Future Foundation - Trinity

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2020


2494 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Can't wait to grace my ears with this!"

You bet! It will do more than just grace your ears!

Thanks Steak, hope you enjoy it a bit more than I did knowing that you like their stuff

bloodshy
June 26th 2020


2738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was going to listen to this at work until I got to the second song, was too embarrassed. I keep hoping they'll put together a serious grown-up release. Perpetually 1.5 songs in.

bloodshy
June 26th 2020


2738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review too.

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2020


2494 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks blood! Yeah, I'm also hoping they'll finally get a serious release out there, but now that they are self-aware of the fact that they are hated, I doubt we ever will

SteakByrnes
June 26th 2020


23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Frankie's been pretty aware of the hate for a long time I assure you lol

hobblepot
June 26th 2020


2502 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

At least the lyrics are a tad more self-aware, but this is a step down from their last album

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2020


2494 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Fair enough, maybe I should say more self-aware on the lyrical aspect... but I'll actually take self-aware over a lot of the other stuff Frankie has done before haha

hobblepot
June 26th 2020


2502 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Your review is great! Trash Folder and Uncontrollable Descent are the only reasons I haven’t given this a 2.5. Emmure always have flashes of brilliance, like Protoman and MDMA. I also don’t think it’s necessarily Frankie that drags things down, his lyrics can be garbage but his vocal chops sort of make up for it I think

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2020


2494 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks man! And yeah, Frankie ain't that horrible, but I really can't stand his higher screams when they're muddled with those distorted effects... just gets on my nerves I don't know why. But, I'll definitely take his lows all day, he's got a lot of presence in them

Aside from the issues with Frankie occasionally, the instrumentation just kinda starts to blend together at times and that ultimately drags it down for me as well

SteakByrnes
June 26th 2020


23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yea Frankie's harsh vocals have always been dope



Also, granted I haven't jammed this yet, but his highs don't really have effects on them from what I know. He's always just had a super distorted sounding high scream

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2020


2494 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ah dang, didn't realize those were his pure vocals there... he's definitely got some interesting tone with those highs, kinda sound like they've been messed with in production... pretty cool sound for a raw scream I guess

xenochrist15
June 26th 2020


32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Y'all are trying to be too cerebral with this album: it's ignorant shit to bang your head to, nothing more, nothing less. Just relax your sphincters for a bit.

SteakByrnes
June 26th 2020


23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Open your third sphincters

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2020


2494 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

here’s my perspective: gonna keep the review as objective as possible

but you know dang well I’m gonna be jamming this more and banging my head to a lot of these tracks

bigweinerdon
June 26th 2020


1433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i was hoping this would be more of a danza album, building off of look at yourself. its not very good though

botb
June 26th 2020


14568 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

This is so bad it’s funny

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2020


2494 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

at least you get some humorous enjoyment out of it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy