Make Them Suffer
How to Survive a Funeral


3.5
great

Review

by Tyler W. USER (46 Reviews)
June 19th, 2020 | 97 replies


Release Date: 06/19/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Digging graves only to survive the fall

Friday afternoon. Sitting at my desk, anxiously awaiting Make Them Suffer’s fourth full length effort. Despite the underwhelming pre-release singles, I press play, expecting little yet hoping for much. As the opening track rushed through my earphones, quickly jumping from clean, atmospheric guitar, to signature Make Them Suffer riffing, to an abrupt change to open chugging, the variety struck me in an odd way that left me with a feeling of incompletion. This lack of cohesion within “Step One” was only the beginning, paving the way for a stark concept of incompletion exemplified throughout the entire album.

Following the years of consistent outputs that were both cohesive and fairly innovative and original within the genre, How to Survive a Funeral sticks out like a sore thumb in the band’s discography. Relying heavily on immense variety, much of the album falls into the “hit or miss” category, showing signs of genuinely impressive songwriting while simultaneously falling short of cohesive efforts. Indicated through the pre-release singles, tracks like “Drown With Me” and “Bones” showcase a band overextending their composition capabilities through awkwardly structured transitions, oxymoronic songwriting with aggressive verses and lofty, clean choruses, and an immense lack of genuine cohesion within the tracks. The heavier moments of these “bipolar tracks” harken back to the band’s early deathcore-influenced days, showing flourishes of groove and occasional technical displays, yet it feels forced at times. Within “Soul Decay,” the breakdown feels like an afterthought, as if the band felt it necessary to add an “intense, deathcore” moment to please fans, only to leave listeners with a recycled riff that ruins momentum. Moreover, the juxtaposition of the softer moments hold an even greater responsibility of fault within these tracks, often feeling misplaced and jumbled throughout. Although intended to feel like an emotional chorus, the melodies contained within “Erase Me” feel alienated from the rest of the song, despite Booka’s impressive voice. However, with the recognition of Booka’s airy, innocent voice that glides across the instrumentation, How to Survive a Funeral forces inorganic melodies that signify a sense of a lack of chemistry, creating an unsettling displacement for the reader (as exemplified through the title track).

However, looking past the obvious flaws of the record, Make Them Suffer stand their ground as fantastic musicians in the midst of songwriting weakness. Despite the lack of cohesion, How to Survive a Funeral is full of individually impressive tracks that show the band firing on all cylinders. Their signature sound of intense riffing and infectious groove is prevalent throughout “That’s Just Life” and “Falling Ashes,” reminding listeners of the true beasts behind the record and presenting composition reminiscent of their previous efforts. Alongside this, Sean is at the top of his game with some of his best vocal performances throughout the band’s entire career span. Fluidly moving from effortless low growls in “Drown With Me” to the high shrieks in “Fake Your Own Death,” Sean passionately tells a semi-conceptual story of desiring death to the acceptance of life as it is with the anguish of this journey encapsulated within his pure vocal diversity. Although much of the album’s enjoyment lies in the reliance of their previous style, Make Them Suffer also succeeds in a venture of newer stylings, stripping back their sound to a borderline ballad in “The Attendant,” which models the perfect melodic composition that the record as a whole failed to implement. The combination of Sean’s impressive cleans and Booka’s hauntingly beautiful melodic accompaniment results in a gorgeous display of Make Them Suffer’s true power of emotional songwriting and gorgeous composition.

With such strikingly blatant flaws in the record, it’s a pain to fans to hear the quality of Make Them Suffer’s newest release fall short of its predecessors. The juxtaposition of the songwriting and overall lack of cohesion fails to push How to Survive a Funeral to the same caliber as Worlds Apart, hindering the impressive consistency of the band’s previous work. Nonetheless, their fourth full length still shows signs of a band that knows how to craft a brilliant album with trademark aggression and newly found, stripped down beauty. Despite the hiccup in quality, Make Them Suffer is nevertheless a band with great potential with plenty of room to improve and return to their previous work of consistency.




Recent reviews by this author
Taylor Swift FolkloreLune (AUS) Ghost
Emmure HindsightUmbra Vitae Shadow of Life
Dance Gavin Dance AfterburnerSnarls Burst
user ratings (120)
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
June 19th 2020


2155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally finished with school and college application stuff, so it's time to get back to reviewing!

This album honestly surprised me. I was expecting nothing but below average output following the underwhelming singles, but the rest of the album certainly surprised me. "That's Just Life," "Falling Ashes," and "The Attendant" are early standouts for me

SteakByrnes
June 19th 2020


19903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Excellent review man, pretty much sums up my feelings on this album as well. Definitely better than I expected it to be, but still a disappointment after their run of 3 spectacular albums

Digging: Lost For Life - We All Share The Blame

tyman128
June 19th 2020


2155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks brother! Hoping they’ll come back from this and return to their impressive consistency... This is alright but pales in comparison sadly

bloc
June 19th 2020


62077 Comments


Worlds Apart slammed, looking forward to this

Digging: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Dazzle Ships

TundraL5Z
June 19th 2020


4669 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

bog-standard, barely deathcore either

Digging: Haken - Virus

MyColdShoulder
June 19th 2020


11 Comments


Sounds good, but I wish they kept going with their Old Souls sound. That was their peak imo

tyman128
June 20th 2020


2155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

honestly, I’d be happy if they continued the sound from any of their previous albums. All were great, and this one just fell short compared to the rest

Crxmateo
June 20th 2020


16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with almost everything you said lol. Great review, man!

Digging: Broadside - Into the Raging Sea

tyman128
June 20th 2020


2155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks man!

joshieboy
June 20th 2020


7540 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Booka's hot

Digging: Spiritbox - Spiritbox

JeetJeet
June 20th 2020


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lets see if these niggas can survive this 2.5

Digging: Anacondas - Sub Contra Blues

tyman128
June 20th 2020


2155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that’s brutal, ain’t no surviving that

Beardog
June 20th 2020


3661 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Going to listen to this, not that hyped. Good review!

pengui
June 20th 2020


35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've got a huge soft spot for this band. While Worlds Apart was a big shift in their sound, I feel like they've tried to bring back the "brutality" a bit in this one. A lot of long time fans weren't impressed with how soft Worlds Apart was compared to previous releases. This release is fun, enjoyable and certainly heavier than Worlds Apart but there's definitely some disjointed moments where the cleans feel like they've been added as a requirement rather than a need.

Durrzo
June 20th 2020


2199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The heavy parts aren't interesting, that's my main problem. Most of these riffs don't land and the song structures, as the review mentioned, are really weird at times. I'm bored with this already outside of like 3 songs. Falling Ashes is very fun but that stupid break they put in the middle of it irritates the fuck out of me.

I feel like they're moving further and further away from the elements that made them stand out in the first place. The keys, symphonic elements, and atmosphere, have all been stripped back to the point that they're hardly worth noting, and what's left isn't interesting enough to carry the sound.

I keep seeing people say that Sean is at a high point here and I feel like they haven't listened to Old Souls recently. The variety on display isn't even close.

This is one of my favorite bands but this album is a big fucking misfire in my eyes.

SteakByrnes
June 20th 2020


19903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It's like they forgot that not every song needs a chorus. The choruses for Bones, Drown With Me, and Erase Me are so fucking bad man



Back half of this is pretty good but man the first half besides Falling Ashes is so weak

tyman128
June 20th 2020


2155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

“ Back half of this is pretty good but man the first half besides Falling Ashes is so weak” [2] hard

“I keep seeing people say that Sean is at a high point here and I feel like they haven't listened to Old Souls recently. The variety on display isn't even close.”

for me, it isn’t as much the variety of the vocals that strikes that’d, but how solid they sound overall. The screams sound very clear and powerful, but it’s just one of the few highlights of the album so

SymbolicInTime
June 20th 2020


6310 Comments


I WOULD HAVE SHOWED YOU THE WOOOOOOOORLD

AS IT WAS IN MY DREAMS

I must be in the minority that hasn't been enthralled with them since Neverbloom. Old Souls had a couple tracks I really liked and Worlds Apart did nothing for me when it dropped so I never returned to it

Digging: Death - Spiritual Healing

Durrzo
June 20th 2020


2199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Neverbloom suffers from way too much repetition, but I still love the high points. It's definitely a more satisfying listen than this.

misho87233
June 20th 2020


48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Even though I really like "The Attendant", it really almost sounds like "Two-Way Mirror" by Loathe, which was already a very "Deftones" sounding song to begin wtih



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy